Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles

Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.625 stars out of 5 (24 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6 inch Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $119.95

Save $70.04 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yohan
.
Jul 13, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Amazing quality

Very good mid range butterfly knife
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cyclical
Usa
Oct 27, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Feels like a 2-300 dollar knife

Ive never used a 300 dollar balisong but i imagine its like this. The bearings are awsome, sturdy as hell. The craftsmanship and materials and everything are what i was looking for in something i want to keep with me for a few years Ive dropped the hell out of it, and other than dulling up a little, as it should, and the the latch eventually coming off on its own, it seems like its gonna hold up for a long time. The only two parts of the whole experience that werent perfectly seamless was the latch and this pinch point at the back. The latch is removable, i never took it off but it eventually started coming off on its own, i think the back end flexed open slightly and made it easier to snap in or out. And the pinch point. Its a small thing but its been the worst part of the knife for me so ill bring it up. The back part of the blade behind where it hinges has little notches in it. Presumably so i can grab it with my finger and flick it. But theyre just the right size that if my finger is pressed up against the back of the blade as the handles swings together, and if i dont stop the other handle before it gets within about 45 degrees of closed, it pinches the fu** out of me. Its not a deal killer or anything, ive learned to choke up on it and control the handle im not holding, so it cant swing that far around, which might be the more techincal way to flip anyway. I can totally get with learning stuff like that to keep from getting hurt while flipping too, thats what makes it fun; the real issue is that ive never used the notch for anything else, and I cant imagine ever missing it if it wasnt there. Thats my only serious complaint though and its very minor, overall im extremely satisfied. its been in my EDC for months and i like having it more and more as time passes. I cant speak for other knives but this one is a very very solid choice in the ~100 dollar price range
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Igor
CNJ
Mar 04, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Kershaw lucha

Overall quality,good price,fast service.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Goose
Tennessee
Apr 10, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath, Pocket Clip

The real deal

The best knife i own thats under 300$. This knife should be in that upper level range. Great out of the box. Good movement, i love the weight a little heavy. The blade fits the knive perfect. It's great for flipping and EDC, a handy knive to have around whether work or play. Not for beginners. Kershaw you have a winner in this 5150 Lucha. A must have if ur into collecting or just love balisongs.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
Loveland, Oh
Apr 25, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Great quality!

My first Balisong except another cheap trainer. Flips smooth and nice. Razor sharp. Feels premium in hands. The only down side is weight but still 5 star! Highly recommend for the money.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolf
Maryland
Jul 05, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight

Excellent balance but heavy

Excellent knife but heavy, the ball bearings Make a this knife spin....spin realy fast and carry the weight with perfect balance.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roddy D
Florida
Jul 26, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None

Excellent knife and great pocket knife

While most want a fidget spinner out of a balisong, I seek a practical cutting tool that’s one-handed and easy to handle. Because of this, I find the criticism about the weight easy to dismiss. It’s easy to flip open and closes quickly, which is pertinent to my needs, and I’m sure one could flip this to their heart’s content. But if you want a cutting-edge tool that’s both practical and reliable (and pretty) this is a great choice. Hey, these are knives, too, and not just risky toys. This is a great knife. If I had to gripe about something, I would have found some sort of sheath or pouch nice. But I’ll work it out.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eyndra
South Carolina
Feb 25, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

The best flipper you'll ever own

I've flipped with a Benchmade 42 Ti/154cm for the last 6 years, lost interest in 2019, sold it for a guitar, learned guitar, then re-bought a butterfly. I can tell you this is the most pleasant butterfly I've ever flipped. I can't tell you what machining actually takes place, but it is without a doubt the best balanced butterfly knife I've ever used. The lockup is absolutely unparalleled, the weight is perfect for continuous routines, and it the profile and grind also doubles as an excellent knife lol. BUY THIS ONE.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sang
Leesburg, Va
Oct 28, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None

Flippin love it.

Yes, it is on the heavier side. it is solid and rattle free. A bit of lube on the bearing pivots and the lock, and you're in ninja mode. Sharp blade too. Few gripes. One of the handle was not as swingy as the other. but its getting better as it breaks in. The spine of the blade (where your finger hits) is pretty narrow, meaning it will hurt more. They cut a 45 degree angle on both shoulders thinking it will soften the edges but it has lessen the contact surface on your forefinger where it digs in deeper down to your bones. Yes, it hurts. They should've just slightly round off the shoulders, not cut 45 degree bevel. It is long and dense. Not crazy heavy. But it disappears in your pocket! The rounded edges and slimmer profile is really comfortable, even in sweat pant pocket!
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leroy
Maine
Mar 10, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Excellent Knife Great Price

I was excited to see Kershaw getting back into the bali game since I was a big fan of the Kimura series. They did not disappoint with the Lucha. Super tight tolerances and smooth flipping. The blade comes razor sharp with a wicket point. Reminds me of my misplaced kimura. The weight is a bit too much to call it a good flipper but it will be my knew EDC because of the solid construction and long blade. The latch is a bit underwhelming and beat the handles up with mild flipping. I prefer no latch and IMO it feels much better without it. Bearings are controversial in the community but I enjoy them. This knife is a great value and with flytanium handles coming soon it could be a real contender for the much higher priced balisongs. If you love balis and want a hefty EDC this is the knife for you!
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Forrest
AL
Apr 23, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Solid flipper

I have to give this knife 5 stars bc of what it delivers at this price point. Its a solid flipper with kvt ball bearings, great tolerances and a beautiful wicked looking blade. The ss handles are heavy like everyone else has said, and I HATED the sound it made flipping with the latch still attached. The latch was easy to take off though, and flytanium offers titanium handle scales if you really wanna upgrade them. At this price point I dont think anything can beat it
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tb
Rhode Island
Apr 05, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great quality

Slightly handle heavy, but extremely fluid in motion and incredibly solid build and feel. Best that I own so far.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharky
Michigan
Feb 06, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sharp and balanced balisong

The overall quality is excellent. The handles glide through maneuvers fast and balanced. The handles feel nice in your hand because they are rounded and smooth. Personally, I would like a little more weight, never-the-less this knife is superb. Beware! The blade is extremely sharp.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Boomstick71
TN
Feb 06, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

American Flipper

Quality American made Balisong. I purchased this item with the intent of learning to flip for amusement and entertainment. It is superbly built and can fulfill roles WELL BEYOND casual flipping. I was immediately impressed with the look and feel of the Kershaw Lucha. Bought a second one as well. Worth every cent and more in my opinion. Large, solid, quality build and steel as well. Scary Sharp, beautiful and well sized blade! Well done Kershaw! Oh BTW, the model # is 5150...coincidental or not it’s a very nice touch to the product. You either know or you don’t know 😎
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carnot
Destin, Fl
Jun 01, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Sheath, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Weight

Kershaw Lucha

This is one sexy looking blade and the quality is exceptional throughout. In fact, the only "con" is that it's also heavier than my practice flipper by about an ounce, and that extra weight took a bit of getting used to. Even so, this knife is a great instrument and a great value for the price. It's made in the USA!!! Fortunately, Flytanium has titanium handles for this blade that will shave off 1.3 ounces and take this knife to a level comparable to flippers costing much much more. Is it worth it? OHHH YEEEAAAAAAH! ;)
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jay
utah
Jun 12, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Weight, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use

Heavy Balisong

almost everything about this balisong is perfect thou i would change some design details but that’s just be otherwise would be 5 stars if the weight didn’t make some tricks difficult to build momentum for
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scanlin
Florida
Jun 22, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

super impressed

I have been flipping this nonstop since I've gotten it. This has been my first "considerably" priced balisong purchase, and so far I am not regretting anything. I have noticed that people are complaining about the weight of the knife, but personally I love the weight and the bearing action because it carries so much momentum with relative ease. the length of the blade, its profile, and the overall construction quality of the knife make a real winner in the EDC department, hasn't let me down, has no play whatsoever, and is razor sharp right out of the box. This should be a knife on everyone's list, especially for the price.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joshua
Jefferson , Md
Apr 16, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Beat Bali under $200

I took a chance on this bali when I bought it. I figured worst case scenario, it ends up in my collection being the first Bali from Kershaw. For $120 Dollars, it flips better than a few other bali's I own that cost twice as much. My only complaint is the weight. Just a hair too heavy. Otherwise, it's a fantastic value.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joshua
Jefferson , Md
Apr 16, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Beat Bali under $200

I took a chance on this bali when I bought it. I figured worst case scenario, it ends up in my collection being the first Bali from Kershaw. For $120 Dollars, it flips better than a few other bali's I own that cost twice as much. My only complaint is the weight. Just a hair too heavy. Otherwise, it's a fantastic value.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jjag
,
Jul 24, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None

Good full size balisong

I carry balisongs for flipping and edc. This kershaw lucha is great. Its got good size wich is dope cuz i have bigger hands. I dint mind the wieght i actually like heavy balisongs. The bearing pivots are super smooth and flip really well. Came shaving sharp out of box. The bladeste is tough but you need to maintain the edge for edc use. (For flipping this is good as it dulls quicker) the blade also will corrode so a nice coat of oil every now and then is also needed. In my case i sharpen my kmives with oil anyway so i get a good coat of oil and clean up the edge at the same time making things easier. The latch is great but if you are primarilly flipping youll want to take off the latch and latchpins. This will balance the handles and leave the bite handle slightly lighter allowing easier movement wich is kinda cool. I hope they do more runs of these, a Tanto versiom would be awesome. Its a good knife for the money good flipper. Just maintain it properly and its great.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob From Sd
San Diego
Feb 06, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material

Kershaw Lucha 5150

An absolute bargain at this price. 4.5 stars because of the lower quality steel in the blade and the lightening cutouts, but I'm whining. I have not had a chance to dis-assemble or really work the edge. The piece flips effortlessly if light and the quality appears outstanding. Nothing uneven, loose and is sharp to the point of razor. Don't need another but I'll get it.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joshua
,
Apr 17, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Good knife

I would recommend this knife to anyone at the sale price all day. This knife is really smooth and flips well. The only down side is the weight. This knife it the heaviest bali I own and it will cut deep if you grab the bite handle. I took the latch off as I dont like latches but the design on the latch is really cool machine work. All in all 4 out of 5 for me.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jjag
,
Jul 30, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None

Good full size balisong

great balisong. The bearings are super smooth. I like the size and weight especially since i have bigger hands. The bladesteel is one that requires a bit more upkeep for edc. (Touching up the edge, oil). Also its dope that the screws (especially pivots) came with locktite already. Less work i had to do. Love the look, the 2 improvements i think would be great to see are 1. Seeing a tanto version of this in maybe a 154cm. And 2 allowing flytanium to have a similar after market handle desighn similar to the steel ones on here. The ones that are cureently available mimic the benchmade desighn and it just doesnf fit the knife. It would be great to see evwn maybe a kershaw/flytainium collab to desighn some more asthetically fitting after market handles. That being said the as is steel handles are great.
Kershaw 5150 Lucha Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.6" Stonewashed Sandvik 14C28N Clip Point Blade, Stonewashed Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mad Max - @Fio.Da.Toca
Brasil - BR
May 31, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath

Not perfect cause of the latch

It is almost perfect!!! Great blade, great handles, great pivots, great design! But the latch should have some spring system in order to not make so much noise while flipping...