Reviews and Ratings for Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather - O6152

Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leatherrated 4.736000000000001 stars out of 5 (106 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
86
4 star
17
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
2
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather

 

Price: $25.95

Save $7.57 (23%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Salt Lake City
Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sheath works well - great replacement option

Quality looks good, knife fits tight in sheath and with snap. looks and works great.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Denny
OH
Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

excellent

very good fit, have been looking for one of these for years.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
North Carolina
May 16, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent replacement sheath

I ordered this as a replacement sheath for a Camillus aircrew survival knife that I had bought that did not have a sheath. The knife fits in just fine and I am very happy that I was able to find one. I am very pleased with the quality of the sheath and the shipping time was pretty close to what was forecast on the order page when I bought it. This was a good buying experience and I would buy from the KnifeCenter again. They definitely need to keep this item in stock.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Livermore, CA
Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath Fits 499

It fits just like the original I was issued while in the USAF over 35 years ago. this was a great purchase ans a great price. Thanks again!!!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wil
US
Mar 08, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Got what I needed

They helped me get what I needed when my dogs used my Army issued knife as a chew toy. Thanks for the help.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
M. Brown
TN
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Nice Sheath

The sheath is well made and I recommend it. It can be dyed to any color you would want the sheath to be. However if you don't wish to dye the sheath, it does need to be treated with a leather treatment to make the leather last longer.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex W
pawleys island South Carolina 29585
Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great

This is a great sheath. I use it for fishing,hiking and even personal carry.The leather hugs the knife perfectly. It's durable and can take a heavy beating. It came with a 2 sided sharpening stone. On side is rough for put on the edge and the other side is for finer sharpening.over all its a great product.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jesse James
Larue County Kentucky
Dec 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

I'm impressed

I carry my knife every day. I'm retired and spend my days hunting, fishing, or playing in the woods. My sheath was shot. It had been patched and wired together. I really didn't expect the quality I got in this one. The knife fits perfect. It's solid, the rivets are tight and it looks good. It needs a little neats foot oil but that's it. I'm gonna order another for a spare. I don't see how they can make them for the price.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Texas
Mar 29, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Knife sheath 499

Does what's needed.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Gig Harbor, WA
Apr 16, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Well Made

A good replacement for my 1979 Ontario Pilot's Knife
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Lorton
Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath

Excellent quality and fast delivery. Replaces an older sheath.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
William C.
Black Springs AR
Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great product! !!

This sheath is exactly like the usaf sheaths, great product. Great quality, fast shipping as well.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Riverby
Creekside, Appalachia
Jun 07, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Now I can use the knife

Had the knife, didn'td have the sheath. Bummer. Now this old classic can safely be carried. Glad the sharpening stone was included.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott E
Aloha, Or
Aug 06, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Perfect Sheath

This sheath is a perfect fit for my Camillus survival knives that are from the Vietnam war era. Many knives have survived, but their sheaths didn't.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael R.
Fredericksburg, VA.
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Replacement Sheath - military

Outstanding replacement sheath for my military survival knife. Mine was issued to me while serving in Korea in 1983 and the original sheath finally gave out six months ago. The Ontario replacemetn sheath is a superb match and fit. I am very pleased with the quality of leather, stitching and metal fittings. Price is easy on the pocket too.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob K
Amherst, NY
Jan 08, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Leather Sheath; for Ontario 499

I've had my Ontarioo 499 for years but the snap broke on the retaining strap. The new sheath is a perfect replacement. Thanks.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Norm Sta
Hilo, HI
Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath (Sheath Only)

I purchased this sheath as a replacement sheath for the Ontario Survival Knife that I carried in Viet Nam 68/69. The sheath fits perfectly and appears to be higher quality than the original version (which lasted 46 years).
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Wi.
May 09, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great sheath!

Sheath was exactly as shown, fits knife perfect, holds it snug! My 1972 okc has a new permanent home. Fast service, absolutely no complaints!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stainless01
Brisbane Australia
Jan 29, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath

I bought this sheath to replace one I lost over twenty years ago. Honestly, I didn't realise back then that the sheath could be bought separately. My late fathers US Air Force survival knife now has a sheath again. Of course, back then, the sheath did not have a metal plate at the bottom. Not a bad idea actually. As basic sheaths go, I can't really fault it. The only improvement I can think of would be to have a toggle type release instead of press stud release.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al
Melbourne, Florida
Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Leather sheath for Ontario 499 survival knife

Received quickly, as scheduled and very good quality, as described. Oiled it up and its a beautiful piece of leather. Overall perfectly happy with my purchase.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yigo
Guam
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Multiple Use

I presently use this extra sheath for my Ontario Bushcraft Knife. Fits perfectly!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luk2c
California
Jun 09, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Fits A Camillus

I bought this for aCamillus knife. It's about a half inch too short but still works. I'm buying a second one to try and modify it to fit. Too much time on my hands.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis
Hollywood, Florida
Sep 21, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather

I give the knife sheath a 5 , great quality from Ontario. I give the knife center a 3 rating do to the fact that it was listed in stock so I ordered it, then was told it would be 3 weeks. being truthful up front would be nice.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray
Florida
Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario knife sheath

The sheath is clearly made of high quality material. It fit the knife perfectly and made it the best choice to replace the old sheath.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary Holt
swan point, Md.
May 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Sheath Review

The sheath was to replace one that came with the knife that I was issued long ago in the military. The knife has been used now for over 30 years, hunting camping cleaning game etc. The old one fell apart with ago. The new one is taking its place. Now my most usefull knife will be able to be worn and used again. Thanks for carrying it. Its great and an exact replacement.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dean T
Colorado
Nov 14, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather

my u.s.air force knife, made my camillus, from 1968 needed a new sheath as the top strap on the original had broken off...the new sheath fits the knife snugly and the squared off bottom is metal re-enforced...i expect the sheath to hold up well...
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Illinois
Jan 05, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Perfect

I bought a knife engraved USN at an auction without a sheath. This one is well made just like the original.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Bloomfield NM
Jun 20, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

MilSpec!

This is an issue sheath. It arrived with an NSN decal attached. Buy it!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
John C
Kittanning, PA. 16201
Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Absolutely as advertised,the orig. issue item, as always thanks .

Great item, have bought before. Professional service and the real deal issued item.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brutus
Massachusetts
May 22, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

As advertised w/wet stone included!

Needed a sheath for a pilot's knife purchased at auction. Perfect fit!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wallace
Otisco, NY
Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario 5" Pilot Survival At A Great Price

Sheath's I bought were very good quality at a very good price. Great fit for any brand 5" pilot survival knives. The free shipping on the $95 was a great bonus!!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swadlo
Pittsburgh
Oct 08, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath

The sheath of one of my best knives wore out. The model I ordered and received is a perfect replacement. And in arrived one day before promised. You guys are the best expect more orders from me.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
North Phoenix - Jade Park
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Great value.

My brother was  1st Combat Communications Group. Stationed at Lindsey air station, Wiesbaden Germany. He gave me an Ontario 499. It is dated 9-87. Great knife,I have been using it since the late eighties. Knife is still in great shape. The sheath has slowly been falling apart over the years. I did an internet search and to my surprise I found this sheath with little effort. In less than one week I had my new sheath. I really like it. It is well made and the leather it is made out of is just as thick as the old one. This sheath would be a good deal at twice the price. I will take better care of this one.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
A Koehn
Kansas
Aug 07, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Perfect fit for origina vintagel Air Force 499 knife...!

I needed a replacement for a well used Air Force 499 knife. I wanted a replacement that was like the original... the price was great... came with sharpening stone... just like the original. Good sheath for the money... no complaints...
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimbo
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

The Real Deal !

Just what I needed for my Ontario Rescue Knife ! Fast Shipping.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimbo
Salt Lake City
Feb 05, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great Quality

Just what I needed for my Survival knife
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Ohio
Apr 09, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

new home for an old friend

my Vietnam survival knife had been packed away and forgotten for many years....the knife looked great...still had a good edge and the leather handle was tight...the sheath was hard to identify. happy to find my old knife...happy to find a new sheath...excellent replacement for 5" camillus... great price...fast safe shipping...has stone and string...
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ibu Sailor
New York
Sep 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Just like I remembered

I have this knife for over 25 years from when my father gave it to me. I have been missing the sheath for quite some time and it sat in a draw but now I have a sheath just like it came with so now it will be put back to work.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe V
VA
Sep 07, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Sheath for family heirloom

Purchased as a replacement sheath for the survival knife carried by three generations of my family in military service. With the new leather it is ready for the fourth generation to carry.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan U
Colorado
Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Sheath is perfect

Sheath fits my orphaned AF Survival knife perfectly. Now I can carry it on my next camping/hunting adventure. If I cannot find a small sharpening stone to fit the front pouch a small Swiss Army Knife fits and probably is more useful.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Georgia
May 17, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheath works

I have this old knife that I purchased many years ago and the sheath that came with it was torn and splitting. This new Heath is a great substitute and almost perfect fit.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jefferson J
Morris County N.J.
Sep 06, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

High quality, Excellent value, Perfect fit,

As a 14 yr old I recieved an Ontario USAF survival knife from my uncle in 1977 before a trip to Philmont Scout Ranch in New Mexico, after years of service the sheath was worn so I ordered this one as a replacement. I can't be any more satisfied, this replacement sheath is high quality leaher with a metal back for support, every stitch is perfect, it fits my knife like a glove. The price is more than fair, standard shipping/processing is fast. I would recommend this sheath to anyone looking for a replacement for their original USAF survival knife. Thank you Knifecenter, I thought I was going to need a custom made sheath or have to retire my old friend, you saved the day.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken M
Sacramento, California
Feb 14, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Nice replacement sheath

I purchased this sheath as a replacement for a knock-off of the USAF Survival Knife. My knife was made in Japan, and is an excellent quality knife, but the sheath that came with it was flimsy, and it has long since worn out. The Ontario Sheath is a good quality, reasonably priced alternative, and certainly the best alternative I could find. It fits well, and I expect that it will last as long as I keep the knife. The including sharpening stone is a nice bonus.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al
Leesville, Louisiana
Jun 03, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Exact replacement

I had contacted Ontario Knives to try to get this sheath and they referred me to Knife Center as a dealer to handle the transaction. The sheath is perfect because it is an original. It comes with the stone and leg tie so, it is complete and ready to go. I have purchased from Knife Center before and, like always, smooth, no hassle transaction. Thanks Knife Center. Al
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Deerslayer
Southern Illinois
Feb 16, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Perfect!!!

My dad bought my 449 from a local hardware store in the early 70's, and it's been around the block a time or two. The sheath had finally fallen apart a few years ago, and the knife had been in a drawer ever since. One day I got online looking for a new sheath and came across this one. I could not be happier with it! If your looking for a replacement sheath for your knife I highly recommend this one.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mfm
USA
Mar 14, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sheath

...appears to conform with original contract specifications...
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Myron R
Keystone Heights, Fl
Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Sheat for camillus pilot survival knife.

I purchased this sheath for my Camillus Pilot survival knife, which when purchased had no original sheath, it was a perfect fit, real leather and riveted as well as sown, nobody can beat the price, thanks for superfast shipping and great email tracking info.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary G
Charleston, SC
Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Perfect fit

I had the knife but no sheath. This sheath fit perfect and I got it in a very timely manner. This was a hard to find item, but has a nice price. Can't ask for better. Gary USMC 67 - 71.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Floridafisherman
Ft. Pierce, Fl
Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Pilot Knife sheath

I bought this sheath for my Camillus Pilots survival knife, it was a perfect fit, the quality was superb, the natural tan leather was a compliment to the stacked tan leather on my knife, I would recommend this product.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Newberry, Sc
Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

I have several of them!

Great sheath! I brought this sheath for a cold steel master hunter. I have a air force survival knife. I perfer the way this sheath ride on my side.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
David B
St. Charles, MO.
Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Exactly what I needed.

I needed a replacement sheath for my USAF survival knife. Pleasantly pleased with product I received. Hopefully sheath will stand the test of time and use.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex K.
Lyndhurst, OH
Nov 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Really happy with the product.

Original Sheath, without any problem.Fits perfectly.Glad I got what I really needed.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Florida
Apr 18, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Very Nice

I ordered two and had them in three day's. Very nice they fit both of my old Vietnam era Ontario Pilot survival knives. I have the original sheaths but I don't want to use them. The Ontario Sheath is a Quality replacement and I would highly recommend it. I rubbed some Mink oil on them to water proof and preserve the leather.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
John F
Mississippi
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario 499 Air Force/Army Pilot Survival Knife Sheath

Ordered as a replacement sheath for an Ontario Randall TAC-1. Original sheath for the knife was made of nylon and too flimsy, not much of a complement to an otherwise well made knife. This leather sheath is quality and fits the blade well. Additionally it has the aluminum tip and back to provide additional safety. The snap band was about 1/8 inch too short to fit around the Micarta handle of the knife so, a little stretching was required but no alterations or an additional snap. Well pleased with the sheath and the service of KnifeCenter.com
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank L.
North Carolina
Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

leather sheath for 499

I collect jet pilots knives and this sheath makes them look correct.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Falls Church, Va
May 03, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

A New life for an old knife!

I have been searching for YEARS to find a replacement sheath for my 1970's issue U.S. Air Force survival knife! It like getting a brand new knife!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin M
gaithersburg, md
Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sheath

There was no variance between what I observd on your site and the item I received. It was exactly what I required. Thank you!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald B
Rochester New york
Jan 08, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

GREAT KNIFE for the Price

Great combination knive, sheaf, and sharpening stone. Hands is easy to grip, even when you are butchering a Deer and your hands are bloody. Very sharp edge that really keeps the sharpness after some very heavy work. The sharpening stone is perfect for the knife. The case is very rugged and can stand abuse. I am very happy with this Knife.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobby Murphy
Mount Pleasant,Pa.
Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Knife fit the sheath just perfect, the sheath meet what i was looking for.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg B.
Iowa
Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Nice!

I bought this to replace the original sheath that came with the knife that I got when I was in the Army back in the early 70's. The original was torn up in a few places but still worked, until the snap on the retaining strap tore out. I guess I could have gotten it fixed, but I don't know leather work or snaps and there isn't a place here in small town Iowa that does it. This is just like the original, without the wear and tear. A little tight, but that'll work out just like the original did. The sheath is sturdy and fits my belt comfortably and, as I remember, It fit snugly over my web belt when I was in the army. The only difference from the original is that that was a darker brown.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jw
WA
Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Perfect for Several Ontario Survival Knives

Purchased for the additional Ontario knives that I have in my collection. Presently use with the USAF Survival knife and the Ontario SP-2 USN-1 Survival knife as both blades are almost identical except the Navy knife has the notch in the blade. The leather is top quality and using a top quality leather protection will insure the leather last a long time as both of the Ontario knifes will.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacques M
VA
Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario 499 Sheath

The sheath is used for my knife which had no sheath for years, I enjoy the sheath because it has area of added survival possibilities. It is as expected. I prefer leather than any other medium. I wish the straps could have been also leather.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin
California
Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Fast shipping, item exactly what I was looking for

I was looking for this specific sheath as a replacement, and the exact same one on ebay (used) was 20-40 dollars. Item exactly as described, and the price is perfect. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marshall
Georgia
Jul 07, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Excellent

Very fast delivery, high quality product, fits like the original, I highly recommend this product.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian T
Denver
Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Knife sheath

Original knife sheath worn out, replacement knife sheath exactly what I wanted. Exact as the original !
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tj
middle of nowhere
Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

OEM sheath

Factory OEM, what else needs to be said!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Country
Pike County, GA.
Jul 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Like Original

Fit exactly the same as the original sheath. Finish was good and was well made. The rivet ends on the back of the sheath were a little rough but that problem was easily cured with a small hammer.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pburstrom
ca
Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

excellent value

Second piece ordered. solid build quality piece. Highly recommended
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Neil
NH
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Good Quality and Price

I was searching for a replacement for my Camillus Survival Knife sheath, but with Camillus out of business, the price on original sheaths is typically $40+. The Ontario fits perfectly and at 1/2 the cost.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
New Orleans
Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Thank you

I have had my trusty USAF survival knife since it was issued to me when i joined as a young man. It outlived its leather sheath. Found a perfect replacement on KnifeCenter.com that is identical to the original sheath. Price was reasonable and delivery quick. Thank you KnifeCenter.com for carrying the little things.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Censorshipkills
USA
Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Quality replacement: 1967 Vietnam War US Camillus Jet Pilot Survival

Excellent quality. Bought as replacement for Vietnam War US Camillus Jet Pilot Survival Knife 1967.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam K
Angels Camp, CA
Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

AF knife sheath

Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom C
Philadelphia,Pa
Jan 28, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Perfect fit

Timely delivery,excellent condition
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bernie
Ohio
Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sheath

Perfect, exactly what I had been looking for to replace the sheath on mine, that had been destroyed over the years.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Callmaker
Washington
Jul 09, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent product

Purchased the knife without a sheath. Now I have a authentic sheath for this military pilots knife.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles K
Kenner, Louisiana
Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Air Force Survival knife sheath

I needed a replacement sheath for my 1962 vintage Camillus knife and had a difficult time finding one. Then I found your site on the Internet. My knife fits Great! Well made, looks great! The description and photo on line was great in making my decision to purchase the sheath. The price was also great! The delivery was faster then I had expected. Thanks
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Machine Gun Daddy
Morristown Tn
Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Same as New!

Bought my Camillus Air Force survival knife when I enlisted in the Army in Jan 2 1985. It served me faithfully in Iraq and Kuwait as well as Honduras and Panama. My sheath was very worn so I decided to order this sheath and to my surprise it is exactly the same as the original. Couldn’t have bought a better replacement. Thank you knife center.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Greer SC
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Excelling product

I had my knife for about 30 years and somehow lost the original sheath. This one is exactly like the original with the sharpening stone. I'm glad I found this site.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Callmaker
The "Hood"
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great, fantastic, wonderful, mind boggling good!!!!

I use this product to carry my knife. It is great because it keeps me from cutting holes in my pockets and fingers. What's not great is that i had to purchase it rather than receiving it as a gift.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles K
Kenner, Louisiana
Feb 04, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

This is my second Ontario sheath for the 499

The sheath was so well made I bought a sheath for a second Airforce survival knife that I have. Both sheaths fit the knives perfectly and look really good. The second sheath took a little longer to arrive then did the first sheath. I am glad I found your Internet site, and glad the sheaths were available.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sticker
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Jan 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Sheath For Air Force Knife

I got an old Air Force Survival knife at a flea market, but there was no sheath. That was a shame because that sheath is about as good as they come. I was so happy to find my missing sheath at Knife Center for a good price. It even has a cord provided to strap it to your leg. I wouldn't use it for that, but rather to tie the knife to a stick to make a spear in a survival situation. "Be Prepared" said the Boy Scout.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
N Fla
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

FAN TASTIC

just exactly what I wanted. If I was real picky I noticed the stone sheath was just a tad outta center but no much. I wish I could see made in USA. on it THEN IT WOULD BE PERFECT!!!!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Concerned Consumer
Kentucky (KY)
Apr 17, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great fit

I had a 499 pilot survival knife from my father, the blade was in good condition and I still use it, but the clasps on the old sheath had corroded too much to be of any functional use. This is a identical replacement, though it would be better if someone had an actual replacement sheath that was immediately M.O.L.L.E. compatible. With a bit of paracord, that issue is remedied. 10/10 would recommend for anyone else with a Ontario pilot survival knife of the older variation.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
W.Brown
Brunswick, Ga.
Nov 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great Sheath.

I picked up a pilot survival knife cheap but it had no Sheath so it was nice to find one that was original.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale S
The Sticks, NJ
May 15, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Stunningly great!

Ordered on Sunday on the web, received on Wednesday. (shipped Monday) I was honestly stunned at the quality! Thick, sturdy leather perfectly riveted and sewn together. Very stiff which is excellent for my purposes. Guard at the bottom on the front is plastic but fine. Pleasantly surprised to find a second plastic shield on the back the full length of the blade. Not a single blemish or poor workmanship that I can see. I do ground search and rescue work and my organization limits blade length that we can carry. I found the air force pilot survival knife to be the best tool within the guidelines I am limited to. Having lost virtually every piece of equipment I use at some point (including a $600 radio and a $300 direction finder (but I still maintain that the radio wasn't my fault!)) I tend to go for lower end equipment. I've lost and cried over enough $100+ knives that now I buy the $30 to $40 ones. The sheath you get with low end knives is vinyl and flimsy and the snap is untrustworthy. I mount my knife blade up on ALICE gear on my chest so once the snap opens the knife is gone. Since it's real difficult to lose web gear when youre wearing it I chose to invest in a good sheath and this one is perfect. I'm loving it. Great product, great price! Knife fit in well and very securely. Good sharpening stone is included (and a fair leg tie) but the stone is difficult to remove from it's pocket. I use a hand held sharpener so it's not an issue for me but you should be aware of this. PS: I mount my sheath on to the web gear on my upper chest with zip ties. I use at least six. This lets the sheath float on the gear enough so it's comfortable and six pretty much guarantees it will stay with you all the time. You might break one or two, but six?
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
New York
Feb 05, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Replacement

Needed a a replacement sheath.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
D. Watson
Borger, TX
Dec 12, 2011
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Good sheath.

I carry my knife everywhere. I needed a replacement sheath. My knife is a different brand, it is over 40 yrs old, but this sheath fit the bill. I am happy to have it.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kody
USA Earth
Jun 11, 2013
Pros:
Cons:

Overall good value

Overall, the quality is good. It's very durable and it seems like it will last forever. The only negative that I have is the fact that one of the rivets used to hold the stone in place scrapes the blade and removed a line of coating from the blade. This is a working knife though and I would buy the sheath again without hesitation.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom
Washington State
Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Knife sheath works

The outside pocket on the sheath now carries my magnesium fire starter. Had to modify it slightly, but is a great survival knife.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Flatfoot
Sacramento
Jun 24, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Sheath for Ontario 499

I have an old military knife with no sheath. I checked several stores who were no help at all. I called Ontario Knife, they recommended Knife Center, and Knife Center had the sheath. Service was prompt and courteous. The sheath is heavy leather, metal reinforced and built very tough. Comes with a sharpening stone, which is cool since I never seem to be able to find a stone when I need one.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
California
Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Does the job

I had an old Ontario that was probably 1950's vintage that the sheath was falling apart on. This was purchased as a replacement sheath. Quality is good. Consistent strong stitching on the sheath. The only issue I had was that the old knife doesn't fit all down into the sheath, it comes up about 1/4" short but, it works.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry B
cas[er, wy
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

ontario sheath

to carry knife on belt
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Malcolm
UK
Aug 06, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Just what it looks like.

It does exactly what it is meant to do. Fits airforce knives new and old. I can't really fault this knife sheath.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fred
Sparks, NV
Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sheath for Air Force Survival Knife

Well made and sturdy. Only negative was that it was VERY tight getting the knife in - I actually thought someone had sent me the wrong size sheath. It may be that I just need to use it more and it will loosen up. As it is, it holds onto the knife far too tightly to be of practical use in the field.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fred
Nevada
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Well built sheath, delivered promptly!

Very sturdy, very well put-together. The leather is so stiff and new, I almost was not able to insert the blade of the knife! It took considerable work and patience to make it work, since the knife has a hook point and can only be inserted in one way. Now, however, with a little bit of use, it is quite tight but perfectly usable.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bootsaint
New London, CT
Apr 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

the old reliable

I have the Ontario 499 pilot survival knife and I lashed the sheath it came with to the scabbard of my Ontario 18" machete. I was happy to find a spare to pick up so I could carry the knife by itself without having to unwind all that paracord. The leather was a bit thinner than that of the sheath that came with my knife, but put together about as well. Good, no-frills, safe, secure and rugged. Even came with a sharpening stone and tie-down.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pillowville
Mc Kenzie, TN
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Tight Fit

Nice tight fit. Will break in nice. Two ties and a stone included.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marty
Mojave Desert
Aug 09, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

It fits

Needed a replacement for my original sheath, which was slowly destroyed over the course of a 20 year career, and use & abuse during Operations Desert Shield / Desert Storm / Southern Watch / Enduring Freedom / Iraqi Freedom. Sheath appears to be identical to the original issue item. Includes sharpening stone.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Swad
moon towhship, pa
May 12, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None

ontario seath

the seath seemed just a little short for my air force survival knife. i had to use a screw driver to oven up the bottom of the seath. but it's good, i'm happy!
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ttt
GA
Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Carry Position
Cons: None

Ontario Leather Knife Sheath

Item shipped in a timely manner. The sheath is of fairly good quality and serves it's purpose quite well and other than that there is not much to be said for it. The sheath does fit my MK1 USN Knife quite well.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Philip H. M.
Laurinburg NC
Oct 13, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

Good knife but....

I really like the knife but the guard or whatever you call the part that has the two holes in it came loose after 7 days and I had not even had a chance to use it. I used Obenauf's leather oil on the sheath and knife handle and they both turned out great. There was also a very bad burr on the knife edge. I have sent the knife back and I am waiting for it to be repaired or replaced. It seems to be a good knife for the price but I won't know until I actually get to use it.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jb C.
Clarksville, IN
Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good quality sheath, well made

I needed a new sheath for an old Camillus USAF Pilot Survival Knife, perfect fit. Good quality sheath, looks like the original.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 4 stars out of 5
Greg H.
KY
Nov 16, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent product, looks like it will last a while. The only problem I saw was that it is about 1/4" shorter than my actual blade. That is to say, when I put the knife in the case, it is about 1/4" from seating properly. My original sheath was not flat on the bottom, coming to a point. That said, it still holds my knife properly and secure.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dan S
Tulsa, Ok
Dec 09, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None

it's too tee-tee.

It's too short for the knife I brought back from Nam, but it's too much trouble to return it so I'll use it like it is . it's better than the one I had which rotted away after forty years. One other thing I could put an Arkansas stone in the old one, no such luck here. The stone holder is very small and only good for the stone of questionable quality that came with it.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 1 stars out of 5
Scott D. W.
53581
Jun 01, 2014
Pros: Carry Position, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

Check The Rivets

I recently purchased a 499 with included sheath. I love the knife, as I have wanted one since the 1980's, however, the sheath had a critical manufacturing error. One of the two top rivets was bent and only half secured on the back sheet metal protector. As a result, it came loose within about a week of use, causing a folded sheet metal upper corner which continued to peel back. I wanted to continue using it on a daily basis, so I improvised a solution. I removed all the sheet metal and all the stitching, and re-stitched it with one of the 7 inner strands of 550 cord and a broken fish hook. That's good enough for now, but I will be ordering another sheath so I don't have to worry about the razor sharp double-edged tip going through the leather and straight into my leg.
Ontario Sheath Fits 499, Leather
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ed
Michigan
Dec 19, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

#499 item #6152

I need my 3rd Sheath for this knife/ I love the Knife but two of the sheaths I had broke at where you run the belt thru my result was I had to order a whole new Knife and sheath because I lost my Knife Now I need another new sheath