Reviews and Ratings for Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles - LKN222

Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.615 stars out of 5 (13.0 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4 inch Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $32.95

Save $21.04 (39%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Granite Bay, CA
Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

STORE AND PRODUCT

Love the size and quality of this knife…the perfect large folder for any situation.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern, WI , via Estonia
Nov 06, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None

Stout Tactical Knife

This is a stout tactical knife. The thumb studs are merely present to work as stops for the blade. It can be opened using the thumb cutout in the blade, yet the easiest way is the flipper and a flick of the wrist. this is a stout piece of steel meant to do work. Tactical does not equate to "fighting knife". While this knife certainly may be used in self defense, it will really shine opening boxes and crates and camp chores etc. One thing I noticed is my particular knife the blade is labeled 440C steel As opposed to the noted Sandvik. No worries as 440c is a very usable steel. I do have other knives with the Sandvik steel and have come to appreciate this steel. Good work knife over-all and recommend it for anyone looking for a sturdy EDC.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stitch
Grand Island, Nebraska
May 26, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

High Value!!!

I added this to my tactical collection, and for the price, there is none better on the market, unless it is hand-made. I really like the design, fit, ergonomics, appearance and materials used. I have large hands, and this one fits me perfectly. I also really like the liner-lock, not being a fan of the frame-lock designs. For the value that this knife is, you really have no excuse for not owning one!!
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
B Butler
TN
May 06, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Rock Solid

Great knife for the money fit and finish are great in general but surprisingly so for the price point. Razor sharp out the box. Very solid lock up no blade play at all. The flipper action is surprisingly smooth for it not to have a ball bearing pivot I think it is partly due to the weight of the blade. Feels good in hand no hot spots even comfortable I reverse grip. I wear medium sized gloves and it fits my hand great but has enough room for large hands as well. This thing is hefty at around 9 oz but well balanced. I also bought the smaller version it is lighter and very sharp but the actions is gritty and the handle is slick. If you can live with the weight and the price difference I would definitely get this version.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Muldrow, Ok
Apr 23, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Hoss of a knife

Just got this knife today, Sandvik 12C27, it's big but so are all chores at home, in the woods or while I'm out mowing. I like everything about this knife and echo all the positive things said here. I find no negative features in my opinion, robust, yes, plenty sharp, you bet and now it is clipped to my pocket, though I did reverse the pocket clip, just suits me better that way. Thanks Knifecenter for quick delivery and a fine tool.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Edmonton
Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Lock Type, None

Chris

Wow, this is an amazing knife for the money. I am very impressed with the overall quality. It's very large and very cool. The flipper and deployment are great. It is very heavy 8.7oz so I just use it around the house. The only negative I can speak of is the liner lock has very little surface contact with the blade. It works but just makes me thing it might wear and then drop past the blade one day. Right now it locks up tight, I might have to buy the 6oz responder now.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern, WI
Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Oops!

My previous review was actually for the same knife with 3-1/4 inch blade. My bad.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stitch
Grand Island, Nebraska
May 23, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Real Winner

These Danes and Swedes really know how to design some snazzy cutting tools! I'm a "customer friend" of Jens Anso, and now will be one of Mikkel Willumsen. For the money, you won't find a better value on the market. You may find one or two that come close, but the design, ergonomics, materials used, appearance and sharpness can't be beat for the price we pay here! I'm seriously thinking about buying another one of these "just in case........." I still do not like frame locks, but whenever Jens or Mikkel design one that isn't a frame lock, I'll be in line to buy it! Scandinavia can now be known for something more than beautiful women.................their knives are right up there too!
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon
Dallas
Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent Blade

Excellent Knife for the price. Love the blade design and feel. I have both the Lansky Mikkel Willumsen models. They are great value. Blade steel is really great and thick. Handle scales are also quite thick slabs of G10. Liners are pretty good thickness aswell. I really love this knife. Smooth action and quick using flipper. Cons: Clip was too tight had to loosen it, The thumb studs/stoppers keep getting loose, I tried lock tite, seems to be holding better now. Ive heard that the allen screws used, strip easily. If they fixed these minor issues, this knife it would be out of the park.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Greg T
Portland, TX
Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Pocket Clip

Decent knife

For the price this knife isn't too bad. It is a little on the big side for regular usage, but gets it done. Upon arrival the blade wasn't able to cut hair so I sharpened on the lansky sharpening system. After 3 days or so of breaking down boxes it had to be resharpened. It's a beefy knife, this is from a big guy. I have carried it every day since I bought it and I have very little to complain about it other than blade material. I wanted to try a new blade steel and I guess I am used to vg-10.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bruce
Alaska
Aug 07, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Great Knife to Purchase Value

Though this is a quasi fighting knife design as in it can be used defensively as a karambit, has a scull crusher end to the handle etc I was interested in having a heavy duty folder that had decent leverage xx a good chopper, and an upswept blade for impromptu skinning. So far I had fillet two halibut and one Buck. I was pleasantly surprised by how easily I was able to push through the breast plate of the buck while processing my harvest. I have noticed that the blade which came razor hair skinning sharp is a bit soft and M already seeing nicks along the edge. But it does resharpen quickly. I plan on purchasing a couple more comfortable 4" as well as 3" models for Christmas gifts. At this price I won't cry if I lose it in the field.
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris K
Reading, Pa
Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellent Design & Ergonomics in a Tactical Blade

After being a bit confused with the length representation, my caliper reads 3.97 inches of usable blade length & 4.25 inches from tip to blade pivot screw. The weight & overall robustness is a welcome surprise (unless your trying to hold it in the thinnest of shorts-get a belt). I may wish to lightly round some of the raw edges as I believe they'll chew up my pocket quickly but fit & finish of the G10 scales is some of the finest I've seen at this price point. Thumb stud is awkwardly positioned, blade cutout too sharp but the flipper really propels the large, heavy blade quickly, though not quietly. Imposing almost brutal looks complete this impressive folder
Lansky Mikkel Willumsen Responder X9 Folding 4" Sandvik 12C27 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jay R
Memphis, Tn
Nov 25, 2018
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness

Behold, I Stand At the Knife and Flip

I have this in 440C. It was the first 440C blade that I purchased. I like big knives, but this one feels clunky. The centering is off, but it does not hit the liner. F&F are very good. It opens very poorly. I cannot catch the thumb stud because it is a blade stop. The flipper won't open the knife. If I use the flipper to start the opening and catch the blade stop, it actually opens rather smoothly and quickly. In the knife's defense, I have not taken it apart to clean and lube it. Lock up is good. The liner lock is easy to get out of the way when closing the knife. Between the scales, the ergos, and the jimping, the traction is excellent. I believe that I could hang on to this when covered with blood and/or axle grease. It was not terribly sharp OOTB. My main reason in purchasing this was that I wanted a 440C blade. I am not wild about this knife, but there is nothing really that made me want to send it back. I'm not sorry to have purchased it. Sadly, it sits with others in my drawer. If and when it responds wonderfully to some TLC, I can see it getting a bit of PT.