Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles

Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.600 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5 inch Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $44.95

Save $24.34 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brett B
NC
Nov 18, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Very solid, well designed, larger Kershaw
Pros: Fills my hand well, good traction and ergo Nice gimping - not too aggressive but just enough G-10 handle scales feel comfortable Very solidly built knife Chisel grind is easy to get razor sharp Tanto blade works well for most cutting tasks Economical hard working knife Cons: This knife will be too big and heavy for many people's taste Heavy and bulky in pocket Black coating on blade might be a turn off In my opinion, this is the ugly duckling of the Kershaw CQC series, so for many the 8k will be too bulky and lacks the "Cool Factor" Basically, if you want the Abram's tank of pocket knives under $50.00 this is the knife for you. This would be a great knife to throw in your camping gear or in your truck as a medium to heavy duty blade. I alternate carrying this knife with my Kershaw CQC-6k which I think is more stylish but not as beefy. I have large hands and the CQC-8k feels more secure in my hand than the 6k.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Glendora, Ca
Mar 07, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
$40 emerson!
Bam! Deal! Well made, good materials, cheap, albeit linerlock. True chisel grind, sharp as heck, sweet little knife. Would be nicer in satin, frame lock. Thicker blade stock wouldn't hurt. Otherwise0: heaven. I've seen some folk remark that the piece ain't sharp. They just don't know these knives! I got 2, and they are both razors. $40 each! Can't beat it. I carried cqc-7s for about 6 years as primary tactical folder. Still carry a chisel ground Fellhoelter FATF half of the time, lots of custom Hartsfield, Emerson, Horton, Dwyer & Ryan chisel grinds. But $40? Abuse time!
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark G.
Hamilton Ontario
Jul 02, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Kershaw Emerson CQC-8K
Great handle and blade is reasonably sharp right out of the box. This is the second knife I've bought with the Emerson Wave feature. The other one is a karambit and they work opposite one another. The karambit you open with a forward movement and the Kershaw by pulling to the rear of the pocket. It does take some practice, but once you've got it down, you'll wish all of your folders had the wave! The only real downside to this knife is the pocket clip. It's incredibly stiff and makes using the wave a little tricky. The liner lock works just fine, engages strong but will close with just enough force. Great knife.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray M
Arkansas
Jul 09, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Black Kershaw Emerson Tanto
Excellent knife, as expected with the names Emerson and Kershaw on it. Very sharp right out of the box and holds an edge well. Easy open and positive blade lock. Would definitely recommend this knife to anyone looking for a good knife.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
PA
Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
excellent knife at a great price
this is a very well made knife. It came reasonably sharp, but I like a razor edge, a piece of leather and some jewelers rouge and I have a razors edge. I liked it so much, i bought a second 1. if they make the Roadhouse I'll buy two of those also.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dustin
Michigan
Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Makes a great sound!
A good knife for a great price. It came a little more dull than I have come to expect from Kershaw but with a little touching up its fine. Deploys fast and makes a rather intimidating "click" when opened quick. I'm buying other models.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Guy
Upper Darby,Pa.
Jul 07, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife
It is well made.Easy open feature.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Derrick
Grand Rapids
Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
nice handle
Just picked this up at my local ace hardware for $45. The handle material seems high quality. The blade is dull as well. I worry the printing on the blade is not and will scratch off over short time. All of the screws on the knife are scuffed from poor machining. Overall it's a nice knife but it's not a $60 classic kershaw as they retail it. Its a mass production china blade with a nice handle with smooth locking mechanism. This knife is going to be worked. I wear down and sharpen my knives frequently. My $20 knives I usually buy last at most six months. I'm curious if spending the extra money for a kershaw is worth it for a working knife. I should update to say how it's held up.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Just A Deputy
Texas
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Kershaw Emerson 6044 TBKK CQC-8K
Sharp out of box. Extra area + Jimping on spine good for thumb rest for added support during slashing or index finger for fine cutting. Opens well and lock up up and down/side to side movement is tight. Weight a bit heavy though. Handle is weird looking. But for the price, in a word... AWESOME! Thanks Ernie.
Kershaw Emerson 6044TBLK CQC-8K Folding Knife 3.5" Black Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Shane
U.S.
Jul 08, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip
The definition of mediocre.
Dull out of the box, stiff action, and tip-up only. I personally don't care for any of the "catch it on your pants" opening designs, but bought this anyway, as I'd never owned an Emerson. For a big-name designed, Chinese built knife, this doesn't hold a candle to the Spyderco Resilience. This isn't a bad knife, it's just nothing special.