Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath

KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheathrated 4.7219999999999995 stars out of 5 (18.0 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8 inch Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $68.95

Save $22.59 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buckaroo
Garland, TX
Mar 01, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Fantastic Knife

What more could be added when this knife has seen service since the 1940's!
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Rochester New York
Jun 11, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great Quality Us Made KA-BAR Knife.

Purchased this for a Retirement gift for a long time co-worker. Had both sides of the blade Laser Etched with dates of service and his rank. Also Department Units he worked in. Plenty of room on the blade for Etching. Looks great for display and he could use it during hunting season.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tracker
Illinois
May 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great Little Trail Knife

This one has the sharpest out-of-the-box edge of any KABAR that I've had. Handy size to carry while hunting, camping, or whatever. The Kydex sheath is very well designed - more user friendly than a lot of kydex out there. The handle feels good, hopefully will hold up over time. And it's SO nice to see that "made in u.s.a." on the blade, along with a very reasonable price.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buzz S
Smyrna, Tn
Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None

Mark 1 Navy Ka-Bar

Great knife for price.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Wisconsin
Apr 03, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Superb every day knife

It's not too big, it's not too small, very sturdy blade but not too thick, handle feels amazing especially if you have bigger than average hands. All around a great day to day utility blade that is still plenty of knife if one needed to defend themselves from an aggressor or wild animal. i'm not crazy about the sheath, it has great retention, but the belt loop seems kind of chinsy to my but that is nothing a strip of leather and a few rivets cant fix.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Desert Rat
High Desert, AZ
Jan 02, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

WOW

Holds an edge great and love the flat grind, it makes an excellent bush craft knife. The sheath is decent made but a real pain in the butt to remove the knife from, 3 securing points WTF! Regrets, wish I had waited for the leather model with the leather sheath. I Would recommend to a friend!
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Acidburn
Herald, Ca
May 26, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Outstanding value

Around the barns, in the fields, stuff. I prefer a ballistic sheath that has some drop, the plastic is harsh to deal with.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pete D
Modesto, Ca
Mar 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Nice work. Great fit and excellent tool.

This is a useful size and is very universal, i.e. used for hunting, survival, protection, etc.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. Loucks
Germany
Jun 11, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Very pleased with the knife, no complaints
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marco De P, Iii
Huntingtown, Md
Apr 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Ka-Bar 2221 Product Review (KCREVIEW)

I paddle my canoe in tidal waters along the inland waterway of the mid - Atlantic. Your product withstands the harshest of conditions providing superior performance without exception.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
NY Adirondacks
Dec 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Love it!

Out of box quality met all expectations. Just used and abused it on a 5 day winter camping trip; 20deg weather, sleet and snow.I battoned frozen wood and as I became more certain of it's capabilities I started splitting larger logs with it. This thing is the real deal. The blade comes with a nice profile and was shaving sharp. Periodic light diamond touch-up through the week kept it that way. I really like the feel of the handle and even when my hands were wet it had a very sure grip. Also love the sheath. Made a paracord neck loop for it and there is a perfectly sized recess on the back side where I attached my small diamond stone and sail needle.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dr Paul J M
Glenside, PA
Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I COLLECT MILITARY KNIVES AND THIS IS A MODERN VERSION OF A USN WW2 CLASSIC. EVERY SHIPBOARD CREW MEMBER CARRIED ONE.tHIS IS A MUCH BETTER KNIFE (COURTESY OF KA-BAR). i BET A LOT OF WW2 SAILORS WISH THEY HAD THIS KNIFE RATHER THAN THE ONE THEY WERE ISSUED.. IT'S GREAT. VERY ADAQUATELY DESCRIBED.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nelson R
Iturama - Mg, Brasil.
Aug 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excelente variante do modelo ka-Bar

Great piece, flawless finish, good size, good hold on the handle, a knife that I can use several occasions. As always the service provided by Knifecenter is the best.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raymon
Missouri
Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Another quality knife from KA_BAR

Another quality knife from KA-BAR......The Kydex Sheath is top notch.....The knife is quality in everything a knife should be......This is a great knife......
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Seabee
Worldwide
Jul 08, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None

Good knife

•How you use the product I am active duty military, I carried this knife on and off on my last deployment. I used it to cut boxes, line and various other things. I split wood with it via a baton and made a fire once. •Things that are great about it Size is just about perfect, not to big not to small. Sheath is good, it has basic retention when pushed all the way in and the strap at the end of the handle vs. near the blade is awesome. The one that goes over the guard is ok I dont use it often and just tuck it behind the sheath. Handle is comfortable. •Things that aren't so great about it Blade coating needs to be changed to a phosphate finish vs. the spray on paint. I wore down the finish batoning wood. Nothing a little spray paint cant fix however. Sheath is good but a major improvement would be to use a spring rentention device as they do in bayonet scabbards. The leaf spring style that presses against the blade in the middle so no matter how slight the blade is inserted. There is some sort of retention on the knife. Over all good blade for military, I recomment the non serratted version to all who are looking for a good deployment knife.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paula N
Ohio
Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Just simply a fantastic knife! I bought this for my son in the army and he likes it. I wanted several criteria in a fixed blade: US made, full flat grind, high carbon steel, high tech grip impervious to elements, little to no hilt over top area for placing the thumb on spine for finer work, steel pommel for emergency crushing and hammering, medium blade length for lighter carry weight, tactical sheath with snaps-not velcro, minimal play in sheath and quiet to carry, and lastly something from a reputable company like Kabar. Lastly, who wants to pay more than they have to to get all this? THIS KNIFE IS AN UNMATCHED VALUE AND OOZES QUALITY. So why not 5 stars? ...the addition of a lanyard hole would make this a 5 star knife.
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
M.R
Indiana
Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Nothing Special

•How you use the product: On drill weends, mostly using it to open stuff. -Handle not made for large hands. -1 retention strip is more then enough Ka-Bar...
KA-BAR 2221 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gio
missouri
Apr 02, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness

could be better

i bought this knife thinking it would be a great bush craft knife, but i was wrong. the sheath dulls the blade, so i made a leather one hoping that it would fix the problem but the blade still dulled very fast with normal use or cutting cord and simple carving. the knife does sharpen easily with little time wasted doing so but a good bush craft knife should hold an edge for a very long time.