Reviews and Ratings for Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle

Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handlerated 4.75 stars out of 5 (12.0 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8 inch Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle

 

Price: $184.95

Save $47.05 (20%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian H
Kentucky
May 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality, Construction
Cons: None

Razor Sharp!

I use this as my primary knife at home and work. Its beautiful, functional and very sharp out of the box.
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mick
Duluth,MN
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle

Sweet knife, beautiful, sharp as all he**!
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brad R
Sydney, Aus
Jul 01, 2012
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Slicer

My first thoughts on using this blade were that my onions had gone rotten. It cut through like they ripe banana. It is a stunning blade that cuts as well as it looks. It's no heavy duty knife but out-slices any of my other quality chefs knives. Highly recommended!
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dmitri
Moscow, Russia
Aug 04, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality, None
Cons: Construction, Durability
I bought 6 and 8" Premier chef's knives. 8" was on sale and was cheaper than 6". In fact 8" does all the job for 6-8" chef's knives. It's lightweight, razor-sharp, cuts everything almost like a butter. I used Chef's Choice Pronto Manual Diamond Hone Asian Knife Sharpener Model 463 to sharpen the knife and it worked excellent for me. The blade came out maybe sharper than original. No need to use clever sharpening tools. However, you don't want to use this knife for cutting bones or anything hard. Use German steel (Zwilling, Wusthoff, etc.). They are more sturdy and you can use them even on porcelain. Shun's edge will crinkle or bend. It's a fantastic knife if you use it wisely.
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kate
VA
Aug 11, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Made believers out of us!

First Shun knife we ever bought, and the best and most versatile chef's knife we've used. Like this so much we're gradually replacing most of our old knives with Shun. Blade sharpness and quality are unparalleled, and the knife is a thing of beauty.
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vladimir
Marthas Vineyard,MA
Jun 24, 2012
Pros: Sharpness, Design
Cons: None

WOW

Great weght and balance
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mick
Duluth
Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Material Quality, Construction, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Well made, sharp as all he**!!!!!
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lars E
Sweden
Oct 13, 2011
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Beautiful and Sharp!

A really good allround chefs knife, its really sharp and handles very well. But the thing i like the most is that it is so beautiful. Performance and beauty perfectly matched. I have not had the need to sharpen it yet, so i can not review the sharpenability. I've also got the Nakiri knife in this set and is equally happy with that. Will buy more pieces further on. As a side note, KnifeCenter has been very nice to deal with, even though im an over seas customer.
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cigaarking
Boca Raton, Fl.
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Material Quality, Design, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife-Great value

I prefer this knife to any of the European knives I have. It is extremely sharp and hopefully will retain its edge without constant resharpening. It is also a very handsome knife-altogether a pleasure to use.
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
J King
Charleston sc
Feb 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None

shun knives are the best

Knife is great. Only one complaint about knife center. When something is back ordered up to a month (xmas time is why i am sure) It would be better to know a projected ship date with out having to call. Still a good company. Will buy again.
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vladimir
Marthas Vineyard,MA
Sep 21, 2012
Pros: Material Quality, Design, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

sharprst knife

great knife
Shun TDM0706 Premier Chef's Knife 8" Hammered Blade, PakkaWood Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Pocahontas
butthurtland
Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Sharpenability, Sharpness, Design, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Construction, Durability

The knife is way to fragile

I used this knife to cut vegetables and met only but by just accidentaly bending the cutting edge a bit with barely any force at all a part of it broke of. Since then the tip and other parts of the knife have broken of by just handling it like a normal knife. So my conclusion is that the knife is sharp as hell and easy to use but it is superthin and fragile so if you're not an experienced knifewielder I would not recommend it.