Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper Knife 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper Knife 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handlesrated 4.727 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper Knife 3 inch M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $76.95

Save $43.00 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Pomona, Ca
Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Amazing
One of my favorite carry knives
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Star, Id
Oct 01, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Dividend
I wasn't sure how to rate this one between a 4 and 5, I gave it a five for the value. This is a great knife if you like speed safes like the leek, but with great blade material. Works great and Kershaw even sends you a deep carry clip if you call them, ZT doesn't which is weird because it's the same company. Overall great knife now the reason it might have been a 4 is that it came sharp, but not that sharp, not like a spyderco or benchmade, when I had to cut my babies tag off his beanie I had to use a different knife because it just wasn't that sharp. Other gripe after I sharpened it properly the handle is in the way and took damage which I don't mind just letting you know the angle is bad to really sharpen up the back end of the blade. Heat treat is ok, I've seen better and worse, but should be better then some S30V based on my Link from Kershaw. Overall for the money a great knife that will last and do great work for you. I like Kershaw, but they usually lacking decent blade material so this was a welcomed buy.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimbdeath
mt laurel, nj
Feb 08, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wow
Great EDC. Feels light. Fits in the watch pocket in my pants. I have medium sized hands and fits absolutely perfect. Very solid feel. Steel is obviously high quality and you can tell. Came razor sharp. Assist is actually nice. Solid but not too too springy. Does raise some eyebrows when people see it spring out 'round my suburban area but it is a practical feature. Overall very happy with the purchase and great value for the money.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce M
Central Illinois
May 05, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great knife!
Bought because of the steel. Its in my ECC rotation with several other Kershaws.good lockup. No blade play, sharp out of the box, light weight, good fit in hand and no hot spots. Clip is 4 way adjustable but prefer a deep carry clip althouh this clip will work. Thin and could almoust be called a "gentlemans carry". I love it!
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mgault
york pa
Nov 09, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
perfect edc
This hasnt left my pocket since i purchased it. It is very light weight, very solid, and flips like a champ everytime. The m390 steel is by the hardest steel i have ever used and it holds a razor sharp edge for ever.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dozer
TN
Nov 06, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Beautiful blade wrapped in handsome package
A few years ago my nephew was looking at my knife collection, I told him to pick a knife he liked and he could keep it. To. My surprise, his pick was Kershaw's Oso sweet. Don't get me wrong, it's a fine knife but he had many "better" more expensive knives to choose from. He said he just liked that one the best, it felt right. The Dividend is a knife like that, it feels right but it is also made very well and it's blade is excellent. My nephew doesn't know it yet but I have found the Oso sweet's replacement. This knife is relatively thin and takes up very little room in the pocket (or purse for that matter). My nephew will also appreciate that it is made in the USA.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Northern Virginia
Nov 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent steel in an affordable knife
I've waited for years to get a knife with an M390 blade. I'm glad I waited for Kershaw to come out with an almost perfect assisted opener. I've been using Kershaw Leeks for years. I have two Leeks with ZDP189 steel, so I am used to having premium steel in my EDC. My new Dividend is used for opening boxes, shaving splinters from wood kitchen utensils, and doing minor surgery on my index finger. The clip can be positioned in four different spots. The M390 blade is super sharp out of the box. The only thing missing on the Dividend is some gimping on the back of the blade which I'm used to having on the Leek. The Dividend is less than half the price of other M390 knives which is the reason I bought it. The ergonomic shape of the knife is a perfect fit in my hand.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mikenest4
Ohio
May 01, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
My New Favorite EDC
Perfect size fits my large size hands well. Thin in the pocket, easy to get your hand in and out. Excellent fit and finish. Blade steel is Awesome! My EDC, love it.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert
Youngsville, Nc
Jul 22, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel
Inexpensive Intro to M390
Bought this knife as a way to experience M390 steel without spending a whole lot of money. The M390 on this knife has a nice satin finish. My diamond stones easily sharpened the edge to a mirror finish. Edge retention seems quite good, however I can't say I did any sort of scientific testing. I would definitely buy another knife in M390. Unfortunately, there are some things about this knife that keep it in storage and not in my pocket. The black aluminum scales look nice, but they are not very grippy. If this knife had G10 or Carbon Fiber scales, it would be a much better knife in my opinion. Also, I find the liner lock not to be a joy to use. It's not difficult, but it's a little tedious. Lastly, I don't really like assisted opening knives. By definition, assisted opening also means resisted closing.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thp
Vashon, WA
Apr 23, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Not bad, not perfect
The form factor for this knife is excellent. Sure, Kershaw likely uses its spring-assist to compensate for an otherwise less-than-perfect action, and the spring introduces a failure point, but their good customer service somewhat makes up for that. Aside from that, Kershaw does not publish hardness data for this blade, so we have no idea whether they have properly hardened the M390. Lastly, the aluminum scale can be slippery; I will be taking a Dremel to parts of it to add some texture. This is only needed on the side opposite the carry clip. Worth the money? Yes (and I have every intention of making this my new EDC), but not worth more.
Kershaw 1812BLK Dividend Assisted Flipper 3" M390 Stonewashed Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Richardw
N. Alabama
May 01, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Handsome knife with outstanding m390 steel. Came very sharp. I do not like feel of Al handles so I removed the premium m390 blade and installed it in a new plain Dividend with GFN scales. Fantastic look and feel with durability and grip; a winner. This is my outside knife to go with my ZT 0450CFZDP favorite EDC dress knife. This blade in sculpted micarta scales would be perfection. A real bargain for the price.