Reviews and Ratings for Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder - S1000

Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holderrated 4.7 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder

 

Price: $11.99

View Product Details
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael H
Petal, MS
May 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome superfine stone.

The stone feels like glass, so after you do your regular sharpening, you go over it with the super fine yellow stone with your Lansky, and you cant imagine how sharp it gets your knives. (you really have to learn new ways to handle your knives or they will cut you. Nothing better than a razor sharp knife!!!!!
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evanthis
Larnaca, Other
May 14, 2018
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

LITTLE TO SAY

Fine product. Little to say about it. Very functional and effective for me, a newcomer in the art of knife sharpening. Thank you KC for your service
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim S.
Bethesda, MD
Sep 06, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Puts the perfect finish on diamond honed blades.
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Michigan
May 26, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Smooth

Was going from fine diamond 600 to blue sapphire 2000. Adding the 1000 grit in between made a much better edge. Now I'm getting a great edge. I took a mini griptilian to 17 degrees on my lansky and now it's a freaking laser beam.
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael H
Petal, MS
May 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome superfine stone.

The stone feels like glass, so after you do your regular sharpening, you go over it with the super fine yellow stone with your Lansky, and you cant imagine how sharp it gets your knives. (you really have to learn new ways to handle your knives or they will cut you. Nothing better than a razor sharp knife!!!!!
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tanino Liberatore
Paris, France
Jun 12, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Mirror edge and keep the control

When well used, this 1200 grit stone burn litterally the flats of edge and allows a real mirror finish. Spectacular with 20 degrees on blackened blades ! I end the job with few movement with only the weight of the stone. Upgrading to the sapphire blue stone is a personal choice, i finish with 2 leathers and obtain great sharpness. Surprisingly, the lansky system work fine with modern supersteel as aogami, s35vn, zdp 189. The time you lconsume not using diamond , from my opinion, is in fact usefull to control the exact amount of metal you remove. Great system and the stone you need.
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Girevikdavid
Oakland, Oregon
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Super Fine

A must for finishing the job. See my review for the diamond pro kit.
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Arizona
Apr 03, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice finishing stone

I have owned my Lansky sharpening kit for many years. I am now retired from the U.S. Army, where my knives that I carried out on every mission had to be sharp for obvious reasons. I own about 30 knives and primarily used 3 at all times. Sharpening them had to be fast and thorough. With the kit, I can get each one sharp quickly. With this stone in particular, the final step was quick, and perfect every time. I like this stone for quick polishing finish, without a strop, as time was of the essence. I would recommend this stone to anyone with the kit, that would like a polished, strop-like finish.
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 4 stars out of 5
Axel Bell
Switzerland
Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Nice for super steel like 3G steel, 204P, VG10 & S30V.

My EDC (3G steel, CTS-204P, VG10 and CPM S30V) are very sharp with this stone. But the screw is from poor quality.
Lansky Ultra Fine Sharpening Hone - Yellow Holder
rated 3 stars out of 5
Oldfox
Hong Kong
May 14, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Disappointed

It works, but the stone itself like my Sapphire stone, has some visible deep scratches on the surface and I am not sure if that would affect the polishing. However, I am too far away in Hong Kong making replacement impossible. Anyway, it is too coarse and the finish edge is very capable and catchy but still too rough. I need to finish it in the sharpmaker UF rods.