Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath

KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.7860000000000005 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7 inch Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $137.95

Save $45.79 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harvey
Alberta Boy
Jan 19, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

Review correction:

Knife Center staff: please make a change in my review from days ago. Please change my error from "tungsten" to "nickel". Thank you.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joshua K
Tokyo, Japan
Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

The Masterpiece of KA-BAR!

The one I'm holding in my hand may seem to be the ONLY KA-BAR D2 available here in Japan. I've tried to purchase one thru various sellers but no one has it in stock unless, I order from the sellers in the U.S.(But the the price is ridiculously costly). Fortunately enough, I happened to have found one and without hesitation or second thoughts, I made a buy. Finally in my hand, I absolutely love and adore this knife. In terms of the outer appearance of the knife that is very tactical as well as intimidating, durability, versatility and maneuvability, I have nothing to complain about and I know this baby will do what she is supposed to when tough times come. As many have said already, the blade is deadly sharp, the handle is of synthetic material and over all, well-balanced in weight. This is THE Masterpiece of all KA-BAR knives!
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Minneapolis Minnesota
Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

BUY IT!

KA-BAR D2 EXTREME IS A SUPERB KNIFE CHOICE! D2 steel choice is excellent, edge retention very well, will slice **** straight out of the box. (My buddy dropped the knife right on its tip on our cement tiled floors in my apartment- the thud was heart stopping, checked the tip, barely dented- will still stab into flesh, wood, metal, etc: greatly.) Very strong, durable blade. Use Diamond Sharpener to sharpen blade. Kraton G handle feels solid and tough, textured like gripping rubber, won't slip out your hands when wet, oily, sweaty, nothing- it seems to only grip better. Handle is heavier than the blade- which is great for swift and fast blade manuverability. The Butt Cap, or as I like to call it "The Thumper Cap" LOL! Made from 1095 high carbon steel you can feel the solid strength in the Thumper Cap. It's more strong and solid than any other KA-BAR Knives Thump Cap (unless it's made from 1095 or better.) You'll be Glad you purchased this Knife- Guaranteed!
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harvey
Alberta Boy
Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

The Next Level Kabar

With harder, more wear resistant steel, and a pommel that gives stronger retention, this Kabar gives the legendary knife a modern boost in performance and capability. For those who say plain "old" 1095 wears too easily, D2 is a welcome option. With the addition of tungsten to the iron mix, incredible toughness is achieved. But note D2 does not fall into the "stainless" category. So keep the edged oiled with a good sticky product like Dura-lube etc. The rubber handle has a different feel than the leather for sure. The black blade coating is smoother and tougher than the coating on the 1095 blades.The best Kabar yet !!
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Retiredsailor
Northwest Arkansas
Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

My #1 knife for my go bag

I am so pleased with this knife that I have two of them. They arrived razor sharp and they hold their edge. I have several upper end pocket knives from Queen with blades of D2 steel and they are by far the best in their class. For the money you will not find many knives in their price range of this quality.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Rochester, New York
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

I'm Pleased

I am very pleased in the product Ka-Bar made; Thank you Knifecenter. Would be nice to see Ka-Bar make this knife in a straight edge version for sale.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

cool knife

I bought this knife for my son as a birthday gift and he likes the knife. He did ask me if I could exchange it for a straight edge blade.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marius D
The deep woods of Norway
Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great knife

This is my first KA-BAR and its fantastic. Sharp, lightweight feels good in my hand. The handle material is very comfortable. Absolutely no cons with this knife in my opinion. A great knife for cutting things up.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

KICK A#$ BLADE

This Knife is my new favorite knife. My old bowie knife that was handed down to me from my great great grandfather is in a condition now where I want to keep it as a collectable and hand it down to my kids when they get older and keep the family tradition going! But this knife is the real deal even though I do prefer the straight edge version better but I seen KA-BAR doesn't make one...yet, hopefully cause I'm buyin.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Seattle, Washington
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

EXCELLENT KNIFE!

I take this knife with me when ever I'm hiking on weekends by myself with my buddies or my wife. I take this thing when I'm fishing, when I'm hunting, chopping firewood you name it it's there hanging from my belt buckle. The serrations work nice when used appropriately. It would be nice to see KA-BAR make this knife in a straight blade also. Thanks Knifecenter -Mike
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Plattsburgh, NY
Oct 11, 2018
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

99% Perfect

I'm on foot in The Adirondacks, and have been attacked by a mangy Pitbull dog with no collar. This knife is solid, light in my arthritic hands, EXTREMELY sharp, doesn't slip even in the rain. The fit and finish is 100%. KA-BAR is a true man's fighting knife. This specimen is true to form. 7" of terror for the next attack. I docked 1% for the VERY tight sheath. It will break in, but hopefully KA-BAR will bring us a sheath ready to go. BEST money I ever sent on a knife, period.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jose
FLORIDA
Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

K-bar D2 steel

Nice knife for the price. The steel is not the usual one which makes it be above the rest. Coating is always an issue but is does not do that bad. In general a good one.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chuck
Pasadena, Texas
Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Would be nice if they made it in a straight edge

This kabar d2 knife is pretty nice. But it would be nice if Kabar made this knife in a straight edge model.
KA-BAR 1283 D2 Extreme Fighting Knife 7" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Graham, Texas
May 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

KABAR D2 Bad Mofo

Great knife! I have had a 5" KaBar since my Vietnam Nam days and this D2 will replace my old, reliable veteran as a general purpose outdoor/camping knife. Very sharp out of the box. I like the way it looks and feels in the hand. The leather sheath is somewhat cheesy for a knife meant for hard use and that is why a 4 instead of a 5 rating.