Reviews and Ratings for Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade - 7060

Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Bladerated 4.474 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Old Hickory Cleaver 7 inch Carbon Steel Blade

 

Price: $17.95

Save $10.00 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay
Cookeville, Tn
Dec 03, 2019
Pros:
Cons:

love it

I bought this cleaver just because it's an old hickory and I didn't have one. Love it. I was pleased to see the metal is thicker on this than on the butcher knives. It gives me ideas about cutting one down into a Hudson bay type knife. I'll most likely order another one. Old hickory knives are great. People complaining about rust don't understand that carbon steel takes on a patina if taken care of properly and will rust if neglected. Wipe it down with some oil before storage. If it has rusted, simply clean off with steel wool or gently sand with a super fine sand paper. All will be good.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kw
Alaska
Oct 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpness, Design
Cons: None

OH Cleaver

Excellent kitchen knife. Always love to buy American!!
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clara Malkerson
Urbana, Mo.
May 31, 2011
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

most useful kitchen tool

This is the most useful kitchen utensil I've ever used. Simple, effective, affordable. I oiled my new knives with food grade oil and liked the darkening of the handle and the evenness of the slight darkening on the blade itself. Love the ability to hang the knife, and got a magnetic strip for the rest of my set.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
adkins tx
Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Construction
Cons: None

great service

great product and service they even shipped the product out early.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
B.L. Pritts
WV
Oct 02, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Great tool and value

Been using one for about 10 years. Yes, it rusts/ patinas because it is quality US carbon steel not China stainless. If you learn to take care of good steel it isn't a problem. I use a convex grind on the edge and occasionally run it to 1800 grit to polish it. It cuts paper thin vegi slices and I occasionally use it to split kindling for the stove. The back edge works great for tenderizing meat and scraping/fuzzing cedar bark for tender. The flat of the blade works amazing for garlic and if a slight bevel is put on the end it works as a good spatula as well as to scrape and clean cast iron skillets. If you use a shallow mortar the handle works as a good pestle. It is a very versatile kitchen too from butchering game and slicing vegetables to maintaining the pots and stove.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mds
Central NY
Nov 23, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpenability, Design
Cons: None

Great mid-sized cleaver

I used this American made cleaver this Thanksgiving to chop up turkey bones for soup. A couple of wacks made quick work out of the biggest bones. This is a great little cleaver and fun to use. It's bare bones as are most of Old Hickory products, but well made.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Nov 17, 2010
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Made in America. Full tang. Priced right. Does not come real sharp. Suck it up & learn how to sharpen a knife. In about 30 min I had it shaving the hair off my arm.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lawrence M
Grand Junction, Co
Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
I will use this at home and camping. Little sharpening was necessary to put a near-razor edge on the blade.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Aust
Dec 30, 2011
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Great value for money

Great value for money for a good quality US made product. Light and easy to handle.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Portland, OR
Feb 14, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality
Cons: None

Great buy!

This is a very nice cleaver for a very reasonable price. Great American-made quality, and I'm glad to see that Ontario continues to manufacture the Old Hickory line here.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kayla
Texas
Dec 18, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great knives

Old Hickory knives are great! They arrived very fast and the whole process was very smooth.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Les G
everywhere
Oct 09, 2015
Pros: Construction, Durability, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality
Cons: None

steel doesnt rust for liberals

unless your a moron itll do but not for Bill H Los Angeles who as i said ya know thinks steel doesnt rust
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
New Zealand
May 07, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None

Good product and service

This is the second time order knifes from KC, They are still provide good service and good products.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lawrence M
Grand Junction, Co
Apr 12, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
I will use this for cooking at home and camping. This will trim steaks and roasts with ease. I put a near razor edge on this cleaver very easily.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Long Island
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Great lil chopper

Mind you this is not a fancy butchers cleaver, it's rough and crude. Perfect for chopping through ribs, chicken whatever. It holds a razor sharp edge. I love it! Nice addition to my BBQ tools.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
D
CA
Nov 05, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality, None
Cons: Design, Durability

ok

Affordable. 1095 carbon steel holds edge longer. Full tang. Good basic cleaver. Only gripe is its not as heavy, and to me its smaller than i like.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
A. Hunter
Australia
Dec 08, 2010
Pros: Material Quality, Overall Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great cleaver knife for cutting vegetables, with good quality built and light weight. I haven't tried cutting up chicken,lamb bones etc therefore not sure how good it is.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jk
Buffalo, NY
Nov 27, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Design, Construction
This is too light to be practically used as a cleaver.
Old Hickory Cleaver 7" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bill H
Los Angeles
Aug 14, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Material Quality, Overall Quality, Durability

Rusted

The knife rusted after the first use. Garbage