Reviews and Ratings for Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool

Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Toolrated 4.4 stars out of 5 (25.0 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool

 

Price: $59.95

View Product Details
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronald F
Creswell Oregon
Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Included Tools
Cons: None
Just Like Leatherman Tools.Made in oregon, Made in the Usa,
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Auburn WA
Jun 07, 2016
Pros: Locking, Overall Quality, Included Tools
Cons: None

Used every day

This lives in my tool bag at work and gets used every day. I like how I can take it with me to tinker with a mechanical problem without having to drag my bulky tool bag along with me. I carry it with me when doing walkarounds and inspections to do quick little repairs like change light bulbs or tighten screws. I feel naked without it.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Aust
Dec 30, 2011
Pros: Finish, Included Tools, Overall Quality, Locking, Materials
Cons: None

Great value for money

Great multi-tool for pocket carry with the usual Leatherman quality. Blade and scissors open from the outside and lock into place. Internal tools have a good solid detent.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Aust
Dec 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Excellent value for money

I just brought this one as a cheap spare, but it's the same quality as other Leathermans and got the range of tools to make it a permanent fixture in my car. The scissors and the blade can be opened without opening the tool up, and they both lock in place. The other tools (can opener, file, screwdrivers, tape cutter) don't lock in place, but there is a good strong detent. Another great Leatherman product.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rabidrex
Wyoming
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Included Tools
Cons: None
The tool is GREAT Bit the Wingman video really sucks. A waste of time for sure.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny Ad
Kissimmee, FL
Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Locking, Finish, Overall Quality, Included Tools
Cons: None
This is an amazing tool that you can carry to everywhere and there is lightweight and not too big that you can carry in the pocket.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt E
MARIETTA OHIO
Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Included Tools, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Locking, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

BOUGHT AT CABELIAS IN JANUARY 2013

BOUGHT THIS IN JANUARY 2013 TO USE AS A WORK KNIFE CAUSE I WORK FOR A MOWING SERVICE AND IT HAS HELPED US OUT MORE THAN ONCE. THIS IS MY SECONED LEATHERMAN TOOL MY FIRST BEING THE KICK BACK IN 2005. WHEN I BOUGHT THE WINGMAN IN JANUARY 2013 I GAVE MY LEATHERMAN KICK TO MY UNCLE SO HE COULD HAVE IT TO USE BEING MY COUSIN RACES MOTORCROSS. GETTING READY TO ORDER A NEW LEATHERMAN TOOL TO KEEP IN MY HUNTING BACKPACK TO USE INCASE I NEED IT WHILE HUNTING.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Cleveland Ohio
Nov 08, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great Knife

This is the best overall Leatherman I own. The fact it was less than $40 was a bonus. while the finish is less than the normal leatherman, it is just that, a finish. The overall quality seems on par with my other leatherman tools (I have ones back to '86..)
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hodor
Sweden
May 14, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Included Tools
Cons: None

All you need.

Im a chef, and I have owned a Wingman for about two years now. It follows me where ever I go. In my work I use it to open boxes and and stuff, and to fix the blenders, freezers, the coffee machine (!) and so on. I also use for hand hygiene which is very important in a kitchen, in fact the tools I use the most are the clippers and the file. The quality is great. If I could change one thing it would be to remove the box opener and replace it with an awl, because the knife does the same job better and is more easily accessible.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billybones
GLEN BURNIE.MD
Nov 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Locking, Finish, Overall Quality, Included Tools
Cons: None

VERY NICE

THE POCKET CLIP IS VERY USEFUL,THE LOCKING KNIFE BLADE IS EXCELLENT,THE SCISSORS ARE OUTSTANDING
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric C
Fort Smith, AR
Feb 08, 2015
Pros: Finish, Included Tools, Overall Quality, Locking, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Tool

I am Head of Maintenance at a large metal recycling company. I routinely work on an incredibly diverse range of equipment. I maintain everything from Leibherr 924 Cranes to Can Separators, Forklifts to Fan Forced Heaters. This tool has proven to be indispensable in my line of work due to its small size and quality materials. Would strongly recommend this tool to anyone that works in tight spaces.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lanny R
California
Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Locking, Finish, Overall Quality, Included Tools
Cons: None

It's just right for my needs!!!

The sissiors don't work as good as I hoped but I don't use them very often!
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris P.
Goldendale, Wa
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Locking, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Included Tools

I like it

I received a Leatherman Wingman for Christmas. I'm very impressed with it so far. The sprung jaws are great. The knife blade and scissors are nice and sharp. The build quality is very good as well. The size is a perfect compromise between usability and pocket-ability. While I do like most of the tools that were included, I wish that they would have included a bottle opener instead of a package opener. The Can opener does work for opening bottles but not as well as my sak. The only other gripe I have is with the blade steel. 420HC is not the best steel for a knife blade, but for me it's not a big deal since I always carry another knife anyway. So in short, great quality, great size, good tools.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Marietta Ohio
Aug 23, 2020
Pros: Included Tools, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Locking, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Bought mine in January 2013

The wingman has been a great tool I’ve had mine since January 2013 and have never had any problems with it at all. I have two and the wingman now has a permanent home in my hunting backpack all the time and I get it out as I need it. I went bought a new one in June 2018 that way have one every day carry and one for the hunting backpack.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kassandra C.
Marietta, OH
Nov 14, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very pleased! :)

I actually bought this Leatherman as a gift for my boyfriend. He really loves all Leatherman products and owns many others. He appreciated the pocket clip and the spring action feature. 10 out of 10.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
GA
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

great econo tool

great for the money, very handy, sharp knife, great plyers...
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert B.
Ocklawaha, FL
Aug 09, 2013
Pros: Locking, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material

Great Pliers

Pliers provide a strong grip. Knife blade is sharp and easy to access. Could use a spring for the scissors. 4
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve
Poconos
Dec 27, 2011
Pros: Finish, Materials, Included Tools
Cons: Overall Quality, None

nice tool but..........

Very nice, handy tool, however opening the knife blade with one hand is difficult. The relief at the thumb opening is not cut deep enough to give your thumb the grip it needs. This is much like the original Wave model that was later changed for the same reason. Can't understand how Leatherman could make the same mistake again.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sleepy
Portland, OR
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Locking, Finish, Included Tools
Cons: None

Not quite right for me but may be perfect for you

This is a slightly reduced-size version of the standard "Wave" style Leatherman. I'm always looking for something that will give me scissors+blade+philips+slotted yet still fit in my pocket. This is at the large end for pocket carry and yet the blade is a little on the small side. I probably would do better with a Leatherman Juice. On the plus side, the scissors are better (and larger) than the usual inside-the-handle variety.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Boise
Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Locking, Materials, Included Tools
Cons: None

Most Useful EDC of all

I use this multi-tool every day! It has my three most used tools (blade, scissors, and pliers) on the outside for easy access. The scissors are large and sharp! The Wingman is light and slim, so it's very easy to use as an everyday carry. I have many knives and multi-tools, but I find myself carrying this one the most. I don't think you can go wrong with it.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chad B.
Harrodsburg, KY
Feb 01, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Included Tools
Cons: None

Great Tool

Have many leathermen tools, this is a great pocket tool that has many uses.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jay C.
S.A. Texas
Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Locking, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, Finish, None

Musician's Best friend.

I really like this MT. The blade is a good shape for E.D.C. and comes pretty sharp. over all great M.T. Spring loaded pliers can not be beat. USA made Very good if you are a musician. But The blade was stone washed before the grind and edge where put on it so it seems very unfinished. Same goes foe the flat screw driver. the pocket clip has some side to side play but nothing major. But still very happy with the function of the M.T. and the awesome price point.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sander
The Netherlands
Nov 18, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Locking, Included Tools

Cheap in price an quality

The material is almost decent, but the finishing of the tools is bad. The screwdrivers are barely usable. The can opener/bottle opener is hard to use for a bottle. The scissor gets stuck sometimes and you need another tool to get it out again. The lock for the scissor doesn't work easily. The clip is easily bend and hard to get back on. The knife is good and the knife lock is good. The spring to open the pliers is handy and decent.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 3 stars out of 5
Long Term Leatherman Fan
Upstate New York
Nov 18, 2011
Pros: Included Tools, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish

Not up to Leatherman Standards

From any other maker, this would be a decent multi-tool. But this is supposed to be a Leatherman. And by their standards, the quality just doesn't match up. The grooving on the needle-nose pliers is very coarse, and cast rather than machined. The wire-cutters do not shear--unlike every other Leatherman wire-cutters, the blades of this one do not cross each other to make a scissor action, they just touch to make a pinching action (so even when fully closed, you can see light between the cutters). The scissors are made of very light sheet-metal. The flat screw-driver is the first one I have ever seen from Leatherman that is not properly ground to a real squared-off tip. There are some good ideas--I like the spring-open spring on the pliers, and hope that will be implemented on other Leathermen. I like the package-cutter hook, in principle, though it would be far handier if it were a ready-access item rather than unfolding from the inside of the handle. They are good ideas. They just need better implementation. Let me say that I have bought and owned at least a dozen Leatherman tools over many years--like, starting when they only had one model in the line-up. I love Leatherman, and I think they are still the top manufacturer of multi-tools. I also think that this is a pretty good bargain, at $25.00 a pop. I bet no other full-sized Leatherman has ever been this cheap. So it looks like they decided that they wanted to go after the lower-priced market, and this is their entry. And maybe you can't blame them for trying to capture that market as well. And they didn't do too badly: compared to other cut-rate multi-tools, it's pretty darned good. But compared to a Leatherman, it's a disappointment. If I were Tim Leatherman, I would be more careful of my good name. I'd hate to see them lose their reputation for being absolutely the best.
Leatherman 831426 Wingman Pocket-Size Multi-Tool
rated 1 stars out of 5
Geoff
South Africa
Feb 06, 2015
Pros: Included Tools, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials

Junk

I bought this mostly for fishing and was initially very happy with it. It has only one useless tool (the box opener), and is nice and compact, if not very light. However after less than 3 months at the coast it rusted badly, and the scissor spring broke. The least I'd expect from a product that costs 5 times as much as the cheaper ones is that it would be made from high-quality steel. It's not, and it's the last Leatherman I'll ever buy.