Reviews and Ratings for Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles - 8848FG

Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handlesrated 4.800 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6 inch Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles

 

Price: $22.95

Save $26.00 (53%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mtnman
New Mexico
Jun 27, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Quality knife.
This is a well built knife. For the price I don't think a better knife can be found under $30. Knife feels comfortable in my hand. This knife is just so much better than the tiny rat II. Would never buy a Rat II when this is available for half the price. Liner lock is a little difficult to disengage. Would highly recommend
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles
Finger lakes region, NY
Jul 01, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
What a deal
This is my first RAT 1 and I have to say it appears to be a very nice knife. For the large dementions it doesn't appear to be a big hulking knife and it carries smaller in the pocket. This knife is ergonomically pleasing as well , feeling good in the hand and the thumb stud placement is good. The blade flicks open very nice. I was torn between the 1 and 2 but I am glad I chose the 1. The size and weight is good. I was expecting the foliage green to be a funky shade due to the price reduction but no, it is very nice. Also Knife Center gets a thumbs up for fast delivery. I ordered it Sunday night and received it Wednesday morning.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lyle
Virginia
Apr 07, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent Large Folder
I ordered this knife to handle chores around camp that might be asking a bit much of a Swiss Army Knife. I couldn't be more pleased. The blade is well-shaped for utility use and came as sharp as I'd want it to be. My experience with AUS-8 has been good, so I expect no trouble there. Neither the pivot point or the lock on the RAT 1 exhibit any slop whatsoever. The ergonomics are excellent, and the placement of the thumb stud is such that the knife almost seems to open itself. While "Foliage Green" wouldn't have been my first color choice for the handle slabs, I'll live with it for $22.95 and may order another before they're gone. I would offer one caution: This isn't a small knife, and it may not lend itself to comfortable pocket carry in lightweight slacks or shorts. If you're looking for an outdoor knife, go for it; if you're looking for an all-around EDC, you might consider the slightly smaller RAT 2. As usual, my KnifeCenter order got here before I actually expected it, and there were no problems with the order.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lucky
Hialeah, Fl
Jun 24, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
I just recently received the Rat1 and I’ve been using it for opening boxes, cutting cord, etc. I really like the feel of the knife. It feels solid, well built. It opens easily and closes just as easily. The blade was sharp out of the box and so far has retained its edge. Really good knife for the price.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom Horn
Illinois
Mar 24, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A Classic at a Retro Price
I, like a millions other folks, carried a RAT 1 folder for years. These are just solid, well designed, fine functioning work horses (D2 version probably even better). Great knife for the bug-out bag, truck, camping, canoeing, hiking, hunting, and everyday utility. They’ll handle whatever comes down the pike.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Fisherman
, Connecticu/RI
Apr 04, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife for heavy duty cutting
I bought this Ontario RAT 1 from Knife Center a few weeks ago as I was looking for a strong folder for a wood trimming project. I made a good choice. This is my first Ontario knife and after using several other folders and fixed blade knives in the past I am very pleased with this RATs performance. The ergonomics are very good. Great grip and balance. When cutting and shaving wood the knife feels like a full tang fixed blade knife. When open the blade is locked in solid. No play or wiggle. The blade snaps open with a sharp snap with an easy flip of the stud. The blade is sharp and has held its edge very well after all cutting. This is a great knlfe at this price point for knife users. A previous review go it right. This RAT is a workhorse.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gyffes
New England
Mar 13, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: None
A terrific knife, especially at this price
I'm not a fan of linerlocks, but I live with it on this knife because it's just TERRIFIC in every other way (and, frankly, it's a fine liner, though the detent is firm enough that the blade CAN tomahawk down on you, so be careful!). I wear XL gloves and this handle fills my hand. I don't like G10 scales because they tend to be too grippy, snagging against the pocket too much: these are rounded and smooth, with just enough texture to stay firmly in the hand. The quasi-choil where the index finger rides is deep and offers excellent protection against riding up the blade during hard use. That 3.6" blade is a perfect size for a knife like this, with clean geometry and a tip-to-hand angle that puts the belly at just the right point for slicing. The open back gives it a clean look and helps you keep it clean, and that liner lock thunks into position with a deep, positive hold, yet isn't a beast to unlock. And I like AUS-8 for a hard-working steel: holds a good enough edge long enough, and freshens up easily. For years, I've purchased Kabar Doziers to hand out to people ("you don't own a knife? you MUST.. here.."). This knife is much better than my beloved Doziers (though I miss the thumb-hole in the blade, my preference over studs) for overall build quality and that longer blade. Gonna buy several of these.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Professor Edge
Tennessee
Mar 07, 2020
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
What a Steel! See what I did there :)
Love this knife and at this price it is a complete no Brainer , I’ve carried it for about a year now and used it on boxes , paper , rope, meat , plastic ties , tape etc.... and it holds a useable edge for awhile and is crazy easy to sharpen . This knife is a steel! :) see what I did there . I’m sure the D2 version is better but I would buy two of these at this price instead .
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Bozeman, Mt
May 14, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Weight
A lot of knife for the money!
I'm not sure what this will cost when you see this review but when I purchased mine it was on sale here for $22.95! That's an astonishing price for this much knife. The lockup is rock solid, the scales are very nice and the grind nicely centered. My sample is among the sharpest folders I've ever found out of the box, truly impressive! Generally in my experience Spydero is about the only brand that sells knives that are reliably sharp enough OOTB that I don't have to touch them up before using but this certainly passes muster. AUS8 is not a 'super steel' by any stretch of the imagination but it's pretty rust resistant and a good choice in this price range. It's new so I can't speak to edge retention but I imagine it will be pretty pedestrian in that regard. Not a huge issue though as AUS8 is pretty easy to sharpen. At the price there's no much to complain about. The lockup is extremely solid and the blade shape is great. The scales are comfortable in the hand and the whole package feels solid. I'd like to have the D2 version but for this price I'll live with the steel. Really the only minor complaint is that it's a tad heavy but certainly not terrible for a knife this size.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Foliage Green FRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Richard
Hollidaysburg, Pa
Apr 25, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
There are always exceptions ...
This is my third Rat model 1, and I've had nothing but good experiences with the first two. The both get heavy use. So when the price lowered to under $25 at Knife Center, picking up another was a no-brainer. Out of the box all looked good. Those FRN scales are wonderful. Great weighting, and an excellent grind on the AUS-8 blade, which came very sharp. What is not so excellent on this example is the liner lock, which doesn't engage properly when opening one-handed. That can be dangerous. It will snap fully into place, but only with the additional leverage provided by a second hand, or a table. When comparing the knife with another RAT Model 1, I find the liner lock mechanism to be identical. And careful scrutiny reveals that the mechanism both knives is not quite as robust as it should be. One was made with more precision than the other, that's all. That precision is no doubt the norm. I never noticed a problem with the first two. Knife Center would process a return in a heartbeat, but it is still a very useful knife. I'll keep it, I just can't rave about it.