Reviews and Ratings for Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle - MR701SB

Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handlerated 3.667 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
1
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75 inch Overall, American Hickory Handle

 

Price: $25.95

Save $10.00 (28%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Boomer
Clyde NC
Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Camp axe
Very nice axe. Clean. Fine workmanship. Use for small wood jobs.
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don N
HOT SPRINGS AR
Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
saw a clip on utube about the axe it was everything I expected. I am looking at a large knife and am sure I can fine it at KnifeCenter
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce S
The Old Rice Hotel, Houston
Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Construction, Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
Could there be a better axe for this price.... NO!!!!! I love it, Thanks Knife Center!!!
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim Chin
Chicsgo
Apr 26, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
I brought two of these axes, one feell made axe for th4 money!
. This axe was hard to find, so I brought two of tgem, one for my son and one for me!the only thing was tgat you had to profile the axe to uour liking, the factiry grind was not aharp, but it was very sgarp when I sharpened it, this a very well made axe for the money!
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eoin
Ireland
Feb 22, 2018
Pros: Balance
Cons: None
Very Happy
Axe seems excellent value for money. Well balanced. Nice to use but it will take a bit of work to have it sharp sharp.
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim R
Syracuse
Mar 06, 2015
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Upstate camper
Axe is a substantial tool, which I can use with one hand (or two) - important to a 67 year old. It came with a keen edge, sharp enough to cut a loose leaf sheet held by the corner. I would have given it a 5 but it doesn't come with a sheath (but at this price that's not really a complaint. It's a really nice little axe. The order was shipped securely and quickly.
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ryan
Hubbardston, Ma
Oct 22, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Good axe
For the money, decent axe. Of course I added my own touches to it. Sealed handle with linseed oil, refined the edge etc. but overall great balance and handy for chopping kindling and small chores.
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
William S
Central Illinois
Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Head Material, None
Marbles Camp Ax
I just received one of these. I don`t know if I received a bad one or if they are all like this one. The ax looks great and has a nice handle on it. The problem I had was that I couldn`t get the head to take an edge at all. The steel seemed too soft and it wouldn`t sharpen. I never could get it sharp enough to even cut yourself. The steel kept rolling over. I have read others review and they didn`t have this problem. I may have just gotten a bad one. love the handle and the looks but if it won`t sharpen it`s junk as far as I`m concerned.
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Matt
NY
Jul 03, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Loose Head Occurences
To fix the loose head problem easily without any hard work (and also to help treat it in general) just treat the handle with boiled linseed oil and put it on the very top, and continue to coat the top sticking out of the head. Once there are enough coats to expand the wood a bit outwards, it shouldn't come loose. They are manufactured in a very humid environment then shipped to a very much dryer environment so the wood will contract.
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michael
Marshfield, Wi. USA
Mar 08, 2016
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material, None
Cons: Balance, Weight, Construction, Head Material
Wieght? Cross sectional picture of the blade
Blade thickness has everything to do with bight depth possibilities. How thick is the blade one inch up towards the hafting of the handle from the edge? How heavy it is will determine how much fun it is to pack in and how fast you can move it, how often you want to swing it. I lighter, thinner hatchet sharpens more easily and works longer without fatigue in fine work of the rustic carpenter. Light hatchets may even be used upside down without the threat to the bursa of the elbow. What is your data. As I own a few hatchets from Norlund, defunct, I have weight and thickness preferences. I can't buy one based on data given. Marbles brand name is no longer an indication of engineering.
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chas 3Rd
Michigan
Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Head Material, None
Cons: Construction
loose handle
Havent swung this more than a few ties .. Im reprofiling the handle to put the blade down tighter .. Now all I need is some sort of press to push that da** round wedge in farther. The handle has good orientation and the edge comes nice .
Marble's Camp Axe 15.75" Overall, American Hickory Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jaret
Massachusetts
Feb 04, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Construction
MARBLES NOT THE COMPANY IT ONCE WAS
The axe head came loose from the handle after 5 minutes of use.