Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles

Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75 inch CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $120.95

Save $69.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ty
Ore
Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Great knife the only complaint I have is if you don't push the release button till it stops the blade doesn't click all the way into place and since the button has tension on it you have to push hard other than that great knife great knife builders
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Jacksonville, Ar
Mar 05, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Launch 6, Excellent Auto
The Launch 6 is a very snappy auto, very quick. The coating on the blade has held up very well and when needed it is reliable. I just touch it up with my Green Elephant and it's like a razor again. I would recommend this knife to anyone who needs a quick and dependable knife.
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bunyan!
Atlanta
Jan 23, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Yup
Strength of spring
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J-Rod
Florida
Apr 14, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
No Blade Bounce
Kershaw must have listened to the reviews. I purchased one of these knives recently and there’s absolutely no blade bounce. The lock up is solid as a rock. This is an amazing knife for the price. It’s razor sharp too!
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bermo
Alamo, TX
Apr 05, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip
Launch 6 problem solved!
I have wanted the launch 6 for a while. Finally I pulled the trigger on one...teal with a stonewashed blade. I love it. I had some reservations after I purchased it because in some of the vids they failed to lock in the open position. That is a pretty serious flaw in my opinion and a number of the owners of this knife felt the same. But Kershaw must have listened to these criticisms because the one I just recently bought is perfect. I have fired it dozens of times and it has not failed to lock in the open position even once. One thing I noticed is that it opens a fraction slower than the originals. This quite possibly results in a better locking speed. The blade at 3.75” is a little bigger than many auto’s which may also result in a slower opening. I have to admit, I am a little burnt out by black blade coatings. That is why I chose the stonewashed version and I love it. Also the handle shape is pretty much perfect and looks like something Darth Vader or Batman would own. All in all, considering it is made in America and has a CPM-154 steel blade, I think it is a great value in an auto. Also I grabbed mine on sale for $89.95! One caveat: it could have come sharper but took less than a minute to correct that issue.
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy J
Deerfield beach Florida
Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Ready to get the job done
Great knife can't see or fine anything wrong with it .
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr.Montoya
somewhere else
Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
I love it
Hello!!!!🔪
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
South Carolina
Oct 21, 2019
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Excellent knife for the $$$
Have had aby. 1 year no problems of any kind. Larger, heavy duty knife will get the job done.If needed for personal protection will hold up to the job. Confident and satisfied with product! EDC
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
United States
Jul 24, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Has a problem
I received one of these yesterday. It's a beautiful knife but...on about one in five opens the blade doesn't lock. After some experimenting the problem seems to occur more frequently when holding the knife tightly vs holding it a little loosely during the open. This tells me that the problem is occurring due to bouncing back from the open position before the locking mechanism can engage (all of this taking place in milliseconds). Has anyone else noticed this and is there a fix? I did see a review elsewhere of someone stating the same problem.
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff S
Wittmann, Az
Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Reliable after break in - Not bad for the price
Ugg...blade bounce. First opening right out of the box locked up just fine, then the bounce started and continued. I oiled the button internally and short cycled it for about 20 mins, finally broke in and started locking up reliably. There is gritty feel to the button action as it friction slides past the blade knuckle, but this is really only noticeable during the short cycles. During regular full openings the button feels just fine. Pretty sharp right out of the box and overall fit and finish seems really good for a $100 (discounted) knife. This would easily be a five star knife, and I was really hoping for Made in USA to shine, but alas 4 out of 5 for the blade bounce.
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert C.
Boston, MA
Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Needs some tweaking...
I recently purchased the Kershaw Launch 6 and I really like the size, materials, light weight, and blade design. However, Kershaw needs to go back to the drawing board and fix the push button opener. Because it functions horribly! When the blade is in the folded position, the push button is super gritty and easily sticks half way through the push if you don't use enough pressure. Of course hard pressure will always open the knife, but it's not right, and it's far from the smooth feel of any other auto I've owned! The problem is they didn't machine and polish the rounded area on the blade where the button rests in the closed position. Pushing the button to fold the blade is very smooth as there's no pressure on the button when the blade is extended. I would have given this a higher rating if it functioned properly, but as it stands from the factory, it's barely pushing 4 stars...
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian
Lubbock TX
Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Blade Bounce
Very nice knife, I'm very impressed with fit and finish. One small issue though is that the blade doesn't always lock when fired. It opens so quickly that it often hits the blade stop and bounces back slightly before you can release the button. I disassembled the knife to see just how hard it would be to re-clock the spring to keep tension through the entire blade travel, then quickly determined that was more than I wanted to do and I reassembled the knife. I tightened the center pivot screw just a bit more than it was at the factory and that seems to provide just enough drag to get the blade to lock open every time without bouncing. I've fired it a few hundred times since then and I can't get it to fail to lock unless there is an obstacle preventing blade travel. So, to everyone complaining of bounce, just get you a t6 torx and tighten the pivot ever so slightly.
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jtb
Iowa
Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
One of my favorites
I use this knife for every day use. I have a day job and own an acreage with horses. This knife gets regular use and I regularly sharpen it with the Spyderco Tri-angle Sharpmaker. Solid lock up, easy to keep an edge and reliable action make it my new favorite folder. Do not lube the action. Run it dry and let it break in unless you want action failure.
Kershaw 7800BLK Launch 6 AUTO Folding Knife 3.75" CPM-154 Black DLC Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bill W
Arizona
Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Kershaw 7800BKL 6 Auto
Elegant auto but had trouble with the blade bounce. It doesn't open fully all the time. I was very disgusted. I took off the pocket clip and for some odd reason, that did the trick. Now it opens all the time and I didn't really need the pocket clip anyway. It does not have any safety on it so that could be an issue opening in your pocket etc. I like Kershaw knifes but this one may be something I return if any more trouble with bounce.