Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 3.733 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
1
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3 inch Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $16.95

Save $38.04 (69%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan S.
Lexington, Ky
Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Great buy
I did a lot of research on knife steels and brands while selecting this knife. I was looking for a replacement for my EDC, a Frost Silver Hawk, and wanted something around the same size. Unfortunately this knife is significantly larger... BUT I LOVE IT. I don't think I'll ever go back to a small pocket knife. Anyways, I chose 8Cr13MoV because it offers great value and I didn't want to spend a fortune on a knife that I might not like. There's some reviews out there that say this material is crap, but the truth is that it all depends on the heat treatment (HT). My hunting knife is a Kershaw and I like it and my dad has owned a couple Kershaws that were reliable so I was fairly confident that they would be able to achieve the proper HT. I was not wrong. Out of the box the knife was able to shave the hairs off my arm. It has held its edge very well, withstanding a month of use (opening boxes and plastic packaging, cutting nylon cord...) without sharpening. The flip function needs a little wrist assist, but it's easily opened. The lock function was a bit difficult to get used to since I'm mostly familiar with lockbacks; I cut myself once, but I've got the hang of it now. If I'd known how great this knife was I'd have been willing to pay full price for it, but at ~$18 it is a STEAL!!! I would recommend this knife to anyone looking for a light duty EDC.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ajk
Bryan, Tx
Aug 03, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
A Must Buy at this prie point!
Sharp, smooth, my new EDC. Highly recommended. Could be a bit on the heavy side if you like lightweight knives, feels "solid", but not bulky...fairly slim too.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Texas
Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This is a great knife!
There is nothing wrong with this knife. The reviewers giving this knife only one star are nuts! You get amazing value for the price you pay. It's a frame lock, not a liner lock. That's great for $20. The construction is all metal, not plastic. I see people complaining that this folder does not have assisted opening. That's because it doesn't have that feature! It even says in the description, "without mechanical assist". It's right there if you read the description. Don't give the knife a bad review because you weren't paying attention to what you were buying! But I can assure you that the knife opens just fine with a very gentle flick of your wrist. It requires very little effort. Personally, I like the action of this knife. It's very easy to open, and it's even easier to close. The pocket clip may turn away some potential buyers. Tip up is the only position. But you can mount the clip on either the left or right side, depending on your personal preference. Honestly, this knife works great. I have no issues with the pocket clip position. I can open it very easily with one hand. There's nothing I can complain about. For $20, you're practically robbing Knife Center.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry C
Fort Gratiot, MI
Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Keyshawn Nura 3.0
Great knife in a handy size. Excellent quality!
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Louis O
Spring Hill, Fl
Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
COME ON LOOK AT THE PRICE !!!
FIRST KERSHAW DID NOT WANT TO BUY A KNIFE EVERY ONE ELSE HAS BUT, THE DESIGN & PRICE SOLD ME , WOW WELL WORTH THE MONEY GREAT WEIGHT ,BLADE SUPER SHARP OUT OF BOX . THE DESIGN TO ME IS COOL FOR THE MONEY .... WHAT'S NOT TO LIKE GET HOME & SEE FOR THE 17.00 BUCKS & CHANGE WELL WORTH IT.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin
Michigan
Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Lefty friendly after all!
So...first things first...the clip is easily swapped for left hand ccarry. Now...the knife itself...came sharp with good grinds. Tight lock up and no blade play...it is however slightly off center when closed...no biggie in this price point. The detent is a little weak so its not "as" great a flipper as it could be...but with proper technique its not bad and needs no wrist. All in all...a good knife at regular price... A great knife at the sale price. While it's certainly no shiro...its a neat 3 inch bladed option. Thanks for reading.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gentry F.
St Charles, Mo.
Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Overall an excellent knife for the price
Used for EDC, Very sharp out of the box, and is holding an excellent edge. Another reviewer complained of the knife opening while in their pocket. It happened to me the 2'nd day of carrying when removing my wallet. Has not happened again. Just more careful removing my wallet. Clip was a little tight, but fine after a simple adjustment. This is my first flipper. It took about a week to get used to it. Overall an excellent knife. This is my second Kershaw, and the better of the 2. The only reason I could not give it 5 stars, is because it is not made in the USA.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Karl
Pennsylvania
Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Great Rus inspired knife
I have a number of elegant 3 inch folders inthe $300 plus range. This gives me an everyday jeans carry that works. For $20 .liner lock could be improved. Life is overall Rus heavy duty.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Timothy D
Wichita, Ks
Mar 08, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
Nice
The Knife came in the mail today, I just ordered it the other day. Very fast for a few dollars shipping. This is a nice knife and for the price you just can not beat it! It looks good, feels good, opens smoothly and locks solid. I have only one problem, the blade lock is hard to unlock, it's a little stiffer then other systems of the same type. All and all, a good knife at a great price!
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Fridley, Mn
Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Great Value in an EDC Knife
I purchased the Nura on sale for under $18. For my money I got a slim handle that has a weighty feel, nice sharp upper mid level steel in the blade, one-handed flipper deployment and handy tip up clip carry. AT this price there is a lot of utility to be had in the Nura. On the down side is the fact that while the weighty handle feels substantial in the hand, it is a bit on the heavy side for its size. The flipper deployment requires a practiced motion. Rather than flipping open easily using a light switch motion, the finger needs to be placed on top of the flipper tab and pushed inward toward the handle with a crisp movement. That heavy steel frame means a heavy steel frame lock that is not very easy to disengage for closing. Is the Nura an ideal EDC knife? No. On the other hand, at less than $18 there is plenty to like.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tyler
Ontario
Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening, Handle Material
Not impressed!
Great design poor flipping performance. When using the flipper you have to use your wrist to get it to deploy, the detent is to weak. Only reason for 3 stars is the fact it came Sharp and has kvt.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Cyclist Technician
seattle
Sep 17, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
A newb thinks its nice for <$20
I ordered two because they were on sale and looked like a good deal. one started out feeling stiff but came online in 50-100 flips and besides very slightly favoring the show side is awesome and ill be happy to gift it to a friend. The other one flipped easy right out of the box, and has great centering but a weak detent. It doesn't flip as well as the first but is still fun to operate as long as i use some wrist, and i don't mind that. If I really try I can also shake the blade free from the handle without the flipper, and thats more annoying/concerning. I think the detent hole on the blade has been filled in a little by the gray coating, making it effectively a shade smaller and thus weaker. Either that or the alignment of the hole and ball is off. knife center CS and shipping was better than fine. Im pretty new to knives and not disappointed.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Leonard K
Ardmore, PA
Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
so so knife
I cannot remove the clip. It has been put in so well that taking it off is impossible. There is no assist in the flipper opening, so I am unable to flip it into a locked open position.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Matt
Fridley, Mn
Oct 08, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening
Revising My Original Review Downward
Here's why this knife deserves to be knocked: -Refinement, refinement, refinment -The detent is too weak to hold the knife closed and this also makes flipping it open a chore that requires very intentional technique. -The coating on the blade is just not going to hold up and that detracts from the looks of the knife -The designer provided a design that is really nice, but all the lack of refinement from cheap washers, poor execution of the kershaw logo in he cutout of the handle and cheap way the clip is executed with a stand-off, just screams for refinement to match the design. It is an inexpensive knife, but there inexpensive knives that stay closed and flip properly. At this price, the design itself is worthy of the price, but the lack of manufacturing execution reminds me that it fails at the function of being an effective knife.
Kershaw 4030TIKVT Nura 3.0 Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Edward S
Davidsonville, Md
Jan 26, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cheap Knife -- don't waste your money.
I bought this on sale and figured how could I go wrong. Here's what I don't like about it: 1. There's no spring assist. While it has a flip lever you have to also flick the knife with your wrist to get it to open the whole way into the lock position. 2. The blade doesn't really lock closed. While there's a slight detent for the blade to stay in the closed position, it really doesn't. 3. The blade points up in relation to the pocket clip. Given that it the blade doesn't lock closed this opens up the possibility for the knife to open when pulling out of your pocket and either getting caught on your pants or cutting you. That said the knife looks nice and the blade is ok so I guess I should have set expectations properly for a $16, made in China Kershaw. If I had to do it over again I'd just put the money towards a better quality knife.