Reviews and Ratings for Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath - KUK101

Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheathrated 3.625 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
9
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
2
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12 inch Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath

 

Price: $19.95

Save $10.00 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curt
3100 feet
Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Weight
Cons: None

Ccfree

Been using mine well over twenty years to clear tree limbs and heavier bush. This is not a machete it will do the job but a machete will not do a Kukri's job without bending. It will do a small hachets job but not as well. I dare you to hurt it.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Oscar M
Virginia, USA
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Excellent Indian Kukri

I'm a Infantryman in the US Army and this is the perfect tool for my job, in the field or in urban enviroment.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Saroj Kc
Kathmandu, Nepal
May 11, 2020
Pros: Weight
Cons: None

This is not an Indian weapon this called gorkha knife National weapon

We use this weapon at 1st and 2nd world war!this is our national weapon gorkha knife khukuri!
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eddie A
Texas
Aug 28, 2020
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

A Great Value!

Right out of the box I was pleased with what I received. This knife is a tank! The blade is polished but not a mirror polish. There are no blemishes or tooling marks on the blade. It is 1/4 thick steel at the longest part of its spine and tang. It is full tang. Now the edge of the blade is blunt, rounded and smooth. You will need to have a professional put a nice even bevel grind on this blade. The knife came heavily oiled down and I'm guessing its high carbon steel. The wooden scales sit flush to the tang and there are no gaps. There are some minor very small dents in the wood. The finish is nice however. The raised wood in the middle of the handle is a hot spot for your palm. Wear gloves or wrap with some Wilson tape. Overall this is a great Khukri knife. I recommend it.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hephaestus
way below Olympus
May 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness

great for do-it-yourselfers

This is hands down the beefiest khuk you can get for 22 bucks. Mine did NOT come with the karda & chakma utilities, even though the scabbard has two slots for them. My scabbard stinks to high heaven. Smells like mildew. Whatever the leather really is (goat skin?) it's very thin. One of my handle scales is already loose after some fairly light test chopping. The blade came out of the box dull, baby, super dull. Down toward the cho there was a good 1/16" flat where there was supposed to be at least a rough edge. So there, that's how much elegance you get for $22. But the blade is 12" long, 1/4" thick, full tang, and it's tough as nails. If you enjoy doing home mods, this is a fine platform to start with. That's exactly what I bought it for, and in that regard it rates a four. It would've got five if not for the flat spot. It took me a long time with a belt sander to fix that part of the edge. With polishing, new bolt-on handle scales, and a garage custom scabbard, this will be a sweet little camping tool. I cannot overemphasize just how beefy this thing is compared to khuk-shaped machetes.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aravinthan Rp
Karur District, Tamilnadu, India, Other
Jan 03, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Very Happy about the Kukri

I am an frequent shopper at knifecenter.com. I have ordered 5 machete s from knifecenter.com. But this kukri, I got it in India. It's true that the balde is not sharp out of the box. I used a file and spent some 30 to 40 minutes to sharpen it. In the end I got a very sharp and amazing kukri. If you have enough patience to sharpen it, just buy it. It was vefy comfortable to use. Very very thick blade. Very reasonable price. I got the two small knives along with it. But they are very flexible and not that great. Kukri on the other hand is lovely. Apart from the fact that it is not at all sharp, it will be a good buy.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed S
Clovis, New Mexico.
Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Great project

This my second Khuhkri knife the other I have had for nearly 16 years. The Khuhkri is an ethnic blade in which the design has been perfected and passed down since the beginning of the iron age. The knife does not come sharp and care must be taken to maintain the bevel angle as it changes along the length of the blade becoming much wider at the throat. The blade is good high carbon probably spring steel and takes a good edge. The Khuhkri also comes with two smaller knives which I understand are actually burnishers and intended to help maintain and already sharp knife. The pockets on my new sheath are not well formed and barely fit the two secondary knives. I have to force them in and you can hear them break the adhesive holding the goat skin to the wooden liner. I will also need to reduce the height of the wooden ring in the middle of the handle. On the new knife it is much too proud and wears on your hand. On my older Khuhkri it is lower and instills confidence as it improves your grip on the blade. I know there are some real high tech Khuhkri type blades out there but I just do not think they can match the almost anachronistic/ archaic feeling you get when holding and using these blades. Like I said the design itself was most likely developed in the Iron age. It is like holding a little piece of history. Also,the Khuhkri is much more substantial than most machetes'.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Glendale, Wi
Dec 26, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None

Inexpensive, yes; cheap, no

The stainless steel blade was lightly marked "Pakistan". The country of origin stamp wiped away by the time I had sharpened the blade. -1 star. I appreciated the non-edge; most of the edge was a 1/8" flat. After only an hour with files and 1" belt sander I had the profile I wanted. I haven't finished with the final sharpening yet. The chakmak and karda were indistguishable and unuseable. They are fettled now after some more file and sander work. The sheath is better than I expected. The stitching is tight. The brass tip is substantial. The added-on leatherette belt loop is potentially functional. The belt loop's rivets are below the balance point of the filled sheath. That is, the sheath is top-heavy. Some #36 bank line wrapped throught the belt loop prevented the sheath from flopping about and dumping things out. The handles, kukri, chakmak, and karda, are beautifully ugly. Pure function, no glitz. The quality is par for the price and that is not a complaint. This is an inexpensive tool, not a cheap tool.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Oscar M
Haymarket, Virginia, USA
Apr 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Kukri knife

Camping, Army training, defense, etc.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jarhead Tileguy
toledo oh
Oct 07, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness

beefy blade

nice looking kukri, heavy thick blade but not real high quality steel, kinda soft for keeping an edge but real easy to sharpen, came with 2 little knives in the handle, and the sheath is well made and the blade fits in it real snug, not a bad knife for the price, better wall hanger than woodshed knife
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
Georgia
Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None

Amazing for price

I gave this blade to a friend as a gift, he constantly tells me of how much of a great knife it is. They didn't show this in the order, but it comes with two smaller blades used to sharpen and maintain the larger one.Only problem with this is that the blade does not come sharpened, and neither do the smaller ones. So prepare for a lot of sharpening, or paying to be professionally done. Over all, amazing buy for the price.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mjt
Houston, TX
Jun 06, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Right Price and Right Design

Have several kukris of differing quality and style, from a British Service Model No. 1 to a G10 handle with a stonewash blade. This is the first one I ever bought, decades ago, for basically the same price from the same manufacturer. The sheath is a little rough around the edges and I threw out the mini-knives which I never used. The raised ridge in the center of the handle gives it a great grip. No rust, not corrosion. Easy in and easy out of the sheath. The price is great. However, if you don't buy this model, make sure you buy one where the end of the handle flares out to keep your hand from sliding off the end of the handle. Or get a handle that brackets either side of your hand to help you keep your grip. If you think you'll start a kukri collection, start with this one.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tanel K.
Tartu 50109 Estonia
Sep 12, 2011
Pros: Materials, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish

chopper

Useful if you wanna cut down a tree, heavy enough to crack some skulls(hopefully i dont need to). Only big minus is the absence of any sharpness waht so ever. But if you put some time into this you´ll get a decent piece of hardware
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dave A.
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, None
It's very thick at 1/4th inch and likely hand made. Metal was highly polished The one I received can't be considered a knife, more like a wall hanger that resembles a kukri. It didn't have any kind of edge and was in fact flat on the edge that was supposed to be sharp. It will require a couple hours of filing and more hours polishing and sharpening by hand to make a usable knife. Metal is also quite soft. Perhaps I just got a bad one.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Eric
Priest River, Id
Jan 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness

Disappointing

The blade is fairly twisted and the sheath is very lacking, you actually cant draw the knife without the sheath coming loose from the belt loop. It is made of some fairly thick steel though.
Indian Kuhkri (Kukri) 12" Blade Wood Handle Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Tony
Australia
Apr 18, 2013
Pros: Finish, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality

Only good as a wall hanger

I would use this as a desk/wall ornament only. The polish on the blade is excellent, but.. The only good thing I can say about it is that the blade is indeed 1/4" thick. Just a shame the edge is so dull. Information from the manufacturer blames Indian export laws for not allowing sharp objects out of the country. Seriously, for a knife company, why even bother? By the way, I purchased mine from a shop in Australia, not Knife Center, but I would NEVER buy another Kukri from the same Indian manufacturer unless they could guarantee a sharp edge along the entire blade.