Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles

Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handlesrated 4.563 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25 inch Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles

 

Price: $25.95

Save $14.04 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Al
Biloxi, MS
Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
CAN'T BE EBAT FOR THE $$$
Folks, for your hard-earned money, you absolutely cannot find a better folding knife anywhere! Blade steel, yes, is cheap, but it is GOOD! The blade shape (modified tanto) is super. I love "flipper" opening knives. Clip location??? There is NO better place for the clip than on the very end. Puts ALL the knife in your pocket.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bigman
Pa
Jun 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Kershaw Value
This knife is a true bargain at this price. It easily rivals and exceed other knives costing over twice the price.I own a Spyderco Persistance and paid 25 dollars for it and the Freefall comes with a bigger blade and assisted opening. The finish even exceeds the Persistence finish. Run your fingers along any edge of the Freefall and they are all melded and rounded smooth.Not so on the Spyderco even the hole and blade spine needed a little touching up to make them a little smoother. They're both made with the very same steel which I find make a very good EDC caliber steel overall. It doesn't chip or stain easily at all and retains it's edge a respectable amount of time. Please note I am in no way bashing Spyderco,just using it as an example. The Persistence is a well made knife indeed.I just think Spyderco knives are way overpriced in general. I would add the Persistence has g10 scales and Zytel like on the Freefall.Either of which are very very durable materials.The Freefall is right or left had tipup carry,the Persistence 4 way carry. These differences in no way persuade me in believing the price difference by Spyderco is worth the extra money they want. I read a lot of review of how bad their steel supposedly is. I have yet to see a well known factory brand knife chinese made anywhere near as bad as they seem to proclaim they are. I own a lot of knives both custom and factory made from all over the world. Most of which are made the the USA tho. I've been collecting and honing steel for 45 yrs now so I know good from bad. I can easily make this steel as sharp as any steel I own,super steel blades included. All the super steel has in most cases is better edge retention. I would say tho there are compromises on some so called super steels that will chip far easier and rust faster then this steel.Plus they are in some case outrageously expensive to buy. So in conclusion I would say bang for the buck Kershaws Freefall at this price is a bargain and hard to beat. I would recommend one to anyone wanting a well made EDC at a very good price. This blade beats its competition hands down is some ways.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
tulsa
Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good knife nice feel you pull on the flipper and it flicks open quick with spring assist sturdy lock no play in it. looks cool not to heavy fits good in hand came with a nice edge but could be sharper great knife for the money better than my Gerber tanto and it costed more.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
D. Scot
Frankfort KY
Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love the Kershaw 3840 FreeFall knife!
I carry this knife every day! It's great for cutting rope, cloth, wood, heavy cardboard and vegetation! I've bought three of them all together! The other two were for my son's! They love them as well! They use them for outdoor scouting activities!
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve F.
Rochester, NY
Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Outstanding EDC value
I own a lot of folding knives, from very inexpensive (like this one) to high-end limited-run production models (Zero Tolerance, Spyderco, etc.) This knife holds its own with them all as an EDC.  Is it a powdered steel, a 'super steel'?  No.  Does it matter, for an EDC? Not really.  It takes an edge readily and holds it decently. Would I recommend this steel for use as a shop knife where, say, it's scraping the remainder of gaskets off engine head covers?  No.  But as an EDC, it's plenty. Excellent deployment (Speedsafe), solid lock-up.  It's a liner lock, and contacts a good portion of the blade when locked up (unlike some budget knife liner locks that barely get in front of the blade and scare me).  Good blade centering, open and closed.  No lateral play at all when deployed and locked. Really good tolerances.  Surprising at this price point. Really nice. The handle is ergonomically well designed; it's thick enough and long enough for my XL hands to grip easily and with confidence.  No hot spots or pressure points.  The clip is wonderful--a full deep carry (if you like this, also have a look at a SOG Salute or Salute Mini, too).  The clip is also small enough so that it isn't a factor when you fully grip the knife. In design, materials, and fit/finish, this folder rivals knives costing three times as much.  Highly recommended.  And a great gift; they'll think that it cost WAY more than the actual purchase price.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rodrigo
Franco
Mar 04, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
best everyday carry knife
This was my very best everyday carry knife, I never left my home with out it. I used it at work, it once fell from a distance of 30 ft in the air, I picked it up not a single scratch on the blade very robust blade, it's easy to sharpen it, I bought it once and here I am buying a second one, some idiot broke into my car and stoled my knife while I was at a bar having a few drinks.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen H
Kepnock, Other
Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
BEST KNIFE UNDER $50
Butter smooth deployment, just like the knives that cost x10 the $dosh! Factory sharp, with clean edges, its better than ive seen on others!! Fit'n'Finsih is A1*****10/10!!! Weights nice, just enough to feel good but not enough to pull down your dacks. Also the deep carry is the best! +1 KnifeCentre for delivery and bonus with coupon at checkout, Nice1... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, even my knife-snob mate when he saw my post admitted id be pleased with mine as he had bought 4 for his grandkids previous! Before this I thought a knife had to cost a kidney to be quality, now i know how wrong i was! The ONLY thing is it does not have a close lock for safety. Wish it did as it opens like lightening and its got a wicked blade, sharp as satan and a point to do either a LOT of work or damage if it deployed by mistake in my pocket. Only time will tell, might be worry about nothing but it deployed so well, its actually a worry - so just take care!
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chad C
Indiana
Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Freefall
Razor sharp out of the box, excellent lock up.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Malcolm
Upstate NY
Dec 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice knife, awesome value
I work as a welder in a rock quarry and play outdoors in my free time. I've used this knife for a variety of tasks, from gutting deer, to cutting nylon sleeves off of vibration-dampening pistons on rock crushers, to opening cans of beans, and so on. It's held up well and is easy to sharpen, as far as stainless steel is concerned. The workmanship is precise and of good quality, the knife is well-balanced, and the flipper action smooth. I had never had any experience with 8cr13mov steel prior to owning this knife; if you "abuse" it like me, don't expect it to stay sharp. Cutting through steel will make it dull quickly. For general EDC use, however, 8cr13mov is more than sufficient. Overall great knife. Awesome value.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary K
Richmond, Texas
Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Kershaw FreeFall
This is my first Kershaw and I am very satisfied with it. The knife handles flawlessly. The flipper operates quickly and the blade locks up securely. Right out of the box the blade was razor sharp and held the edge even after use. I would highly recommend this Kershaw FreeFall to anyone who asks.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Linsey L
Onalaska,Wisconsin
Oct 05, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Kershaw 3840
Good knife for everyday use could be a little sharper but very satisfied.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
North Carolina
Jan 01, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Kershaw 3840
Very happy with this knife as is typical for Kershaw products.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Phil
Virginia
Feb 04, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Good EDC
I bought this as an EDC knife for when I travel. I hate not having at least a knife with me when traveling, so I wanted something that I could toss into my checked bag and not stress over it if it got lost. I have also had a couple of instances when checking my bags almost made me miss a flight so I had to either take my chances or toss the knife and take my bag as a carry-on. I bought this knife because at the price I wouldn't feel bad tossing it if I had to but it would still be a decent knife. It exceeds my expectations. The blade is sharp and just the right length to be practical. The handle is comfortable and the pocket clip lets it sit low in my pocket for a low profile. The assisted opening works well and the spring is strong. I don't even mind the tanto point even though it would not have been my first choice of blade profile. Great functional knife at a great price.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Donn S
SE lower Michigan
Feb 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
It's a keeper
The Free Fall's been in my pocket since I received it. I like Kershaw folders because, my humble opinion, they offer top quality for the dollar spent. I've used this piece for everything from opening envelopes, cutting up heavy cardboard boxes, to slicing bread. It's kept it's edge and hasn't missed a beat. I wish it was made here, like the Blur, but that's not my call.
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Konstantin Doul
New Vrasna, Ae
Jan 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
very nice every day knife
very nice every day knife, robust and just feels good in the hand, ... wish there would be a serration version too...
Kershaw 3840 FreeFall Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Stonewash Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
David D
Idaho Falls,Id
Feb 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Love this knife
Kershaw is a great knife but one of the 2 I bought the clip is broke the screw is stripped I need to replace it?