Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles

Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handlesrated 4.875 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14 inch Blade, Sure-Grip Handles

 

Price: $37.95

Save $40.79 (52%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Juan J
Monterrey, MX
May 05, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, None
Good overall blade
I got it for about 30 bucks. For the price I really can't complain. This is a robust blade fit for chopping, slicing and thrusting. I use it as my main carry for opening path through saplings, brush and tall grasses. I was worried about the steel since I prefer higher carbon content, but the knife held up astoundingly, it only got a nick when I accidentally hit a stray piece of masonry. I took down a 4 inch branch of a tangerine tree like nobody's business. The only gripe I have is that I have large hands and the knife has a somewhat skinny handle and its checkering is too aggressive. Nothing a bit of wilson's tape won't fix.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trent C
Hagerstown MD
Feb 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
An outstanding tool
This knife is perfect for what I wanted it for, a general all around tool for bushwhacking and camp use. The quality of the knife is very high much better than I expected for the price. It is a bit heavy for cutting through light grass, brush, etc. but is excellent for nipping off thorn bushes and small limbs as well as cutting and splitting kindling. The scabbard is really nice and sturdy as well but it does rattle a bit as other reviews have said, I solved this problem by putting a little bit of oiled cotton rag into the tip of the scabbard to hold the blade tighter. Overall a great deal on a very well designed and made knife.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris S.
Kansas City, Kansas
Aug 04, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice blade
Great sheath. Good for overall camping uses! Chopping, hacking! Tough blade, nice thickness! Over all a great knife and a great price at Knifecenter.com
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
New Haven CT
Apr 09, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Very nice small machete
Everything is good about this machete. It's not too long, but iit s heavy, easily handled, and the weight carries it thru wood. I use it for large pruning, and during firewood processing. It has a great blade shape, it arrived quite sharp and is holding its edge well. The sheath is awesome, versatile - it was easy to add a thigh strap and a multi-tool to it, which I really like. The grip is definitely non-slip, and has two attachment points for lanyards. With a thigh strap it's easy to wear all day, and I can run with it on - that means it's a great size and performs like a much bigger machete.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Urbanshark
Florida
Mar 03, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenneth L
Coeur d' Alene ID
Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
10 out of 10
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Knoxville, TN
Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Brush knife, camp axe, machete all in one
I have a work crew constantly battling invasive plants and trees. We put our brush clearing tools to heavy use clearing trails and thickets. We bought three of these knives and use them for just about every brush clearing task we encounter. More flexible machetes are great for clearing light brush and vines where swinging with higher speed is required. Hatchets are just the thing when you're taking down small trees or branches and you need a bit more rigidity and weight to get the job done. This knife combines the best of both in a single, easy to carry tool. You might still need a machete for leafy, light weight vegetation or a hatchet for splitting kindling but this knife will do just about any task you put it to including taking down small trees as well as any hatchet (I've even used it to split kindling where it does a fair job). Given its weight and rigidity, it is probably more hatchet-like than machete-like though the length of its cutting edge and the fact that it has a knife point make it more useful than a hatchet. Because of its lighter weight, better balance, and excellent grip I experienced a lot less hand fatigue with this knife versus a hatchet under similar use. It would be a great camping knife but I can't image going far with this strapped to my belt, though I could see strapping it to a backpack and carrying it that way. A lanyard would have been a helpful add-on. All in all an excellent, highly versatile and durable tool that is worth every penny.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert C
Kitchener, On
Sep 05, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
great for prolonged chopping
the 18 inch is good for brush but this one beats it for endurance use, good weight and balance. Use a Thick lanyard that goes through both holes, your hand twists into it and fingers under loop and the thumb hooks the other loop. This way you dont even grip it hard and stays in hand perfectly oriented for hours without fatique.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary S
Umkomaas, Other
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Versatile Knife
Rate 41/2 stars as sheath lets it down a bit but is still secure and sturdy. Agree with 5 * reviews about this knife. its an excellent tool and versatile. Mine stays in my truck in case of emergencies 4x4ing. Hefty and sturdy construction. Be careful swinging it as it cuts through branches fairly easily and can bite you. Highly recommend this as a general all round camp knife short machete. i will purchase another. Had great service from KnifeCentre.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mskad
Magnolia, Tx
Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent
Excellent value for the money! Still undecided if this Kershaw Camp 14 is more efficient than the Camp 10 but so far so good. Yes, the sheath rattle a bit but at $38 who cares? Highly recommended;
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
NY
Aug 04, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Kershaw
Excellant chunk of steel and sheath for 35 bucks. Knife Center continues to impress in which they conduct their business.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Boston
Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Kershaw does it again
Bought it for yard work. I almost hate to beat it up but I will. Great feel , nice swing weight. Cuts well. My only complaint is the sheath . It can be a little dangerous that blade can come flying out if not strapped. It got me once good already. But overall I would definitely buy another one and just be careful. strap it snap it good to go
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jen
Fruita, Co
Apr 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great!
This is a great machete for the money. Wonderful for camping. I got this one instead of the 10-inch and glad I did. Sheath is a little loose but it's functional.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Florida
Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Palm frond killer
Works great, cuts through large fox tail palms no problem
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rodger
Rocky Mtns
Sep 06, 2020
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Large and Tough
This is much more robust than I expected it to be, although the blade is every bit of 14 inches long and 2 1/4 inches wide at its widest, the blade is a full 3/16 thick! This does not, however, make it heavy or unwieldy in the least. This is because of a full flat grind, which makes the blade cleave easily through light grass and branches both with ease. Although I have concerns about the toughness of the Chinese 65mn steel, it hasn't yet shown any signs of chipping. This steel is almost the same composition as 5160, I worry about the Chinese tendency to over heat-treat steel, but thus far it's been great. The handle is comfortable and grippy, enough so that if I'm using this for a long time I'd want a glove to keep my skin from wearing, but it's still pretty comfortable. The only real complain I have is the sheath attachment. The GRN sheath seems tough and reliable, but the strap system isn't what I'd call reliable. The strap comes from behind the handle and goes around the hilts and clicks with a snap on the far side of the handle. I'd prefer a longer hilt on one side and a more simple snap, or better yet, a secure snap-in sheath that holds the handle firmly like kydex sheaths have. However, it's really an excellent choice that should prove extremely useful and convenient.
Kershaw 1076 Camp 14 Fixed 14" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert
Fla
Oct 01, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Seems good for the price
Happy over all except for the sheath