Reviews and Ratings for Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath - 6420

Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheathrated 4.571000000000001 stars out of 5 (28.0 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75 inch Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath

 

Price: $73.25

Save $17.35 (19%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Oklahoma
Aug 01, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Excellent Quality, Made in USA

Excellent quality kukri. Sheath leaves a lot to be desired, but they usually do. Have somebody make you a quality sheath and this will be a great kukri for years to come.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Okla.
Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
WA
Dec 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Value

This kukri is, by far, the most bang for your buck. It is a very affordable, American made kukri of good quality materials. The 1/4 inch thick 1095 blade will probably never break, and you can really put this knife to work. The only issue I had with the blade is that the fit and finish were sub-par...as in the blade geometry was un-even and the coating on the spine of the knife was rough. However the blade geometry is fairly easily remedied and the rough coating is very easily ignored. Overall, the blade is a champ and it cuts great. Not as good as a Cold Steel, but much higher bang-to-buck ratio.... anyway, buy it. Oh, and the sheath sucks. Buy a leather Camillus sheath from eBay and you will be much happier. Again, buy it.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lewis
USA, Arizona
Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Ontario USA Quality

This USA made knife is my go to when i go wood hauling, wilderness trekking, and quartering while butchering. The blade is tempered nicely to keep a sharp edge. Good distributed weight for slashing & chopping. Non slip kraton handle. When i need it, it's there @ my side like my Ontario raider Bowie & cold steel spike hawk.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
MN
Mar 23, 2019
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent tool

This is one of my go to choppers when hiking or camping. I also use it around the house for brush clearing. I think it has excellent balance for such a chunk of metal. The 1095 carbon steel is tempered well, is tough, and holds an edge very well. Very easy to bring the edge back. I filed the spine just above the grip to spark a ferro rod. If you want a big chopping knife that is capable of a variety of tasks for a good price, you can't go wrong with this.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scrubby
FREWSBURG NY
Jul 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

BEST OUT THERE !

I HAVE OWNED ONE OF THESE FOR OVER 10 YEARS.IT WAS GREAT WHEN I FIRST GOT IT.SINCE THEN.I HAVE PURCHASED AT LEAST 50 MORE MACHETES,BOLO'S,PARANG'S,GOLOK'S,AXES,ETC.I WOULD HAVE TO SAY IT IS THE BEST ALL ROUND TOOL FOR SURVIVAL.IT VERY WELL BUILT.WILL SNAP CUT BRANCHES LIKE BUTTER.YOU CAN CUT LARGE DIAM. HARD WOOD WITH NO PROBLEM.IT IS MY GO TO KNIFE IN THE WOODS.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocky
Washington State
Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Outstanding Kukri!

I've been a Kukri collector for over 30 years, have the Cold Steel 39 LGKT Kukri, Condor CTK255-10HC Kukri, a butload of traditional Kukri's, the Extrema Ratio N690 Kukri, a Damascus Kukri, and a few I made over the years. The Ontario is the Kukri I end up grabbing on a regular basis when I go backpacking. Many reviewers have already noted the comfortable grip, the easy to keep "shaving sharp" 1095 CS blade steel, nice ballance (in my hands, at least), fully agree. I am not in any way knocking the Cold Steel, Condor, or traditional Kukri's, very nice knives, but again, when I'm ready to "go", it's the Ontario I seem to constantly grab. I agree the supplied sheath sucks, but here's a dirty little secret for those interested. The Cold Steel 39 KGKT Kydex sheath fits the Ontario Kukri perfectly. I ordered a "replacement" Cold Steel Kydex sheath for, I believe $54 with shipping, from Cold Steel, I couldn't make a professional Kydex sheath for that much money. Hope that helps.....
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ted
lynbrook
Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Terrific cleaving power

Had prior experience with kukris and wanted to try this one. It was shaving sharp out of the box. Well made and attractive. I found the sheath to be fine (some complain about it).Priced right. If you want a kukri and what it can do, get this one.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy Joe
Bowling Green
May 02, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Extremely impressed.

I purchased this knife as a brush cutting knife on my property to chop down woody vegetation too large for my weed eater. I very much underestimated this thing. This thing is bad a**. After realizing how mean this tool is, I had to try it on small saplings.., it is by far the best chopping knife I have ever seen. I don't typically use a knife to chop, I use an axe or hatchet, but this knife is incredible. I'm not one of the bushcrafter, hipster survivalist guys. My training is Army light infantry, and lifelong hard core hunter, and this thing is mean as it gets. I wanted a good Kukri. I GOT IT. And I only buy Made in The USA.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mato
Australia
Jul 09, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Love this blade

I use this blade alot when i go camping. I love the feel of it and its very comfortable to hold. Its balanced well and holds a very sharp edge and is easy to sharpen.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lewis
Arizona
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Ontario USA Quality

Bought this kukri for general use & it takes and dishes out what comes it's way. On arrival had to touch up the edge & sheath was okay. You pay for knife, not the sheath. But this knife is my go to when i go into the woods.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Heath
north east
Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

by far my go to bush tool

my favorite bush tool i chop and process wood with ease i clear paths amazingly i have owned it now for three years and only gripe was the simple sheath it was sufficient but i had a good friend make me a custom sheath from leather complete with fire stryker
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter H.
Newton, NJ
Jun 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Well balanced and very good grip

This is a thick blade but very well balanced. It came very sharp. I have no intention of trying to drive it through an oak tree with a sledge hamme. That is what a splitting maul is for. If I am every marooned on a desert island and need to do that I will report. Very well made Kukri great price.;
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Kentucky
Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Good blade

Recommend to anyone looking for a great kukri. The only negative is the sheath, it is absolutely horrible. It serves it purpose but could be way better. I have one from napal Ontario should take a lesson on the sheaths. Other than that this thing is awesome. Shaved me right out of the box. Cuts like a champ.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roberto
Las Vegas, Nv
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

better than expected

This kukri is going with me on my next backpacking trip. It looks very strong, sharp, the right weight, etc....
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ebolavirus
Central Texas
Oct 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Very Nice Multi-Use Kukri

I use a machete to clear low branches on anything from Live Oak, Mulberry and Hackberry, and Cedar along with clearing scrub and weeds if need be...It sure enough keeps it's edge after use on trees and scrub; weeds are no match either, not even those woody types with little effort expended when clearing...For weeds or undergrowth, the angle, weight, and edge make clearing fast, no reason to swing, just level it and slide it through and watch the growth lay flat...I keep a carbide file sharpener with it, keeps my Kukri razor sharp all the time without some 'method' of sharpening it; just run it over the blade a few times and it's sharp...The sheath is OK, those are kind of a weird build since the Kukri sits in angled, it's OK, just loose, but easily fixed...
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nikolai B.
Toronto, On
Nov 26, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Let me start by saying that I have only used this product a couple of times on hiking trips. The blade material is is better than expected though i cant quite tell the type of steel used, there is absolutely no sway though. I'm not a fan of the handle material as it feels quite cheap (I'm sure its not) and that it might even come off. i took the handle off completely and replaced it with a titanium alloy handle.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brent
United States
Jun 13, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

southern style

I use this camping spend alot of time in the woods and this is a very solid kukri comes out the package very sharp with a solid grip put a lil paracord and this is a overall good package
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter H.
Newton, NJ
Jun 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Well balanced and very good grip

This is a thick blade but very well balanced. It came very sharp. I have no intention of trying to drive it through an oak tree with a sledge hamme. That is what a splitting maul is for. If I am every marooned on a desert island and need to do that I will report. Very well made Kukri great price.;
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walter
Philippines
May 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Solid Chopper

Blade is thick and sharp. Factory grind was so so. Weight is forward so chopping is made easy. Sheath it came with was no good but will do if you're not planning on belt carry. Overall, great kukri for its price!
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lewis
Arizona
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Ontario USA Quality

Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark G.
Michigan
May 22, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight

exelent quality

Could be a little thicker, but over all an exelent tool.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shannon L.
Akron, Ohio
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard

Aweome value and quality!!!

Historically, the Nepalese people used the Kukri knife both as an all purpose utility knife, to chop down small trees, de-limb branches, and cut wood like one would with a small axe, hack as one would with a machete, and dig like one would with a small spade, and the kukri was used as a weapon both in the defensive and offensive roles with the Gurkhas. Most true Kukri blades were heavy, 5 - 10 mm thick, and between 12 - 17" long, made of spring steel. My blade was 4mm thick (almost 1/4"), which is pretty good, and 10 3/4" long. It has significant enough mass, however I would have prefered more for campsite wood processing tasks. Ontario's other Kukri "Machete" model is only 2mm thick. Stay away from that one. The blade material is 1095 spring steel. This to me is Perfect, as the metal will flex under stress and not break, because it isn't brittle as some other knives made with chromium to be stainless. This means that you will have to keep your kukri oiled, and take care of your knife! This is fine with me, as I don't have a problem maitaining my equipment. The handle is extremely comfortable, and absorbs the shock very well when using a wooden baton to split wood. It has a lanyard for safety which is a plus. Two things about the finish. I like it and it is very durable. However, one CANNOT create a spark from a ferro rod to start a fire with, while the finish is still on the spine. I modified mine to do that. A quick glance at the sheath, makes one do a double take, to re-examine it for durability and longevity. While the sheath is constructed of very thin materials (most likely to cut down on overall weight), it is durable, as the rivets and the nylon material will be strong enough. I would prefer it to be a more robust kydex design, with an extra snap to keep the knife secure, but for a knife of this high quality, and cababilities that it can give to you-- all for around $65.00 or so (especially when other brands are selling their kukris for between $300 - $700 depending on the model)-- you can't beat this knife, value, or deal!
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Harrisonburg, VA
Oct 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Great Kukri

Great knife. Delivery and service from Knifecenter was excellent. The sheath sucks, but I knew this before I bought it.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shannon L.
Akron, Ohio
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard

Correction

I think when I reviewed this product previously, I may have mistakenly wrote 10 3/4", when I meant to type 11 3/4". My correction, sorry.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Johnny
Stockholm, Sweden
Dec 04, 2018
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Very good

The Ontario Kukri is not great. But for the price, its very good. I highly recomend it. Things thats not great are the handle, its really thick. Easy fix with my mora. And the sheath isnt very good, ok but nothing more. On the other hand, it has a sheath. And it works ok. I understand that Ontario does a really good heat treat on all their blades. I have used it a lot and it has held up nicly. I also have The CS kukri and the Condor Heavy kukri. CS is awsome, the absolute best of them. Condor is waaaay too thick, cant cut at all.. But for the price, go with the Ontario kukri, it really is that good.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Edge Fiend Nh
NH
Jul 14, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Weight

Another disappointing Western kukri

The knife only weighs 18 oz. It's chopping power leaves much to be desired. The full flat grind is not appropriate for this kind of tool, and removes too much weight. Additionally, the lack of a pommel swell, a standard feature of traditional kukris, reduces swinging ergonomics. Building a camp or putting down a night's worth of firewood with this tool would be an arduous bother. A traditional kukri, such as those available from Himalayan imports or EGKH, would be 75% heavier at this blade length and sport a pronounced pommel swell that allows the user to focus centrifugal force at the very end of the grip, maximizing swinging momentum and therefore maximizing chopping efficiency. You should get one of those instead.
Ontario Kukri Machete 11.75" Blade, Kraton Handle, Cordura Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
C Clark
Mo.
Sep 13, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material

Ontario Kukri sucks

The blade chipped on the 2nd or third hit on a green branch 2 inches thick