Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath

KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 4.75 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7 inch 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $107.95

Save $36.01 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronnie H.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
May 20, 2014
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material

Awesome knife... Looks good, performs even better!!

After weeks of research, I decided that the Becker BK7 was going to be the next addition to my collection. It is a combination of awesome design, high quality steel and sensible price - yet has a great reputation for taking a battering and surviving intact! Check out the Youtube tests and reviews. The new textured black blade coating looks and feels the business but I haven't had it long enough yet to comment on its durability. On the down side... The Grivory handle scales, while an excellent shape, have very little grip and a wet knife could easily slip from your hand. A bit of grip tape from the sporting goods store fixed that. Also, when removing the knife from the sheath, one half of the retaining strap could easily be lopped off by the razor sharp edge of the blade as it tends to get in the way. I'll probably get round to making a custom leather sheath anyway. There is an extra sheath portion on the front which will accept the Becker Remora mini knife, but unfortunately this was not supplied at the price I paid. Overall, very very happy with my purchase, but don't take my word for it. Go buy a BK7 and see for yourself - at that price, can you afford not to?? Many thanks to the Knife Centre for their outstanding customer service and professional delivery service to international customers.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
NY
Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

GREAT KNIFE

i use this knife for its tactical applications and it hasnt failed me yet. the sheath is kind of lacking, but i do like the fact it accepts a MOLLE system on the back. (the picture doesnt show)
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny Boy
aston, PA
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

good woods knife

chopping. the knife is just perfect for all around woods projects or tasks. it needs a kydex sheath deff. knife center needs to sell the micarta handles for the becker knives.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Agis
Crete Island - Greece
Jan 05, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent Quality-Performance-Price

This is a great all around,tactical - wilderness - survival knife.1095 cro van - Carbon steel.Built like a tank.Champion at batoning,decent chopper,not bad for bushcraft.Feels so great in your hand! (any way you hold it,feels the same!).It is also costructed and marketed as a knife for tactical use.Has excellent ballance and ergonomics.With this pomel design,you can break glass in case of emergency or use it as a hammer,excellent guards.No problem with the handle material as others mention,since the handle design,makes it impossible for the knife to slip out of your hands.Razor sharp out of the box.New sheath is much better.Excellent price.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
F.M. Arana
Florida
Aug 21, 2019
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent all around. Get a warm & fuzzy feeling when I have it.

Attached 550 cord lanyard to address the 'slippery' factory handles,so not to spend $~45 on micarta slabs. did replace the screws with SS. cut the plastic insert to size and folded sheath and set in to size using super-glue gel. before that, to remedy the 'rattling', just us a commercial heat blower gun...CAREFULLY. Perfect now.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Big Bear City, California
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Mountain Lion - top of the food chain!!

I use this for bush craft, as do I use K-Bar as well. This is an all time favorite of many within the Military and amongst those who go to the wilderness. This knife you may trust your life to perform, that's how tough it is. When I go some place serious out in the wilderness, this is my main stay. You may do anything with it and it will respond with aplomb!! The only drawback from my perspective, is that have small hands and the handle is made for large hands. This can be overcome with a linen micarta handle by the way. A little pricey but the handling improves immensely.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony
UK
Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Who's that girl?......its Jess

Get some muscle memory with this blade and after a while you will get it to do almost anything you want, short of washing the dishes (I did ask it.....but it just stared at me, so ended up washing them myself) A professional level survival knife that will not break the bank,
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jarrod
Florida
Jan 12, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Phenomenal Knife

I highly recommend this knife to anyone who plans on hiking, camping, hunting, getting lost in wilderness, etc. Well, I would have to say every Becker knife is fantastic. My BK-7 is an all around high-quality, solid tool for the field or just for fun. This is an essential part of my camping gear and I wouldn't think of leaving home without it. The only minor downside is the sheath, but it's really not bad since I just prefer a total Kydex sheath because of their durability. The factor sheath does have it's upside since you can store the BK13 in the front pouch, plus a firesteel and other small essentials. You won't have a problem finding an after market Kydex sheath for this blade since Becker has very strong following with the survival/military/camping groups. It's a 5+ stars rating.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arthur
albuquerque
Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

bk 7 blade

was thinking blade was bent , put the TKC scales on it , the blade is fine , I think the factory scales were off a bit , now love the knife
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evan
NY
May 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Wow

Amazing knife. Worth every penny
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
North Potomac, MD
Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Awesome

It's one of the best knives iv'e ever had put a convex edge on it so now it can chop a little better but overall rating 5.0
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ioannis
Astoria
Jul 18, 2020
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

Love my bk7

Love my bk7. Its a beautiful knife. I put wilson grip tape on the handle and the grip is now amazing. For me the sheath isn't a pro or a con. Its a sheath that works. Some people complain about 1095 crovan steel. Its a great steel. I do recommend touching it up with oil. My father has a ka-bar usmc for 15 years. Its 1095 crovan steel. He puts it through extreme usage when he goes hunting. Its still a beast. Im hoping my bk7 holds up the same over the years. Also, this knife comes super sharp. Plus the black coating is great cause it helps prevent rusting. I do recommend the bk7.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jmor
MN
Mar 08, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Just what I expected

Product looked very good, did not have much of a chance to use, gave it away as a gift after having it engraved. Turned out to be a nice piece.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eugene L.
Mesa, AZ
Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None

The high reviews are not lying or exaggerating.

I consider myself much more of a blade collector than a, "let's go rough it in the woods" guy, but that doesn't mean I haven't learned anything about knives. I got curious about the KA-BAR Becker series in general because of the quality of KA-BAR and after doing research and finding out KA-BAR purchased Becker (from what I read the knives were still fantastic) I became interested in this series. Originally the BK3 and BK9 caught my eye because of their designs, but after months of going back and forth I purchased this BK7... and holy crap the reviews saying how good it was were no joke. This is an absolute killer of a knife. I'm not 100% on my steels, but people have explained that the 1095 Cro-Van steel is rather easy to sharpen and they are correct. Mine came out of the box *almost* hair shaving sharp, but still very sharp nevertheless. After doing some yard work with this for a first impression, the edge held just as if it came out of the box. Also you may be surprised to feel that it is astoundingly light for how big it is (I own a KA-BAR Heavy Bowie which is roughly the same size but a lot heavier), this is due to holes in the tang (full tang I may add). I suspect this knife can really do it all. The sheath is great too, and I love the fact that you don't have to take your belt on and off in order to slip the knife on. For its price you really cannot beat it. Grab one, stop looking up reviews (like I did) and you won't regret it. The only thing I didn't like was the finish, it is a lot rougher in person than online. Not really a "con", but it should be noted.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Taze
melaka,malaysia
Mar 10, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
One of the all time great knives. Becker is a designed extraordinaire and the construction is perfect.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven
NZ
Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Jack-of-all-trades

It feels surprisingly light in the hand given its length and thick blade, and yet despite that, it still feels remarkably study. The length is just about right for most tasks - its not too long for smaller tasks like preparing food, and not too short for larger tasks such as chopping. Overall, it makes a fine jack-of-all-trades, and although there are better knives to do specific tasks, if you only want to carry or own one knife, this is a great option. Note that the sheath that comes with it is, contrary to what some have mentioned, of a pretty decent quality. The blade does rattle just a bit in the sheath, but its not that big a problem. Also, there are easy fixes for this - a quick search returns many different options.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
Sabah, MALAYSIA.
Sep 21, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

High Value Knife

i have use this knife in outdoor recently,easy to carry and in basic work such as cutting wood and batoning (for making fire), this knife is great. The blade steel is 1095cro-van is very tough and easy to resharpened too. The small extra knife in the sheath pocket is sharp, i use it for striking my rod firestarter flint. What a perfect combination! Great idea from Ka-Bar.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Calin M
Bruxelles, Al
Aug 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

great knife

A great knife for camping.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Travis
Nc
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

Great woods knife

Great knife for camping, cutting or basically whatever you need. It is a lot lighter than you would think. Mine came in sharper than expected. One of my favorite woods knife. You can't go wrong with ka bar knives.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pooz
JC kansas
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

great value, excellent tool

i have taken it out in the woods and it has performed very well for heavier wood working tasks like chopping and batoning, the coating is very durable, i would not say the knife came razor sharp but definitely sharp enough for what i use it for. the blade holds a edge very well which is to be expected from 1095. excellent knife for the dollar. plus the little knife that comes with it is also a nice bonus
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daggertx
hawaii
Oct 21, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

good hard use knife

I have had this for a while now and it has not let me down. Not too expensive and gets the job done; I keep it handy wherever I go and is part of my "survival" kit
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
everywhere, midwest
May 22, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great chopper

Great all-rounder. Takes a good edge and bites deep. Sheath is junk, made my own. Just cut a piece of bicycle inner tube to fix the handle. No other knife can beat the durability of the BK7, even the super high end guys. If you want a good knife to replace several tools in your pack, this is where the buck stops.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Australia
Jul 18, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material

CHEAP AND VERY ADEQUATE

I love this knife and is great for using outdoors Weight: good sturdy weight not 2 heavy and very strong Handle Material: it is slippery and is not a good mix with sweat I modified it with a soldering iron, easily added texture Overall Quality: very well made and sturdy the handles loosened when I was cutting down branches probs cause I doused them in WD-40 I have not had the problem since. Blade Material: The 1095 cro-van is a very nice working steel and holds an edge well don't be scared the carbon has not rusted 1 but and I haven't sharpened or oiled it in a while. Sheath/Scabbard: Is not very good but it is not terrible (if that makes sense) Materials Nice choice of steel and the grivory handles are slippery. Finish: the blade coating is great and is good at protecting the blade I have heard that it creates lots of friction when batoning but I have not had that problem myself Blade Sharpness: sharp out of the box and I could shave hair. Price: Excellent, get heaps for the price All up it is a great product I only gave it 4/5 because of the handle (that I fixed easily) and the bad sheath. John :D
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe C
Bolivar Mo
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material

Quality and durability

I use this for bushcraft the blade is very sharp and durable the thickness makes it strong for cutting the handle has a good shape but needs texture for grip when wet
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bobby T
Southern CA.
Sep 07, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

A 4+ SYSTEM

As a review of the knife it is definitely a 5 without question (after you change the grips to mycarta) the lower rating is for the sheath. The knife rattles around in it and feels like it was designed for the BK9. I have pulled the plastic insert out cut it to a proper length and shaped better for the blade. That aside, the knife performs better than advertised.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

You chose...wisely

There are a quite a few different kinds of knives this size in the $85 range, and quite a few of them are middling to poor choices for serious knife work. It is hard to tell from pictures and specs alone whether a knife in this price range will be worth the $100 to get it dropped on your doorstep--I know because I've gone through at least a dozen such knives that broke, chipped, rolled, fell apart, or just plain didn't cut for a dang--so the best way to get some idea of a knife's quality is to read reviews from skeptical, knowledgable, regular reviewers (e.g. not brand fanboys or first-time owners hyperventilating over their new toy) on good sites like this one. I've tried to post reviews regularly and fairly on knives I've owned and used, so hopefully you will believe me when I say: This is a really solid piece of equipment. I say solid because it is in no way fancy or beautiful. It is tough steel and grivory that gets sharp and stays that way through long use. The blade seems to be just the right thickness and grind for a biggish all-purpose knife, wide bellied and sturdy to make smooth and deep cuts on meat, vegetation, wood, and soft materials, while being just heavy enough to inspire confidence. The steel they chose seems to be just right performance-wise, but does need a little more maintenance than cheaper stainless steels. A little cleaning, drying, and coating after a hard day's use is really all it asks for, as the blade holds a good edge for a very long time. The sheath is, I suppose, serviceable. It doesn't hold the blade snugly, but with the strap it holds well enough, and the whole package is fairly easy to attach to either side. For left-handed users, it is worth noting that the blade can be inserted with the spine facing either direction. SIMPLY PUT, though it doesn't look fancy or stand out in a crowd, this understated knife is magic for your money. There are tons of choices in this price range, but few as good as this BK7.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack G
Sitka, AK
Feb 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

BK 7

I put this knife on my survival pack. I changed out the handles and ordered a kydex sheath.
KA-BAR BK7 Becker Fixed Combat Utility Knife 7" 1095 Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Arthur
New Mexico
Sep 04, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, None

bk&t 7 review

knife is bent at about center