Reviews and Ratings for Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles

Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handlesrated 5.000 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3 inch S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles

 

Price: $204.00

Save $100.00 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Feb 22, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
EDC tank
Pros: flawless quality, straight razor sharp otb, super smooth flipper, very comfortable handle, love the blade shape, rock solid lockup Cons: None
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Travis
California
Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Superb
Great knife. Everything is evenly spaced and tightly in its positions. Action is smooth. Would buy another.
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sanada
Tokyo
Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
excellent
Very tough and beautiful knife.I am very satisfied.
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
New York
Feb 06, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Just buy it!
Rather than restate them, I will just echo all the other positive reviews. I typically EDC mid- to larger sized folders (Spyderco, WE, BM, Kershaw), and had some hesitation about the overall weight (6oz+) and height of the Sheepdog. Yet, as I suspect is the case for most of us (and per Shabazz), I was drawn to the design as well as the undeniable value relative to materials and Kizer's reputation for fit, finish and action/detente. Bottom line: this is a beautiful beast of a knife, is not overly large (but it's a big'un), cuts like a sword, feels and looks like an engineering marvel, and is just a joy. Love it!
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric B
New Market, Tn
Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very, very well done........
Received my example yesterday and after almost 24 hrs. will say this...... This knife is as high quality as any high mid-range bearing pivot folder on the market. And that is saying a lot in the $200.00 to $400.00 production price range. Because that range is innundated with fantastic folders. I can only speak for my example but it is exemplary. Every aspect of this knife is nearly flawless. Fit and finish is 99.999999% perfect. It is smooth as butter in form and function. The uniform bead blast finish feels fantastic and is perfectly uniform. The over-all design aesthetic is pleasing and homogeneous. The handle and blade design really work toger. I think it is one of the best looking folding cleavers on the market. The tumbled blade looks great. All of the grinds are even. I would say the edge quality is very sharp and acceptably even. Not perfect but very good factory quality. Best of all the blade profile is fun. It is very seldom when you find a knife with a design feature that just makes you want to look at it. For me this blade profile and grind are exciting. And I don't consider myself a folding cleaver person. Between the fantastic design and smoothness this knife has a lot going for it. ** Action/ detent/lockup/centering ** All are perfect. The action is hydraulic smooth (after cleaning). Closing it is free fall smooth. Definitely keep your fingers out of the path of the closing blade. Detent on my example is perfect. Firm and crisp, generating plenty of snappy energy to open this big 'ol blade. It rivals my ZT 0452CF, which is well known to be a snappy flipper. You really feel this energy with the Sheep Dog. The blade has so much mass and is moved so well it generates some movement in your hand. Almost like a strong, side opening auto. It is a blast to flip. Lock up is early and firm in every direction. No lock stick at all. Lock bar tension is spot on for efficiency and ease of use. Centering in the closed position is perfect to my eyes. With reading glasses added to confirm. I will close by saying this. I compared this knife to a Crawford custom Kasper folder that I had Pat and Wes make for me in 2008. It is also a Ti frame lock with an all over bead blast finish. Forgetting about the mechanical differences. If we focus on fit/finish/action/design execution this knife is 99.9999% equal to my custom Kasper. That is a serious level of quality and refinement in a factory produced knife. That is how good my example is. I feel like it was a steal at $204.00 Cons: The only down side to this knife was one common to many knife manufacturers. The pivot was unacceptably gritty for this price/performance level. As smooth as it was out of the box, you could hear how dirty it was. I assume that Kizer does not use a separate and 100% clean assembly area. This knife still had quite a bit of assembly/manufacturing dust in it. Nothing that a quick cleaning wouldn't fix. A little hot water, some hand soap and a soft bristled brush did the job in minutes. After a thorough drying and two drops of my favorite pivot oil the knife was exponentially smoother. It feels hydraulic and is silent. Not a big deal and grudgingly acceptable at this price point. But on an otherwise perfect knife it should be considered a flaw.
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron S
Mount Pleasant, Sc
Nov 03, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome, But Know What You're Buying
Every feature of this knife is a work of art both in form and function, from the masterfully crafted, stonewashed S35VN blade to the beautifully subtle, supremely comfortable ergonomics of the titanium handle to the brilliantly simple, effective, comfortable, and attractive pocket clip. Lock up is solid as a rock and and deployment is buttery smooth. And I have to mention how nicely the anodized blue of the washer around the pivot screw pops, really adding an extra dose of class to the whole design. There's absolutely nothing wrong with this knife as it was designed and you'll love it with all your heart as long as you're aware of what you're buying. I say that because I've seen reviews about the Sheepdog knives (both the Kizer and the custom offerings that inspired it) that bemoan it's lack of smooth and versatile piercing capability. To which most of us would respond, "no duh," since a quick look at even the pictures shows us that this design isn't exactly set up for that. Cleavers aren't known for being great stabbers, but there may be those who simply aren't familiar enough with blade shapes and their various functions to understand what exactly they're looking at, buy it because it looks really cool, and then regret their purchase when it doesn't meet their needs. So for those folks, I have to say that this isn't the most practical knife for EDC (although it does handle most average Joe utility tasks very well) and while it could be used in a combat scenario (anything can be a weapon with some thought and the proper amount of force, after all) it would certainly be less than ideal, as slashes would work great but stabs would be unlikely to render any useful amount of penetration. If those points are of utmost importance to you then look elsewhere. If, however, you're a fan of beautifully designed knives, don't anticipate having to do painfully intricate work with the razor tip of a very thin blade, and don't feel the need to constantly be equipped with a reliable method of stabbing muggers and zombies, then you need to own this knife.
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharpandy
Los Angeles
Sep 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Just a great framelock flipper. For $200!
This knife follows the Bob Lovelace rule that the only sharp corner or edge on a knife is the edge. This handle gas a "melted" feel, like an old bar of soap. All smooth, but well contoured so it's solid in the hand. Handle could be slightly longer and I have medium width hands. Wharncliff with a wide grind, very shatp. I'm a wharny fan, probably have 150 of them. This is a good one, like a $200 direware (my fave). Tight, solid, sharp, fast flipping, comfortable, affordable, not too heavy. So not a gentleman's knife. Not afraid to take it out and really go to town. Been edc'ING this for weeks, great knife, especially for the price. These newer midterms are anazing. A $750 knife for $200. Yeah!
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Casey S
Wichita, Ks
Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Just love it
Just a cool look and really does work well for edc not that I use it everyday but you could and the action is better then some of my mid techs for 200 can't beat it.
Kizer Cutlery Ki4488 Sheepdog Knives Chris Conaway c01c Flipper 3.3" S35VN Sheepsfoot Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Deewaynehellyeah
Alabama
Jun 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The best knife I have owned
The craftsmanship is great, It feels great and smooth operation, Feels balanced and strong. It is a fun knife when being used gets a fun reaction. Dang! you're carrying a meat cleaver! Once day I would like to get a one off from the creator SheepDog, but until then this is a great buy! Only thing I have encountered is the edge chips slightly if not kept sharp.