Reviews and Ratings for Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black - ON18P

Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Blackrated 3.440 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
3.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
4
1 star
4
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18 inch Ontario Machete, Black

 

Price: $9.95

View Product Details
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Irv
Pocatello, ID
Dec 10, 2010
Pros:
Cons:
Wonderful Sheath
This is a fantastic sheath. I bought it to work with a Legitimus Collins WWII Machete and it fit perfectly. Great Quality, the plastic is very durable. There are holes in the sheath which allow for drainage if your machete gets wet. It holds my machete well I have yet to have it move in the sheath unless I want it to. The only qualms I have with the sheath are it's attachment points, but be creative and you will be able to figure something out.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allen Graywolf P Jr
Boones Mill, va
Mar 04, 2015
Pros: Durability
Cons: None
Ontario hard plastic sheath /rating 10'
I am very pleased with the sheath's that i purchased from knife center they fit and work as well as the originals ,so i give them a thumb's up , 10 . i will do more business with you Allen '' Boones mill, va .
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nightcrawler
Tulsa
Mar 17, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
This IS what your looking for! Top qualityand battle ready.
My machete fits tightly with no sloppy movement.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam K
calgary, Alberta
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great sheath, stop complaining lol
I have an 18" military worn machete from 1969 and was used in africa. The stealth is the same as it was back then and is great. What people need to understand is the it holds a machete not a curling iron, the fact it holds so close is a good thing. Mine from 1969 is still a **** to slide out and who cares about scratching it if u actually use it that wont matter it will be covered with tree lol. I dont think there should be a black powdercoat, it creates friction in trees, i polished and rebeveled the pitch of blade and can cut threw a tree 3" thick with ease. I didn't even know there was a clip I put it on my belt and ya the built in sharpener is crap because it isn't a sharpener its to remove a small lip on the blade like a kitchen steel. Overall its awesome and has been for at least 44 years
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fpitarro
san diego ca
Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
great sheath
exactly what I was looking for at great price and timely delivery
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Mid Michigan
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Ontario plastic sheath for 18" machete
Perfect fit. Works fine. Good price.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
David R
Staten Island, Ny
May 31, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
"JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR"
A perfect fit for my ontario machete so iam glad the right chocie and got from the right place knife center thanks.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
107 windsor
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: Durability, None
Ontario 18'' Hard Plastic Machete
things great about the product
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chase H
Northwest Ar
May 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Carry Position
Alot better than canvas
Great Hard plastic sheath. The only bad thing i can say about this product is that i think it should have a belt loop instead of the "hooks" it comes with will have to do some modifying to make do.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pat
Roanoke, Va
Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
functional
I've had my machete since 2013 and it's just been sitting around doing garden work. This sheath will allow me to take it camping with me and will pair nice with my Corona pruning saw & Marttiini knife for outdoor excursions. I don't know why some are complaining about the sheath, because when you compare it to other $12 dollar sheaths on the market it is the best. If one wants an quality sheath for their machete then I recommend they have a custom made of either leather or kydex if they are willing to spend the money. But this sheath will do nicely for my excursions into the woods. Can't seem to figure out how the belt clip works though, so I just looped a piece of paracord through it and it works fine.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
Greenlawn, NY
Oct 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Carry Position
Great for modding with one flaw
I personally love this sheath, but to make it practical you have to make some minor alterations using Ranger bands, and stuff you might want to add. The nice thing, is the sheath is fairly rigid, has water drainage holes, and provides you with a sturdy platform for adding extra stuff to the sheath that can make your machete a complete survival system. If you go on Youtube, or google search Pathfinder Mods to the Ontario Machete you will come across perhaps my favorite starting point for how you might want to mod out your machete to suit your backwoods trekking. When hiking, space and weight are a premium, and the more you can spread out your gear in layers of priority, the better off you will be. You can make a nice and light short range survival setup using the pathfinder mods, so that if you lose your pack and are lost, you can survive quite well with just your machete, and all the spare gear you were able to strap to this nice sheath. The cons have been mentioned before, but I will agree and relist some here specifically that annoy me: The sheath comes very very tight and may be slightly warped from being in storage. Your machete might feel almost STUCK inside. The pin from the clasp can also interfere with sheathing the blade if your not careful. From experience I can tell you that you just need to break the sheath in. After a few hundred pulls the blade doesn't lock in so tight, and now, for me, mine is snug enough to stay in even when upside down, but loose enough I can easily pull it free. Just do yourself a favor and either fold and strap down the silly belt clasp, or cut it off with a hacksaw or something, it is absolutely useless without a mil spec belt with spaced holes, and even with those holes it doesn't last long or feel comfortable at all... I'd rate this sheath at a 5 if not for the lame wire clasp and its silly rivet.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert W
Palm Beach
Nov 21, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Quality product
Much better than the nylon sheath - buy this if you need to use the Great quality Ontario machete for camping...
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
New England
Jun 11, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Carry Position
Lasting investment
This plastic sheath is WAY better than the canvas option! Fits the 18" Ontario machete snugly and the tough & rigid plastic provides superior protection for the edge. The built in sharpener is only moderately usefull but OK for touch-ups. I'd rate it a 5 if it weren't for the belt hardware. it's designed to fit a Military web belt (with grommets) and is not real usefull otherwise.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bruce L.
Puerto Rico
Mar 05, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Carry Position
Had a sheath damaged in shipping the box was shredded by the post office. Your company sent out a replacement the next day.Very good costumer service
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve
Ct
Apr 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Carry Position
not bad
Durable. Belt clasp is not reversable for you leftys. Only problem for me was that the opening was a little tight and the inside of the clasp would rub the blade. Other than that blade fits and locks in place. Recommend over nylon.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Steve Owens
Fleming, OH
Jun 16, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability
Perfect fit
Clip broke off within a few days, but it still does the job. If you want to belt carry the machete, I would probably not use this sheath.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Goatboy66
Seattle
Jul 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Carry Position
Hard Plastic Sheath For 18" Ontario Machete
Will be adding inner-tube cover to create pockets for survival items and will attach other items such as paracord and a shoulder strap. The main attraction of this is the sheath itself but, the built in sharpener is marginal and the utility-belt attachment is pretty much useless as the military hasn't used that kind of belt in years.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joseph Cour
houston texas
Jan 09, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
machete sheath
too difficult to insert and remove machete
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 2 stars out of 5
John J.
Iowa
Oct 16, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
Not too impressed
This sheath makes no sense. It scratches my machete when I insert and pull it out. Although I do like the material. Belt clip weak for non military. I will have to find a way to modify for my everyday belt I use and remove the idiotic pivot inside the blade that scratches my machete. True it is a machete and scratches are ok but let me scratch it out in the woods. Sheaths are made to protect ones tool. This product will not do this unless I remove the divot. Overall not too impressive.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 2 stars out of 5
Varmit
midwest USA
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Absolute Lemon
I've read positive reviews on this sheath, so maybe I just got a lemon. My experience with this thing was miserable. Trying it out for the first time, I wrestled the machete into the sheath. It took clamping the tip of the sheath in a vice to pull the machete back out. It took about half an hour of file work inside the upper lip of the sheath to open it up enough where the blade can be inserted and withdrawn with only a minor struggle. The built in "sharpener" is a joke. On mine, it's so horribly mis-aligned that the edge of the blade won't track in the "V" between the two carbide bits. Instead it runs along the bottom flat of one of the carbides, effectively working as a "duller" instead. The only benefit I see to this sheath is that it's a sturdy hard plastic case, so there's little chance of an accidental cut as is possible on a canvas style sheath. But frankly, the nuisance involved in working the sheath into a semi-functional state just isn't worth the trouble. And as noted by other reviewers, the attachment for the sheath is pretty much limited to the old style military alice clips, so you'll have to figure out some sort of work-around to attach it to a regular belt. My recommendation would be to buy a Condor machete with their really nice leather sheath instead.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 2 stars out of 5
Larry E
Salida, Ca
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Carry Position, None
Cons: Overall Quality
The sheath was as advertised except the rivet that held the belt connector fell off after only 2 hours. I hope by hammering the rivet back it will now stay on the sheath. I was doing the ontario mod and it just fell off. I was a bit angry but put it back together. I still like the sheath though.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 1 stars out of 5
Eric O
Tinley Park, Il
Mar 06, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
thanks knifecenter
not worried about scratching the blade if it fit, however it does not fit a 18' machete like described due to the screw that is mounted on the case for the belt attachment, if I were to remove the screw it would still take quite a bit of breaking in, but then it would be back to the starting line only now I would Carrying a machete that is in a sheath and that is a pain in the ** to remove.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jesper
Sweden
Apr 24, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
Sheath does not fit the 18" machete!
I dont understand this at all. Some people say the sheath has a perfect fit. It is impossible to push the machete into the sheath due to a metal rivet head inside the sheath.The machete gets scratched and is then stuck only after a couple of centimeters. It is impossible to get the machete inside the sheath and even if you did, a quick draw would be equally impossible. Ontario, I think you better explain what the problem is! Do not buy this item until there is an explanation/fix!
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 1 stars out of 5
Walker S
Beaumont, Tx
Oct 20, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
No good
The only thing from Ontario I've ever disliked. You have to force the blades in or out, which is an accident waitin to happen. Had to send them back, just not safe to use. Knife Center may want to look at doing away with them and goin with the Rothko model, it costs a lil more ,but well made and works perfectly. Everything else I've ever purchased from them has been spot on.
Hard Plastic Sheath for 18" Ontario Machete, Black
rated 1 stars out of 5
Gerald Dente
MA
Nov 30, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Horrible sheath
Minutes after opening the box for this sheath and ontario machete. I tried pushing the sheath inside. I had to force it in and had an even harder time pulling it out. The sheath is to tight and appears the rivit used to hold the belt loop on place is protruding to much and scratched the entire blade. It removed all of the black finish off of the side brand new machete. I tried to sharpen the machete with the bult in sharpener on the sheath. After the first pass one of the blades broke off. This is made in China not USA and is horrible quality. By far the most disappointed I have even been with a purchase. Not only does it not work at its only two functions( being a sheath and a sharpener) it destroyed the finish of my new machete.