Reviews and Ratings for Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles - 8861

Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handlesrated 4.762 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0 inch Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles

 

Price: $36.60

Save $11.35 (24%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
FL
Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great work knife
I use this knife for everything, great grip, opens/locks and closes perfect. Would definitly recommend to any one who needs an everyday cutting tool.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel M
Charlotte, Nc
Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Such a Show Off !
I admit it ! I love showing off this knife. It looks great, carries light & easy clipped or pocketed and opens like lightning. For the price you get a super sharp, sturdy knife that works in the home, garden, garage or office.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Memphis, TN
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel
Cons: None
Great size
I really like the size of the rat II, it fits great in my pocket. It is smaller than the rat I but are a great value.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Northeast, Pa
Mar 17, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Love it for EDC. Slim in the pocket and doesn't take up much room. Highly recommend this over the full size RAT for EDC.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Chicago
Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Ontario Rat 2
GREAT knife, especially for the price. Pocket clip can be moved to 4 differebt spots. Thin, sharp, smoothest NON-spring assist open I've ever seen, perfect for EDC
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Iowa
May 04, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Must buy!!!
The shipping is fast knife is my favorite edc now comes sharp openes fast great overall.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
St charles missouri
Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Well built
EDC works great. Opens fast and with ease . Finish tends to come off around the tip off blade rather easy. First aus 8 blade I bought and I really do like it. Takes an edge 5/5 Holds an edge 3.5/5
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mwebb
San Francisco
Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Unexpectedly well-designed from a "fixed blade" company
Ontario isn't a big name in the premium "folding knife" world - I tend to think of Benchmade, Spyderco, and Cold Steel in the first echelon, with Kershaw having a somewhat unique niche in "assisted opening" folders, and CRKT still being that "upstart knife company" that first made a splash with the novelty K.I.S.S. knife but also made a lot of Kit Carson's designs available at budget prices - "custom" style knives at "big factory" low prices. There are other makers of folders that come to mind too - Gerber, Buck, SOG. Like I said, Ontario doesn't come to mind first. But they have one really good thing (and potentially bad thing) going for them: they're a big producer of bayonets, machetes, and fighting knives for the US military - read up on them at Wikipedia - they've been in business since 1889. The good thing is, they know fighting knives and they know their knives have to basically function. As knives. Not as show-pieces or pocket jewelry. Nothing fancy or exotic. Just have to get the job done. The bad side of being a military supplier is budget constraints. Over the past few years, Ontario has wisely rolled out functional, more or less tactical, fixed blade designs. No exotic steels, no gaudy flourishes, but good solid performance. I have the RAT 3 fixed blade and it is a very sturdy, workmanlike knife, about as modern as you can get and a great relief after the chrome plated (!) "Bowie" knife that was all that I could find as a 16 y.o. decades and decades ago in the local hardware shop. The RAT 3 takes a terrific edge, it has a good grind angle, it shows rust "love spots" on the uncoated edge (the rest of the blade is a flat industrial black, nothing pretty about it, but highly functional) because it has classic high carbon steel that can be quickly resharpened, holds its edge a reasonable length of time, and doesn't chip easily. When I saw Ontario come out with their folding pocket knives, I had to see what they were up to, especially at the budget prices they rolled out with, and especially given they were being made in Taiwan instead of China (some knives coming out of China now are very very good, but Taiwan and Seki City Japan set the gold standard these days). My only quibble with the Rat 2 folder is the glossiness of the black blade coating, and the lack of "grip" on the handle. Ontario has strayed - slightly - from their military industrial complex beginnings into pocket jewelry. Nothing wrong with the design, don't get me wrong, for a "freshman effort" it is outstanding in fact - I love the cut out for the finger, and I love the fact that the thumb stud doesn't get in the way of the blade's cutting action (it is set close to the handle over the unsharpened part of the blade). So don't hesitate to get this if you like Cold Steel, Kershaw, Spyderco, Benchmade - Ontario is playing in the big leagues now. Just like Ka Bar hit a home run with their Dozier (an updated riff on the classic Gerber LST), Ontario is hitting a home run with this Rat 2, which is a riff on the Emerson fighters. What I'd LIKE to see from Ontario, maybe on a limited edition or alternative edition, are the following: - dull, funky black finish instead of the slick current black finish (like the RAT 3 fixed blade); - good old high carbon, rusty steel, the gold standard for edges and durability; and - make me cry out in pain, grippy G10 style scales. ... while keeping the ultra tight tolerances and superb "fit" of the current model. Please note that every conceivable clip carry position is covered - there are holes for remounting the carry clip on all 3 remaining corners of the knife. It arrived as sharp as you can get, given the geometry of the blade (I'd just say "razor sharp," but unless it's razor think, technically no knife can be "razor" sharp, right?), and the grind appears perfectly uniform. Thanks to modern safety concerns - which fortunately Emerson at least continues to ignore, which I think they can do given their typical customer profile - this has a stiff as heck "opening detent" to keep the blade from accidentally opening in your pocket. The irony of this stiff opening detent (really a tiny ball-bearing that catches in a tiny cavity on the blade) is that I have to use extra force with my thumb on the opening stud to get the blade past the detent to open it. The extra force causes the ball of my thumb to flatten agains the edge of the blade, and I know have a series of (non bleeding) tiny lacerations on the ball of my thumb. If you need to be able to open this knife under stress without slicing your thumb (slightly) while opening, you will need to tape over the portion of the blade closest to the handle, where the ball of your thumb lands. Or maybe your thumb won't hit it at all, just be aware as you practice opening. (On my Emerson's, the lack of a stiff detent and width of the blade mean this is never a problem. Of course many if not most Emerson's have a blade geometry that is not well-suited to everyday chores like opening packages and cutting fruit -which this Ontario does well.) I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this to knife fans who have a couple of Jackson's lying around, even if your knife drawer looks like it is getting full....
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
Rhode Island
May 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great edc
Perfect EDC I use it for everything
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon M.
Illinois
Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My Favorite Knife!
This is my favorite knife. It comes very sharp out of the box. The fit and finish is superb. The blade just flies out with a flick of the thumbstud. I like the feel of it in my hand (I wear large size gloves to give you an idea of how big my hands are). I have only put it through some light use so far, but I've owned its big brother the Rat-1 folder so I know what it could be capable of since the Rat-2 is exactly the same, only 20% smaller. It is what I carry at work and out of town (too big to carry in my city).
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
In your closet
Jun 04, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very nice
Great edc very very solid and sharp
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vasu R
Dubai, Other
Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
First Impression
As said in my review for the White River Backpacker, full marks to the Knifecenter staff. Cost benefit ratio of this much reviewed and hallowed knife is near perfect. Blade flies out smooth from the first opening. It is centered perfectly and came out razor sharp. Not as sharp as the WRKT Backpacker but that cost 4 times as much and is an S30V fixed blade.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodland Tactical
California
May 11, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great little EDC
Nothing bad to say other than it's too small for my hand. If you need a good budget blade that is small and won't scare everyone around you this is the perfect knife!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Serpent Lord
Bowling Green, Ky
Mar 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
1/2 Size Companion
In my review of the RAT-1 I asked for a smaller version and Ontario must have read and liked the idea too. Thank you for listening! First off, the picture comparison they show doesn't do the sizing comparison justice. 5oz. down to 2.7oz. Blade length 3.6" to 3", it's a smaller size blade though, approx. 1" to approx. 3/4" wide and 4/32" to a little less than 3/32" thick; dual thumb studs on both. Same goes for the handle: 5" closed to 4", but also 1 1/4" high to 1" and 1/2" to 7/16" wide. Also 5 spines down to 4; the liners have the same appearance(hardened) otherwise. From using the RAT-1, I can attest to the AUS-8 having good edge retention; no worrries there. Very sharp out of the box. Ontario has made a nicely sized EDC. It's neither too small nor too big. And to elaborate there, the blade length comes out to be a little longer than other EDC knives. $10 cheaper than the RAT-1 is maybe what most people will see unfortunately. I have two RAT-1's and now will also enjoy using the Model 2 probably more(often). LOL, the blade is still flickable if you're wondering!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luis
California U.S.
Apr 08, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material
Great Knife, excellent EDC
I love the RAT 1 and I love this RAT 2, I highly recomend for any one interested in a great little pocket knife that will take some abuse. Sadly the one I purchased came dull, a first. I have purchased 4 RAT 1s and this was the first from Ontario Knife company to come dull so I believe it was a fluke. Still this a great lil' knife.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex A
Knoxville, Tn
Feb 23, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
The best affordable EDC on the market. Ergonomics are great. Thumb ramp and gimping provide great grip. Great deployment via thumb stud. Liner lock gets the job done. G10 handles are always good. This knife gets a 10/10 from me.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Old Fox
Pok Fu Lam, Hong Kong
Mar 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Nice edc
The knife is great. I had a rat 1 in d2 which was perfect but a bit too big for edc. That's why I came to a rat 2. The knife is great like his bigger brother but they lock worries me a bit. The liner lock gets the job done but it is a very late lock up. The lock up is like 95% out of the box. It's solid though. No blade play, no sign of failure. But it is kind of irritating to see such a late lock up in a new knife. The lock up is so late that the detention ball is almost hitting the opposit side. It should be a problem for now and as long as it is solid, I am fine.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael W
St Charles Mo, Mo
Mar 02, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
We'll built.
I use product as a EDC. First experience with aus-8 and I enjoy it, takes wicked edge and so far from light everyday use I haven't had to re sharpen. I had already looked over reviews and videos before hand and I pretty much got what I expected, nice sturdy pocket knife.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brent
Las Vegas
Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Rat model 2
Good little pocket knife. Good for the casual user. Not a hard use or tactical knife in my opinion. My EDC is ZT knives - so the Rat 2 is smaller and lighter but wouldn't take the beating of a ZT (although hard to compare at the price point I know). Rat 2 will get you through small tasks, get you into trouble but wont get you out of trouble.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey V.
New York
Sep 10, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Excessively tight pocket clip
Just bought this last week. The pocket clip is way too tight. I can't use it. I can barely pull it from the knife body with my finger. I'll let it sit in my pocket loose. Not the end of the world.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Black Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gabriel
Montreal
Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good knife for the buck!
I bought this knife 2 weeks ago and i absolutely love it. It came very sharp and even after some hard cutting, it is still sharp. I almost don't feel in my pocket and the clip is tight so it doesn't fall off. The only cons is the black coating on the blade, it started to peel off after some heavy cardboard(~1 inch thickness). So i only suggest to take one without black coating if you want it to look good for a long time.