Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheathrated 4.700 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7 inch Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $133.95

Save $44.43 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Salem, Ma
Jan 26, 2018
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Modern Variation on a Classic Design
Its a great alternative to the Original. The sheath allows it to easily be strapped to gear/uniform.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Mar 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Update: Earns its stars
I don't give five star ratings to knives unless they far exceed expectations and become all-around personal favorites in my collection. I gave this four stars a while back, but after a couple weeks outdoors with this knife on my belt, I am compelled to update my previous review and give it the maximum recommendation. Maximum is a good word for this knife; maximum strength, maximum power, maximum versatility, maximum comfort, maximum ease-of-use. Out in the tropical forest I was taking it easy on this knife at first, but after a couple days it was doing everything a knife can do, even so far as digging holes in hard ground and getting tied to a pole to make a spear. Unlike simple steels, the D2 withstands corrosion pretty well. Despite the damp environment, I was able to keep the blade rust free with a simple wipe-down after each use--whereas the 1095 trail knife I used to carry would have noticeably stained without regular oil or Tuff Cloth--and yet I still had a tool that worked like it was made of high-carbon steel. This model is the result of decades of tweaking and refinement, and it shows. Ka-bar has created a knife that can do just about any knife task well. Btw, the leather sheath is ok but the Kydex one is better and will last longer.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando S
Miami,Fl
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Good service from knifecenter Good products Will continue to buy from knifecenter
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stubby
LeRoy, IL
Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Last knife ill ever have to buy
Great knife, I have had the knife for just over a year and still has a razor edge on it. It proved extremely helpful during the elk hunting trip to the Colorado wilderness. This knife was surprisingly light. The sheath has great retention and is very well made. After owning this knife I don't see any reason why I would ever need to buy a knife again. Great job Ka-Bar
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Brainerd, Minnesota
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
SICK KNIFE!
THIS KNIFE IS BADA%$ this knife is strong, lightweight, and heavy duty. This knife feels solid. The only problem I have with this knife is that they only make it in a serrated blade. KA-BAR should make this in a plain blade and this knife would be my new favorite knife without a doubt.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Melville, Ap
Dec 09, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Exceptional knife
The D2 extreme is a modern variation of a highly successful combat knife design. Put very simply: it is robust, highly corrosion resistant, razor sharp and stays that way. Excellent weight distribution, balance and finish. Grip feels secure under all conditions. If I were to select a combat/survival knife for standard issue to infantry it would be the D2 - the ultimate evolution of the original Ka-Bar marine combat knife.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scrappy
Vermont
Nov 07, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fantastic
I would recommend this knives so just about everybody. It is a super tough strong blade that's nearly indestructible. It holds an edge for just about ever and is a super versatile knife with a useful short bit of aeration.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
YOUR MAN CHUCK
YO, KA-BAR! CONSIDER MAKING THIS KNIFE IN A STRAIGHT EDGE VERSION FOR SALE- IT WILL SELL VERY WELL! - Chuck
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
Crosby, Minnesota
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Always on my belt outdoors
Very nice knife! Am I the only one who thinks it's weird Ka-bar makes all their other knifes in a straight edge and serrated version except this TANK D2 knife? This knife would be a BEAST if it was made in a straight edge version too. It only makes sense!
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lance
Pennsylvania
May 30, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
The KA-BAR to own
Very Sturdy, American Made Quality
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
At the Alamo
Feb 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
It is not an excessive knife.
As soon as I got home, I hacked two limbs from a small oak tree in my front yard. I could have taken the tree down in 10 more minutes. Love the handle. The edge was as sharp as it needs to be. If you need something sharper, buy a scalpel.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nelson
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great knife
unfortunately I like the plain edge- easier to sharpen and more clean cutting but his will do for now.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christopher
Mansfield, Ohio
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Straight Edge Model Would Be Better (Still gets a 5 Star Rating)
This knife is solid I feel VERY confident when using this knife out in the field.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craneman
Port angeles
Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
One tough SOB
This K bar is an indestructible field knife plain and simple. Although it comes very sharp out of the box, it's designed for much more than shaving the hair off your arm. On a recent camping trip I literally beat the hell out of it and it still kept going. I hammered it through logs (with an actual metal hammer), cut tent stakes and pounded them in the ground with the butt, made fuzz sticks, and used it for cooking and all types of general chores. I field sharpened it to a utility edge it on a ceramic crock stick, and beat it some more. Although the finish wore in some places and the spine showed the hammer marks, the blade never had a ding. If you want a serious Field/combat knife get this puppy. If you want to shave go get a disposable razor!
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jessica
Gadsden, Alabama
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
My husband loves his new toy
My husband has been begging me to get him this knife, he has been asking me if they have this knife without the half way serrations on the blade or if they have this knife in a plain edge blade version, but I looked on the Ka-Bar website and I could not find one, I looked on KnifeCenter and couldn't find one, I searched on a few other knife websites couldn't find a Ka Bar D2 knife in a plain edge version either LOL! So I bought him this one but he really wants one of these knives in a plain edge version though. Maybe next time baby!
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zug
East TN
Sep 16, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Great choice
The weight and material are fantastic. The steel holds it's edge very well. However due to it's strong steel it is a little difficult to sharpen. Also when I received it I had to sharpen it because it wasn't sharp enough.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great take on a classic
The classic ka bar shape is a really good one. The size, weight, balance, and edge design of this model are nearly ideal. It is clear that this knife is the result of decades of refinement on a design that works. The handle is grippy and comfortable, and the D2 steel performs quite well. I think I would have gotten the plastic sheath, though, as the leather one seems a bit too thin and weak for such a macho tool.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nmatey
australia
Sep 12, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
Just wished they make this knife in a plain edged option
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Arthur M
Adelaide ,Australia
May 12, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Tough knife
For a long time I've heard about the KA-BAR legend and I have always loved the classic combat knife look that the KA-BAR has. This is my first KA-BAR, I have to say the name lives up to the legend and it wont be my last. What a gutsy knife, great to have around your camp site to do all manner of tasks. The D 2 blade is hard to sharpen but well worth the end result. YI-HA the KA-BAR. Thank you knife center for the great products, awesome service and the best value hands down.
KA-BAR 1282 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dave
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife...But
I like the knife, but the serrations are kind of annoying me now; I don't use the serrations as much as I thought I would, maybe KnifeCenter will suggest KA-BAR to make this knife in a straight edge version?