Reviews and Ratings for Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle - 7150

Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handlerated 4.474 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6 inch Blade, Hardwood Handle

 

Price: $13.95

Save $5.55 (28%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grizzly
Canada
Mar 15, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Awesome knife

Will be using it to cut heavy fat from pork, lamb and beef roasts.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pew
Jackson, MI
Apr 26, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Excellent Throwing Knife

This curved skinner is an excellent throwing knive. Nice and light to throw, yet strong and stiff enough to not rebound dangerously. Throw it with it's edge up, gripping it's handle and keeping your wrist stiff; don't flip it! It will hit on its point, edge up, then curve further in to make nearly a 2-inch cut in the target block. This is a big advantage over an ordinary slender knive which sticks making a very narrow cut. The wider cut is more apt to "touch" the card or cut the line into the next higher scoring target ring. It'll be a good idea to wrap the handle with non-stretch thin cord to reinforce the attachment and perhaps prevent splitting the wood with a bad throw. Dull all but the end 3 inches of the blade to make it safer to handle. Do not sharpen the blunt edge of the tip. Double-edge knives may not be legal, and you want it to hit there and pivot on in to a wider cut. Throw from about 15 feet for one turn and about 30 feet for two turns. Plant your right foot at that distance and throw without taking a step. Follow through bending at the waist as you throw. Never throw at live trees. It makes big scars that never go away. Get 6-10 thick inch slab of a 2-3 ft dia log at your tree service place and mount it on a 2x4 tripod to throw at.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron J
Western PA
Dec 03, 2015
Pros: Construction, Durability, Overall Quality, Material Quality, Design, None
Cons: Sharpness

Nice feel in hand

Nice feel in hand. I however agree with reviewers that mention the knife is DULL when it arrives. The edge is un finished and will require some stone time to bring out an edge that you will like and will not need redo e every 5 minutes.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bigmaddad
Ohio
May 01, 2017
Pros: Design, Construction, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Great

Can't complain about anything it came sharp and ready to use. Going to order a second one
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Mckinney, Tx
Jan 24, 2018
Pros: Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability
Cons: Sharpness, None

Great value

This knife has great value. A 1095 blade for less than $15? Great value. The edge isn't the sharpest but the best part is sharpening 1095 is so easy a caveman can do it! This blade will last a lifetime if cared for properly.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
Small Town Iowa
Dec 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Excellent Value

After resharpening this I used it for slicing summer sausage. This is an Old Hickory curved butcher knife Manufactured by Ontario. No frills, just a quality full tang blade with a simple hardwood handle. The tip point of the blade is blunt for safety while the full length of the blade is available for slicing / cutting. Ballanced and comfortable in the hand for hours of use. Simple robust durable cost - effective cutlery.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carolyn B
malagash,n.s.
Dec 30, 2011
Pros: Sharpenability, Durability, Sharpness, Material Quality
Cons: None

my best knife

It is very easy to use and easy to sharpen. stays sharp longer then the other knives I have.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim L
Indianapolis
Oct 05, 2015
Pros: Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability
Cons: Sharpness, None

Nice and heavy.

These knives feel great in the hand. I bought this to modify into a general use outdoor knife. This knife will fill that purpose excellently. Thickness is almost twice that of the butcher knives.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
David E
Pine Bluff, AR
Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great knife, been looking for one like this for a long time. Just was not sure what brand it was or where to find one. My uncle has been using one like it for about 40 years.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
John B
Valley Center, CA
Oct 20, 2011
Pros: Sharpness, Sharpenability, Durability
Cons: None

This is just a great simple knife

I am a hunter and have already used this knife to skin and butcher a wild boar. It holds an edge and is just right for skinning.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wooleyfrank
beulaville,nc
Apr 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None

excellent

well i butcher my own meats at home and the old hickory knives i purchased from the knifecenter are of top quality and just like the old timie ones
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Nov 17, 2010
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Great skinner

Made in America, full tang, priced right. Not very sharp. In about 30 min I had it shaving hair. Really like the curved blade for skinning deer.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Changoleon
oklahoma okc.
Oct 17, 2009
Pros: Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: Sharpness, Design, None

its ok for the price

its cheap. not so sharp. but fooor the price its a good knife. goat skining.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lawrence M
Grand Junction, Co
Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
I will use this for skinning big game; hopefully elk and deer. It has a great belly for long cuts, and the point is not so sharp as to cut unwanted holes in the hide. It had a "hair edge" burr but with minimal sharpening this was gone and I had a near razor edge.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Old Timer
Beaverton, Michigan
May 16, 2010
Pros: Sharpenability, Durability, None
Cons: Sharpness

Nice Knife

I use them for butchering. I like the steel blade for holding an edge. I do not like the fact that it takes two days to sharpen on a stone.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jackattack
Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Material Quality, Construction, Durability
Cons: None
It's a nice skinning knife the only slight problem was it came a little dull but nothing a little work can't fix I did like that the spine of of blade was a little thicker than I was expecting it give it some nice heft for a skinner but all in all for the price it's a great knife
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ronbow
NE Florida
Jul 22, 2009
Pros: Sharpenability, Design, Durability
Cons: None

Good for the price

Bought the knife to rebuild it and it turned out good. New handles and cut down the blade to resemble a scimitar design. Great buy for the money.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jon
New England
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Durability, Sharpenability, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpness

What do you want for 10 bucks?

I purchased this knife to re-grind and rehandle as a project to practice some knife making skills. The knife as shipped is dull, with a pooly finished handle. It is made of a decent steel, and did take an edge rather easily.
Old Hickory Skinning Field Knife 6" Blade, Hardwood Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
David
Sacramento, CA
Oct 08, 2015
Pros: Design, Material Quality, Construction
Cons: Sharpness, Overall Quality, None

A knife That Needed More Love When It Was Born

I planned to use this knife for dressing the game. I thought its design and construction would be just the right thing to get the job done. The primary Bevel was uneven, and the sharpening was not finished. It was a butter knife in disguise of a skinner. I personally feel that the employee who did this to this knife should be terminated, and the QC follow him out the door, too. I will just work on this knife on my spare time to uncover its potential.