Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.444 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625 inch Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $32.95

Save $27.04 (45%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim R
Renton, Wa
Jul 31, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Outstanding knife!
This is an outstanding knife, and for the price, it's a no-brainer-buy. The lock release takes a bit to get used to (I use my index finger to release it), but once you do, it's addictive. The blade shape is awesome and facilitates cutting beautifully. The handle is nicely textured and really well sized for maintaining a good grip. Opening the blade is a joy (with the assist), and the slip pocket clip doesn't get in the way of any operation or manipulation of the knife. This has quickly become one of my favorite knives - there's really nothing I don't like about it.
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Al
Oregon
May 28, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Unique Locking Mechanism
I purchased this knife from Knife Center. For starters, this is THE sharpest out-of-the-box knife I've ever seen! That's both a Pro and a Con, at least to me, because while it cuts through EVERYTHING like a hot knife through butter, I've already cut MYSELF four times! ... without even knowing it! This knife is scalpel sharp, I kid you not. I didn't feel a thing when I cut myself and only noticed it when I saw the blood. While I have no idea if my example of this knife is 'normal' or if it's just an unusually sharp knife, I have a few other Kershaw knives to compare it to and it simply does not compare. In fact, I have quite a few folders, some fairly expensive and a few customs, but NOTHING else I have compares to the sharpness of this blade. Moving on, the new locking system is pretty unique and while it doesn't look like it would be all that sturdy, it locks up tight and there's zero blade wobble in any direction. That surprised me because it just doesn't LOOK like it would be that sturdy. It is though so have no fear, in that regard. It's also quite easy (very low effort) to unlock and fold the blade, unlike a LOT of my lock-bar folders. The weight and feel of this knife is as close to perfect as any knife I own; not too heavy and not too light. It's a little bit thicker than my EDC knife but not appreciably. The curve in the handle lends itself to a very tight grip and the jimping on the butt-end of the blade gives you a bit of leverage when needed. While I'm not crazy about the recurve design of the blade (it looks like it would tough to sharpen), I'll ignore that because I can't imagine this thing EVER needing sharpening. I suppose if you try and cut nails with it it would, but not under normal use. The overall quality of the knife is very good, in my opinion, and while it's made in China, I think it's safe to say that in today's market, it is highly competitive. I have a few other Chinese made knives and while I wouldn't put them up against my American made knives, for construction and/or quality, price-wise the Kershaw knives are a bargain. As to the speed of lockup, for a spring assisted blade, it's not very fast opening. It arrived with perfect blade centering but the blade wouldn't lock up without a flick of the wrist. I adjusted the pivot pin tightness (loosened it slightly) and while the blade would lock up without a wrist flick, it's still rather slow to deploy. As I do with ALL my folding knives, I disassembled it to find out what sort of bushings are used (bronze, bearings or whatever). This knife utilizes two different diameter bronze bushings, along with what appear to be VERY thin and HIGHLY flexible plastic or nylon bushings. The plastic/nylon bushing are WAY less than paper thin and were difficult to keep in position when reassembling the knife. I'm guessing two or three thousandths thick. I use Tuf-Glide on all my knives and 5000-grit 3M Trizact polishing pads to polish bushings and all moving metal contact points; pivot pins, the pivot pin hole in the blade, the areas of the blade hole that contact bushing or bearings, etc. I also remove whatever stock 'goop' they apply on spring assisted blades and replace it with lithium grease. I've been doing all this for years and while it's a bit time consuming, it works extremely well. I typically get much smoother and faster blade deployment (versus stock, out of the box deployment), and it stays that way for a VERY long time. After doing all that with this particular Kershaw knife though, there was no difference versus the stock deployment speed, which leads me to believe that those super-thin plastic/nylon bushings are more of a hinderance than a help. Obviously, I could be wrong about that but I don't think so. I'll be taking the knife apart again and will remove those plastic/nylon bushings to see if it does improve the speed of deployment, which is uncharacteristically slow for a spring assisted knife. All things considered and aside from its rather slow blade deployment, I'm very impressed with this knife. A new locking mechanism (by the way, the parts are all metal) doesn't come around that often and it will be interesting to see if any other knife makers take a similar approach. It provides a VERY solid and firm blade lockup, there's no wobble in any direction and it's easy (almost effortless) to unlock. If you get one of these knives, be VERY careful when you're handling it and especially when you're deploying the blade. I'm right handed and all four times I cut myself with this knife, those cuts were on my LEFT hand. This knife is just to sharp to be an EDC knife. At least in my book it is. Don't get me wrong here; I like very sharp knives and my EDC knife is pretty sharp. That said, it's NOTHING like this new Kershaw blade, which to me is dangerously (scalpel) sharp!
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Navarre, Fl
Jul 06, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use
What a steal!
I gave the knife a '5' because it just can't be beat for the price. Flipper, G-10, Interesting blade shape, and lock. Be careful! This knife will bite you if you don't put your index finger in the choil to block the blade when closing. Use you thumb to unlock!
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Colin
South Carolina
Apr 24, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wow is this sharp
Glad I wasn't the only person to cut myself. I felt like I was in the "Christmas Story." Anyway I bought this to replace a more expensive knife that I fell in love with having around all the time, but lost. I can't believe how great this has been as a replacement. I love the fast opening and you just have to practice with the locking method. I don't want to close the knife fast anyway as that helps remind you to watch your fingers. The warranty should cover any of the problems people have had, so not sure why don't just get it fixed.
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Danny
Kewalo basin Honolulu hawaii
Mar 15, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best poce in ever owned and I've had a thousand!😉😈
I've used this blade at work, on the fishing boat, at the table ,to clean a axis deer,gut .marlin and ahi, never fails,mahalo,Daniel
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Megapuppy
Ada, Okla
May 29, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Kershaw Bump
A little different shape of blade.It looks cool and cuts great! I like the blades size.The price of the knife was right so I bought it.
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ferg
Naugatuck, Ct
Aug 08, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Speed Bump
So far the speed bump has been great it opens daddy and smooth and is berry sharp out of the box. The only issue is with the locking mech it was difficult to unlock at first but after i used it for a bit it now id's much easier to unlock. All in all it is what I expected from a Kershaw blade very good knife and I would definitely purchase another off I lost it.
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Connecticut
Apr 22, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Love iT
My first blade and..well what can I say for the money it delivers SERIOUS value! The fit, finish, weight in hand is beefy, and the grip size fits me perfect! Nice work Mr. Onion! Only problem now is I'm hooked now - Thanks JTS :)...hmmm..whats next lol
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spark
West mifflini
Mar 08, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Knife 1595g10
Durabilty !
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kh
va
May 31, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
great knife
This is an amazing value. Knife feels great to me with a great shaped blade. Action good. Price AMAZING!
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry
Nebraska
May 29, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love the style of the knife. Sharp out of the box, good feel in the hand. The flipper worked smoothly and no noticeable play in the blade at the pivot point. The blade release is unique and you have to think about it, unlike a standard liner lock release. The blade has a guard at the base to prevent the blade from hitting a finger. Overall, a well-designed and executed knife.
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walrus G
Upstate NY
Sep 06, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife
This is a wonderful knife. Even at 5 times the cost of 26.96 it would still be a great value. While the blade shape does draw attention its deep in belly and long point renders it incredibly effective in piercing and cutting. In addition to the one I have used hard for three years ( and it’s still tight and perfect) I have two more in back order. Tell Kershaw to immediately make more of these great knives!
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve G
Ft.Lauderdale
May 31, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Always good quality for a good price
Great all-around pocket knife, feels good in your hand, opening and closing with ease
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter B
Palm Harbor, Fl
Mar 25, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Not a bump but a winner :-)
I just received the Ken onion speed bump what an awesome knife razor sharp love the design of the entire knife especially the blade shape and the lock mechanism is awesome and unique thank you Ken Onion and Knife Center great customer service and fast shipping 20STARS******************* Respectfully, Peter B
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Indra
Overland Park, Ks
May 28, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Ken Onion design, Kershaw price tag
The first thing that surprised me about this knife was the size -- the blade might only be 3.6" long, but its fairly hefty. Blade deployed, it's right around 8.5" long, and at over 5oz. in weight, in part due to the steel liners, you're gonna know you're carrying it. This is the first and only knife I own with a stud locking mechanism. That represents one con right there: if you move the knife around at all with the blade deployed, it makes a rattling noise. Once closed, the noise stops, but none of my other knives rattle or make any other noise at all, and it bothered me so much at first that I came close to returning it. I also have no hope that the springs in the locking mechanism are tolerant to dirt or other contaminants, and they will for sure wear out one day. This is no heirloom. The other big negative would be the edge geometry. It might be good at cutting a variety of materials as advertised, but good luck trying to sharpen this thing. You would have to be an expert and have the right sharpening kit. Most people would probably have to contact Kershaw and ship it back to them for sharpening, which is a pain. That being said, the ergonomics are great, it is very comfortable to hold and to use. Typical Ken Onion curves everywhere. I really like the handles, they compliment this knife very well, and there is just a tad of jimping on the top. The flipper is spring-assisted, so I have no idea why you would use or need the thumb studs, the flipper is instant-open and virtually effortless. The blade is also extremely sharp right out of the box, easily shaving sharp. The pocket clip is very long, and although it looks cool, it will be pretty obvious that you are carrying this thing, and the clip is not reversible in any way, it is where it is. I've also had it scrape up against some things that I would rather not have (like my car), again because it is so much longer than other clips (we're talking 2/3 of the length of the handle!). Not a good idea to use for any overly messy tasks, such as for hunting purposes or dressing game. But overall, the price really makes this thing. For $25 you get a capable, extremely sharp knife done by a big name in knife design that I would be confident to use in a variety of scenarios.
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
Minnesota
Apr 20, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent value
One of my favorite EDCs. The blade has a unique shape that really enhances cutting, and it looks pretty cool too. This thing flips open as quick as an auto, and it is sharp rite outta the box. A little bigger than most knives I would carry on a daily basis, but I don't even know it when it is in my pocket. The handle fits perfectly in my hand, whether using a forward or reverse grip. The scales pattern could be a little more deeply etched, but they are not slippery. The pocket clip is super strong, but smooth and doesn't wear my pocket edges; however, it is not reversible (but it IS removable.) I'd urge the 1 star reviewer to try again, as he must have gotten the one in a thousand with a defect. For the money, this is an incredible deal. I'm getting more for gifts.
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Zus
Nevada
Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Terrible Quality!!!
Received the knife promptly from Knife Center...opened it up and started checking it out...the 4th time I opened the knife it wouldn't close...the assist mechanism was either stuck or broken...upon closer inspection, I found that the spring inside the mechanism had flown out and landed on the floor, leaving the blade locked in the open position...this knife is dangerous!..sent it back...BTW...this is the second "Ken Onion" design that I have had to return...not functional or dependable...dangerous...would not recommend!!!
Kershaw 1595G10 Ken Onion Speed Bump Assisted Flipper Knife 3.625" Bead Blasted Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Joseph C
Hialeah, Florida
May 29, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
I hate this knife. It is cheaply made. the kocking mechanisam fails .c
that rhe locking mechanism fails. I can't get tnis knife closed. I want to return it.