Reviews and Ratings for Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle - 7113

Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handlerated 4.333 stars out of 5 (36 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14 inch High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8 inch Handle

 

Price: $17.95

Save $10.00 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Norman L.
London, England in the U.K.
Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
It's a Bar B Que Essential
Summer in England means Bar B Que whenever you can. The food just tastes better somehow. The essential tool for a Bar B Que is a good knife. A friend of mine has owned an Old Hickory Butcher Knife for a few years and I have always wanted one. The Carbon steel blade can be sharpened on almost any stone and you can get a really good edge. Up until now there was always a problem getting one delivered to the U.K. and I could not find anywhere in the U.K. to buy one. The Internet and the Knife Center came to my rescue. Fantastic price and fantastic service. The Knife was delivered before the promised time. I was delighted. The knife is brilliant to use and I would recommend the Knife Center to anyone. Their service exceeded my expectations by some margin.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
James H
Corus Christi, Tx
Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Construction, Durability, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
This is a great knife. Beautiful in its simplicity. Will need to be sharpened but I almost always have to anyway. This is a large knife. Great for large cuts of meat.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kh
VA
Jul 31, 2009
Pros: Design, Construction, Durability
Cons: None
Great knife
This knife is made the "old way" as it has been made for decades. All American made, carbon steel, so it will rust if you leave is wet.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grizzly
Canada
Mar 15, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Awesome knife
Finally found one at knife center. Will be very usefull.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry H
swamps of north florida
Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
14'' OLD HICKORY BUTCHER KNIFE
Love this knife for grilling.it cuts, slices, chops, and can be used as a spatula. these were bought for my sons and son in law to use when they are grilling.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mari A
Elk, WA
Dec 04, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
What a Knife!!
I have had a collection of Old Hickory knives for the last 30-some years and decided it was time to order a larger size. I saw the 14" butcher knife and thought it would work well for cutting larger meats. I sure wasn't disappointed! We do have moose here in Elk, WA, but I was not planning on cutting one up for Sunday dinner..... The Ontario Knife Company lives up to anyone's expectations. The blade is super sharp and the handle, as usual, reads Old Hickory. The tooling on the blade is great. I've always sharpened my own knives and am looking forward to keeping this baby in razor condition. My husband took one quick look at my new knife and said I could have anything I wanted for Christmas (and my birthday, and so on and so forth)! Thanks for a great product, will order from you again.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry M
Grand Junction, Co
Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
This butcher knife is just what I expected from Old Hickory, plain but very functional. This will work well for butchering elk, deer and beef. Because of its size, you can make big cuts without manhandling a quarter. Certainly, you will need a smaller knife to make smaller cuts and dress-out the cuts.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
David D
Ms
Feb 05, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Very Pleased
Just one word describes this knife and its 10 inch brother I received yesterday....MAGNIFICENT!!! I intend to put both of these knives to some serious use around the barbeque as soon as weather permits. Can hardly wait!!!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mds
Central NY
Nov 23, 2012
Pros: Material Quality, Construction, Sharpenability, Design
Cons: None
Love this knife
This is a serious knife! It's huge! I use it mostly out on the BBQ. It's American made and solid as can be. If you are looking for a pretty highly finished piece of cutlery, look at something different. This knife is bare bones, but does what it's supposed to do. I did touch up the edge on it after it arrived, although I'm not sure that was necessarily.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
John B
GALENA, ILL
Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT ONE YEARS AGO
I USE ONLY OLD HICKORY KNIVES. THIS 14 INCH KNIFE IS USD FOR CARVING HAMS AND ROAST AND FOR IMPRESSING THOSE WATCHING ME AT WORK. I DON'T MIND IT BEING DELIVERED ONLY VERY SHARP, I MADE IT RAZOR SHARP. I WAS SO IMPRESSED I JUST ORDERED 2 MORE FOR FAMILY MEMBERS. WHY SPEND A FORTUNE FOR A KNIFE WITH ONLY A FRACTION OFTHE QUALITY AND ONLY A FRACTION OFTHECOOL FACTOR. GET AT LEAST ONE TODAY.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
John B
GALENA, ILLINOIS
Aug 04, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
FABTASIC KNIFE
I LOVE OLD HICKORY KNIVES. THIS IS ME SECOND 14 INCHER. I USE THEM FOR CARVING BEEF ROASTSAND WHOLE HAMS. BUT THEIR SECONDARY USE IS TO IMPRESS THOSE WATCHING ME WORK. QUALITY IS OUTSTANDING. UNDERSTAND THAT THE KNIFE IS CARBON STEEL AND REQUIRES SPECIAL CARE. I'M GONNA INVENTORY MY HICKORY KNIFE COLLECTION AND WILL ORDER WHATEVER I DON'T ALREADY OWN.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mando Mirelez
Clearwater, FL
May 24, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
The perfect kitchen tool
In our kitchen this Old Hickory knife has found a home. My wife and I both agree that it is the most useful knife in our kitchen. Many of our recipes contain meats and veggies The best feature this knife has is the ability to slice paper thin veggies and chop through the toughest bone. It stays sharp and ready for more. We recommend this knife to our family and friends. Mando and Martha M
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kirk
California
Feb 18, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
BBQ Pit Boys Knife!
I use this knife to rule my backyard bbq land. Stir coals, lift grills and holds a fantastic edge. You must have this knife!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rickybobby
Lincoln NE
Jun 20, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Get one. Trust me, you want this knife.
Don't even hesitate. The only big knife/machete/short sword you'll ever need. Forget all the machetes, zombie choppers, and novelty swords that are thrice the price. My Tramontina 14" machete is a joke next to this blade. This is the real deal. Big, sturdy, and SHARP! Good for whatever you need it for: heavy butchering jobs, taking down saplings or bamboo, or repelling boarders aboard your corsair. Perfect for big pizzas, too.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom L
pds wisconsin
Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
14" butcher knife
excellent trimming briskets.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kermit W
Muldrow, Oklahoma
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great knife
I use this large butcher knife for cutting roast or whole cuts of beef.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
David D.
South Mississippi
Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
WOW!!!
Didn't really need a 14" butcher knife, but now that I have it I don't know how I've gotten by so long without one. One has to actually see it to realize just how awesome this thing is! The service at Knife Center is incredible and I do plan on being a repeat customer.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spoon
springfeild mo.
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: Construction, Durability, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Design, None
Cons: Sharpness
super cool
i really like the blade , still trying to put a good edge on it tho
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dustin
Saint louis
Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Best knife for the money
I use this knife for cutting large pieces of meat around the bbq pit. I love this knife! I'm going to purchase the 10 inch next!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fernando
Connecticut
Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Material Quality, Construction, None
Cons: Sharpness, Design
Beastly
Yes, it doesn't come with a sheath ( it's not really meant to have one after all, it's a butcher knife ). Yes, it doesn't come exceedingly sharpened ( I personally didn't mind this ). Yes, the handle is blocky ( I've got big, meaty hands so this doesn't really bother me either ). Yes, it's 1095 carbon steel, which means it will rust if you leave it wet ( I don't plant on using this knife for any sort of outdoors tasks ). But when push comes to shove, the knife is worth every penny. Put in the work in making it work right for you ( customize it and / or sand the handle, etc ), and you'll have big, mean beast of a knife anybody would be proud to own. This thing is made to go through flesh and bone ( butcher knife, duh ). Use it to take down large animal carcasses, like it was intended, or use it as a home defense blade ( you could easily take off whole limbs with this thing if you use it right and somebody would have to be armed with a gun or just plain stupid to attack you while holding it ). Need a go-to budget melee weapon for the zombie apocalypse? This is all you need right here...
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mando Mirelez
Clearwater, FL
May 24, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
The perfect kitchen tool
In our kitchen this Old Hickory knife has found a home. My wife and I both agree that it is the most useful knife in our kitchen. Many of our recipes contain meats and veggies The best feature this knife has is the ability to slice paper thin veggies and chop through the toughest bone. It stays sharp and ready for more. We recommend this knife to our family and friends. Mando and Martha M
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Long Island
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
I love it!
Mind you this is not a fancy butcher knife, it's rough and crude. Perfect for chopping through bone and slicing through thick roasts and watermelon. It holds a razor sharp edge. I love it!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mitchy73
Nampa , Idaho
Jan 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Material Quality, Construction
Cons: None
My Old Hickory 14" butcher knife
My only disappointment is the fact that "Old Hickory" isn't stamped into the handle anymore.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed
Wisconsin
Dec 10, 2011
Pros: Material Quality, Durability, Sharpenability, Construction
Cons: None
Big, Cheap, and Magnificent
A whopping big knife, made like they have been forever. The roll-stamping pattern ends and restarts abruptly partway down the blade, at first I found this distracting but after I sharpened the knife and made short work of the Thanksgiving ham, I forgot all about this esthetic concern. These are robust tools (I have one of their boning knives also) and will likely get a few more. It took some sharpening effort (which I enjoy) and now has and is holding a very sharp edge. Carbon steel rules.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scott
Arizona
Dec 11, 2011
Pros: Design, Durability, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
A monster of a knife!
This is more the size of a machete than a typical kitchen knife, which is fine by me. Just be prepared if you've never seen one in the "flesh." Old Hickory knives are about as basic as you can get: good old fashioned 1095 carbon steel blade, hardwood handle scales, and a couple brass rivets. That's it. They are a bit crude, yet elegant in their simplicity, extremely functional, and very affordable. Two common issues that kept me from giving this ( and Old Hickory in general) a 5 are A) These blades more often than not need sharpening upon receipt and B) You'll occasionally get one with a loose rivet. Both are easy to fix for a dedicated knife lover with a few simple tools but will likely be a turnoff for those who just need a knife but aren't really "knife people." In all, these are fantastic, and I hope Ontario keeps them in their catalog for years to come.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paul D.
Atlanta
Jan 03, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Sharpness
Butcher knife
Used for outdoor grilling. Has traditional "old school" look about it. A little on the large side!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Leready
Edmonton,AB
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Construction, Durability
Cons: None
Useful in all gardening things
A great knife to cut weeds,vines and anything else.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hunt
Grants Pass, OR
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Durability, Sharpenability, None
Cons: Design, Sharpness
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon
I use this 14" blade for processing meat on my farm. The handle could use a bit of shaping to more ergonomically fit my hand, but that is something very personal to each person, and I expect to customize that myself. The knife was pretty dull on arrival; of the 14" blade only about 3" were sharp. But this type of steel is easily sharpened - much more so than my stainless steel blades.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don J
Stoney Creek Ont
Apr 05, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpness, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Knife used on a limited basis pleased with it so far
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
The Netherlands
Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Serious knife
I ordered this huge knife together with the 10 inch butcher knife. It came in today to The Netherlands. I really love these knives. Old Hickory knives are more basic then the German Robert Herder knives. Further, they are comparable with Robert Herder. The difference is the price. Old Hickory is just one tenth of the price from Herder knives. The shipping fee to Holland was more expensive then the two knives together. It doesn't mather, still cheap for these beauties. They came in sharp. I finished them razor sharp on wet stones. Thanks Knife Center for the quick delivery.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sergio
ITALY
Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Sharpenability, Design, Construction
Cons: None
It actually is as it looks
More than a butcher knife it looks like a machete: be sure that cutting some ribs slabs in front of your friends with such a knife is an impressive show.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Marco
milan, italy
Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Design, None
Cons: Sharpness
marco italy
nice knife
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
David
Sacramento, CA
Oct 08, 2015
Pros: Material Quality, Construction, None
Cons: Sharpness
A Good Knife that Requires Moderate Tweaking
I plan to use this while camping. The price is great. The material is great. But the grind is uneven, and the blade not sharpened. I did not expect the blade to be hair-shaving sharp. I did not expect the blade to require file touch to make it sharp. Shipping and delivery was on time.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joe
Raleigh , NC
Apr 04, 2011
Pros: Design, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: Sharpness, None
Carbon steel + Hickory but unfinished.
Old Hickory knives are no secret, nor are they new. I have always seemed to use them , and grew up with them in the house. The materials are 1095 and hickory block handles. None of the line is finished that well but they are adequate for the price. The thing that surprised me was that unlike the smaller knives that I bought previously the 14" and 10" came completely unsharpened. Not dull, but as in no edge whatsoever. I wouldn't mind if it was advertised as such, but nowhere in the description does it say that I need to do all the sharpening. 14 inches of 1095 will take a long time by hand. I sure wish I had a belt sander rather than just a file and then regular sharpening gear. The steel only RC's at probably RC 55-57 but still try filing a 14 inch blade at that hardness, then sharpening it. The 10" is the same BTW. Nice knife but I wish I was told it came with no edge needing to be finished. Joe
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dean Taucher
Jun 17, 2009
Pros: Construction, Durability, Overall Quality, Material Quality, Design, None
Cons: Sharpness
When I received this knife it was as far as I could tell not sharpened at all, if that is how it was meant to ship then it should have been noted in the listing. I am going to sharpen it soon and try it then, I hope it works well for me.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 14" High Carbon Steel Blade 5-3/8" Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jewel
Phily
Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Sharpness
Cons: None
Not Sharp, Poor Metal
Poor Sharp