Reviews and Ratings for NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter) - 21305

NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)rated 3.947 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
2
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large  Fire Starter)

 

Price: $11.99

View Product Details
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andre
Australia
Oct 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Thicker than the average firesteel!

A very nice thick firesteel compared to others I've bought for a higher price, sturdy and it's guaranteed that this thing will last for quite a damn long time.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
El
Montgomery, AL
Nov 25, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great Product

I have not yet had a chance to use this steel to actually start any fires. However, it is well made and throws sparks excellently. I use the spine of a VG-10 knife to strike and it works great. It is a large steel, so if you are looking for something to fit in a loop, the diameter of the rod may be a bit too large, just something to consider.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blackwolves
Up a tree.
Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

They work well.

Despite what others have said, these rods perform well even in rough conditions or with cold hands. I have used them for several years now, and have lit fires (usually with one strike). Fire in a fireplace once a day, everyday, all winter every year without an issue. Camp fires just as easily. If it isn't working..it's either user error, the wrong or not enough tinder, or the striker (or what ever you are using). I use the back edge on the knife of a leatherman skeletool. Works every time and a heavy shower.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vern C
ALABAMA
Aug 08, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Use

Great fire steel

Gave it 5 stars because it fits my Benchmade Bushcrafter 162 sheath to a tee and you can tie off the para cord to the D ring but the steel striker is JUNK just take two pairs of pliers and twist it and it will break off and use your knife blade to strike with..
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr.Pettersson
The far north of Sweden
Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Better than the smaller alternatives

Compared to its smaller cousins in the same series it produces a much higher number of sparks which increases its chanses of a successfull ignition. The wear is about the same as any other firesteel I have used but due to the quantity of material it will have a longer lifetime. I have used both this and the smaller versions in the Swedish Armed Forces but this is the size that I also use privately. Both versions has held up in wet and sub-zero temperatures this far. For those who have problems with its usage: It comes with a thin layer of coating to prevent corrosion, you will have to remove this in order to produce sparks (just a couple of grinds with the flat metal scraper it comes with). Learning how to use a firesteel takes time and practise makes perfect, buy some cheaper firesteel to practise on (as you will eat up alot of material with the wrong techniques and overall practise).
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Butterfingers
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 18, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Pyromania!!

If you want a fail safe back up to start fires with, this is a great choice! I haven't actually taken it back packing yet, but I tried it at home and it shoots a ton of sparks at a pretty high temp! Even though it's made in China, it seems to be decent quality.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al312
lavena ponte tresa, Italy
Sep 11, 2010
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None

Always dry

terms are tested in extreme rain, easy to use
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leon Simon
Las Vegas, Nevada
May 26, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Las Vegas sportsman

Nice size. Easy to hold while striking sparks. Throws alot of hot sparks. Easy to start fire in kindling.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lt. Garcia
Jul 28, 2010
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None
Fantastic price and great customer service
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Neal Van Milligen
Owensboro, KY
May 31, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Instant fire

Whoa, what a fire starter.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Roger
San Diego
Aug 14, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None

Throw away the striker...use your knife

More and larger sparks than "light my fire" rods. Attached striker gouged alot of material off the rod but very few sparks. Squared back of my carbon steel knives works great!
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jonathan
Göttebörg, Sweden
Jul 15, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Use

Cool to have

Nice to have with you. But as long as your lighter works, that is hundreds times easier to use.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tb
baton rouge, LA
Dec 12, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Use

IT WORKS

It was hit and miss at first....sparks, no sparks. I tried another day and got a fire going. It's getting easier, but can't say that it's easy, yet. Glad I bought it though. It's useful for camping and startin the barby. There is a coating on it, as others have mentioned. So that explains initial difficulty.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve
Austria
Jan 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

big positive surprise

almost the same level like light my fire in comparison to the Strikeforce the sparks survive for some time when they touch the ground. the attached scraper uses too much material, the back of a knife is better
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 3 stars out of 5
Old Vermont Hippy
VT
Jun 04, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Ease of Use

Decent rod. Junk striker (but can be mod)

The ferrocerium rod itself seems fine. With a good striker it throws a good, not great, but certainly sufficient spark. It remains to be seen how long it will last. Is it solid, or almost solid ferrocerium, or just a thin coating as I've found with some cheaper Chinese products? As others have written the striker is useless junk. It does not look like the simple one pictured on the website. Instead it has a notch in front, which does not come close to matching the size of the rod. So if you attempt to strike a spark there is minimal contact between rod and striker. I broke off the useless part of the striker (bending back and forth with pliers) and then squared off the new front with belt sander. Voila! sparks. Now I have a decent fire rod. But for $12?
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 2 stars out of 5
Charles B
Canada
Jul 04, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Use

Quite a hassle

I've got a lifetime of trips in the wild and survival experience, and I'm always looking for neat gadgets to help in harsh situations. But somehow I can't understand the purpose of this firestarter. Unless you've got the perfect, dry material at hand, it's completely useless, more expensive and bulkier than your average lighter. I've tried this one in the boreal forest with various combinations of pretty optimal material with no luck. After an hour you'll get a serious pain in your wrist and fingers. It's best for harder-than-hardcore survival enthousiasts but more as a challenge than anything else, because it fails to be practical.
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 2 stars out of 5
Chris
Daly City, Ca
Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Army product? I doubt it!

My rating is quite low because I was really disappointed with the overall quality. First things first, the pro(s): The sparkles are pretty intense and seemed to be enough to start a fire (haven't tried though!). Now the cons: The string broke after few uses (really weak) but I guess it doesn't really matter 'cause using the back side of a knife works better than this thin metal piece. What really got me off is the grip! After using this "tool" few times the stick flew away while the grip was still in my hands. I'll have to glue them back together... If this happens in a survival situation I would eat cold tonight. A product from the Swedish army? I doubt it!
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jonny
Sweden
Oct 03, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Ease of Use

Got another one

I didnt even get the proforce fire steel! The one I got couldnt make spark in my own livingroom. Really worthless and a real scam!
NDūR Swedish Style Fire Steels & Striker Army (Large Fire Starter)
rated 1 stars out of 5
Matthew M
Lancaster, Pa
Dec 04, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Ease of Use

Do not buy! Find the real thing instead!

This item is a real disappointment. The string is cheap polypropylene. The "Fastex-looking" zipper pull is a crumby knockoff with excess plastic around the edges. The metal striker is rough all the way around and could easily cut it's way through a fabric pouch over time. The rod and handle are cheap-looking and when struck - it is very difficult to produce sparks. It took several attempts to even begin producing sparks. I have a real Swedish firesteel and it has always produced intense sparks. I'll probably sell this one at a yard sale or give it away.