Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles

Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handlesrated 4.125 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25 inch Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles

 

Price: $24.95

Save $25.04 (50%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Catmando
Auberry, Ca
Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Folder
Have other Kershaw knifes and this one did not disappoint. A handsome knife with the blackwash. I prefer folder blades in the 3 inch plus length and this one fits the bill. Blade is sharp out of the box and of a good EDC quality steel. Flipper function works well and lock up is positive. Sits deep in the pocket for unobtrusive carry. Can't go wrong with this puppy.
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Louisiana
Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great looking knife
I really like the blackwash, looks super. Great blade shape for my uses (slice apples, cut twine, cardboard). The flipping action is easy. Lock is secure.
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan J
Boston
Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Smooth operator
This knife is great for all uses. The assisted release makes access easy and smooth. Highly recommend.
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jt
Nevada City, CA
Aug 26, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
.....a bargain
A Kershaw knife for under $25 bucks is a bargain and first appearance and inspection has not disappointed me. The all steel handle has some heft and a substantial feel. The Blackwash finish gives an almost intimidating look. Out of the box, this knife was very sharp (already cut my finger- - -DUH)! This knife sits very low in the pocket. The clip, which holds securely, is the only visible part. The clip is tip up only, but is adjustable to right or left side. Because of smooth slick finish and rounded edges, it withdraws easily. Because of smoothness, it is a little harder to maintain a tight grip compared to other knives with a little more friction to the handle. The Flipper action was a little stiff but a slight loosening of the action screw solved it (hardly worth mentioning). I assume that breaking in will also help. As the old saying goes, you get what you pay for, but this inexpensive knife from a reputable company appears to be well made and of good quality and has made a good first impression. Time will tell if it stands up to the use (abuse) of an EDC. PS: Fast efficient service from the Knife Center.
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cutting Kalis
Arizona
Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Perfect fit
This knife is exactly what I expected. It is durable, and sits so low that it is nearly invisible. The clip is nice and sturdy, but still fast and easy to draw. The spring assist was a little weak the first seven or so times I opened it, but after that it has been just as strong as the other Kershaws I have owned. Overall, this is a fantastic folder.
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
A.Y.
Washington
Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Type, None
Useful
Some side to side blade play, otherwise stout lock up. I don't think it would fail, it's just a little annoying. but at this price, I really can't complain. Other than that, a useful, well designed, attractive tool, with a good, thin grind and sharp point.
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gus
Hawthorne, Ca
Dec 01, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Weight, None
Great handle and hand position, wish it was full flat grind
Perfect deep carry clip - why isn't every other folder made with this clip arrangement? Having no gap/distance between the handle and guard to the start of the cutting edge is a relatively rare feature for a flipper, it's almost like a proper knife. I really dislike folders where the design leaves the hand position some distance from the start of the cutting edge, and where the effective blade length is compromised by a poorly positioned thumb stud. This is a well designed handle that maximises actual cutting edge length, with the flipper acting as a small but handy guard when deployed. I wish they made it with a full flat grind drop point blade, I think that would be a very popular knife (rather than the full face hollow grind spear point). I can feel a workshop project coming on... Pros - handle, clip, full length cutting edge, flipper position and config Cons - it's a bit heavy, the blade has that stupid "tactical" coating, would prefer full flat grind geometry for improved slicing as hollow grind on blades with narrow width are... just stupid.
Kershaw 3871BW Amplitude 3.25 Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwash Plain Blade, Blackwash Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Donald
Canal Fulton, Oh
Apr 11, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Impossible to open
No amount of adjustment/oil allows the flipper to over come the spring assist.I can open it by turning it around and push with my thumb. I have multiple Kershaw spring assist openers with good success. This one is not normal. It will sit on a shelf. Very disappointing.