Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole

KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Holerated 4.643 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3 inch Blade Oval Thumb Hole

 

Price: $21.95

Save $6.89 (24%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
That One Guy
muscle shoals, alabama
Dec 18, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

a great lil knife

this is a great knife for the money. AUS-8 blade, great lock up, no bladeplay, decently textured handle super light weight, and a good pocket clip. it has a drop point, hollow ground blade and a reversable pocket clip for left handed carry.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug G
Salado, Tx
Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife!

I use this knife around hay bales for cutting hay bands and string. The knife is very sharp in cutting and its slender enough to fit comfortable in your pockets. The blade locks very sturdy and unlocks nicely too without having to push too hard.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Remy
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent EDC for Every-Day Tasks

I prefer the thumb-hole model to the thumb stud because it's much readily available for quick opening. Blade slices through cardboard, paper, and plastic strapping found on packages. It's easy to sharpen the 30-degree edge: AUS8 takes a fine edge. The lock-up is strong and definitive. Bought two of these after losing my thumb-stud Dozier. This slices better than my Spydercos, Benchmades,and Kershaws. It's designed for EDC. Kudos to Ka-bar.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Canuck Pete
Ontario Canada
Jun 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great value. Excellent pocket knife.

I've had mine for 5 years and just bought 3 more for family members. As an every day carry, strong, well built, light weight knife the little k-bar gets the job done. It holds a decent edge and clips nicely in the pocket. The thumb notch is superb. Great knife at a great price. Buy a pink one for the ladies and get a black one for your self.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wagoner
IL
Sep 08, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

4065 dozier

I love the slim fit of this knife. the super sharp edge & thumb hole make it a great purchase.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gastón F
Santiago, Chile
Jul 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excelente calidad - precio

Dentro de mi colección es la navaja que mas me gusta y la que uso a diario, y créanme que tengo varias. Fácil de afilar, buenas terminaciones, tamaño apropiado para quien no le gustan las navajas de gran tamaño y todo esto a un gran precio.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
CT
Jan 10, 2013
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

My go-to folding knife

I get regular use out of my Ka-Bar 3" folding knife, and bought this one as a gift for someone else. The lock-back mechanism is secure and solid, the blade itself is very sharp (and easy enough to resharpen) and has a strong spine. It opens smoothly and easily, and after years of use mine does not show any signs of wearing out. As a small folding knife, this product is obviously not suited to the most heavy-duty applications, but you'd get a more heavy-duty knife anyway if that's what you're interested in. Anything you'd use a basic swiss army folding knife on, this knife will do better. The product arrived with plenty of time to spare during the height of holiday shipping madness; I would gladly order another knife from this site.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daj
AZ
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Don't get much better

These are just ridiculously fine little folders. In terms of value they are as good as it gets. The level of finish is on par with any top of the line knives.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
East coast N Fl
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None

New EDC

I live on a boat and need a knife often and don't want to use a $200.00 knife. I use this knife for just about everything and carry it always. It is light weight, tough and the lock mechanism is solid. The AUS8 blade steel takes an edge and holds it well, is easy to sharpen. It does everything my Benchmark does at 1/10 th the price. It just doesn't look as good doing it. Con- I prefer stud opening not the hole.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Knoxville, TN
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Great knife for little money!

I use this knife as my EDC in my job at a warehouse and it has been great for light duty tasks.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gyffes
New England
Jan 12, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Terrific knife, esp at this price

This is a terrific knife. Don't like the hole-as-opener? There's a stud option. Don't like the pointy curve? There's a spear. Don't like shiny? There's a black-coated option. Heck there even briefly was a 4" version (don't I wish I'd bought more than 4 of those?) The AUS-8 takes and holds a good edge, the knife is narrow and light, easily fitting in any pocket or bag. Yeah, it doesn't flip out in a jiffy (s'why it's not in my EDC rotation), but it's unbelievably reliable in so many ways that it's in our hiking packs, my daily bag (one of those 4" beasts), my wife's purse, each car, etc. I've bought innumerable numbers of these, often handing them to people ("you don't own a knife? You must! here...") as a form of knife evangelism. Not many things do I rate EXCELLENT. For this knife it was an easy choice.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Valley of the Sun
Apr 29, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Great Ambi EDC

Another clean and functional small folder. Handle ergonomics are excellent, as with the spear point version of this knife. Love the thumb hole which makes this easily ambidextrous. And the edge is very sharp. The mating between the blade tang and lock bar of this model also produces some galling--needs to be kept lubricated. And the lock bar exposed edges are sharp and require some filing. But, for $20 this is another great EDC knife.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 3 stars out of 5
Eddie
Ponchatoula
Apr 30, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None

Not fast but ambidextrous

I E.D.C. this knife and for the price it's actually a pretty good knife. I bought the thumb stud version first but while its fast to deploy only having one reversable thumb instead of dual thumb studs makes it not as useful I.M.O. As I can use both hands to open one of these knives. A dual studed ambidextrous knife make much more sense I.M.O. The good blade steel and light weight of both however make them worth owning. Just be aware of the limitations of the thumb stud version. And if you feel as I do please write Ka-Bar and make them aware of how you feel.
KA-BAR 4065 Dozier Design Folding Hunter 3" Blade Oval Thumb Hole
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bob G
Churchville, VA
Oct 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Thumb opening unfinished

The overall quality of this knife was good except for the thumb hole. The other two Dozier's I ordered both had their opening holes well beveled; this model very sharp edges which I fixed with a dremel tool.