Reviews and Ratings for Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath - HS1

Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheathrated 4.000 stars out of 5 (40 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
8
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125 inch Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath

 

Price: $17.95

Save $10.05 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jenny
Wytheville, VA
Jan 29, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Exactly what I wanted
This honesteel was ordered for my daughter as a present, she was so pleased, and my husband couldn't believe that we had found one just like the one he has had for years. Thanks for an awesome product.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim S
Eustis, Florida
Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Use
Found this in an old house...
My wife is a Realtor and I found this steel in an old house I cleaned out for her. It must be one of the original ones as it appears to be at least 30 years old. It doesn't appear to have ever been used as the instruction sheet was still folded up and stuck in the sheath. It works well, although I'm used to a round 12" steel. I'll keep it with my camping gear as it is a little difficult to hold in use. Seems well made and does put a fine edge on my pocket knife...can't beat the price...haha...
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Keblair
jackson,ms
Dec 12, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great product, steel honesteels of good quality are hard to find, nice leather case
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P.
Goose Creek, SC
Oct 05, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent
A sharpener, bone breaker and pry tool-great for the back pack and survival woods kit. Having multi-use gear is always a space saver. I gave it a try right off with some 440 C and some carbon steel blades-worked as well, actually better, than some much more expensive steels. A great value.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Silverado
Burney Ca.
Jan 01, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel Sharpening Stone,Leather Lanyard and Sheat
I bought one 26 years ago, it gets used very often and my son asked to borrow it, as I sharpen his knives when we go hunting each year. Well he lives 900 miles away, so I bought one for him. It works as well today as it did when I first got it. Very easy to use, excellent quality steel, with excellent results. Highly recommend this sharpening tool!
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Suze
Blue Ridge Mountains of VA
May 15, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Daddy's honesteel
Dad gave all three of us kids a Schrade honesteel sometime during the 1970s. I've used it all these years and cherish it because Dad gave it to me and showed me how to use it. We're an Appalachian farm family, and I grew up on a self-sufficient farm in the Blue Ridge Mountains, so sharp knives, axes and other cutting tools were essential. Thanks, Dad.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
conroe, tx
Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
the Best sharpener ever
i have had one of these for over 30 yrs and it never fails to put an edge you can shave with on your knife. i have tried many other sharpening products but none stnds up the the Honesteel for ease, simplicity and effectiveness. if you are a deer hunter you know how tough it canbe to cut through the brisket of a big old buck. usr the wedge tip of the honesteel with a rock or other driver and it goes right thru. The 4 i bought this yr are gifts for my sons and a hunting friend. the KnifeCenter shipped the same day and were the only place i found with more than 1 in stock.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony R
Tempe, Az
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great field tool
We have use my Dad's Honesteel to bust through the pelvis of many game animals, makes field-dressing a breeze! The only hard part is finding the right rock to pound on it with.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlotte
Texas
Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Review
Sharpening knifes and splitting deer...
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Machete Man...
San Antonio
Aug 31, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Sharpening steel
Great sharpening steel, use it to put a razor edge on my machete, easy to use and wont wear out, works a lot better than a stone and the leather case is awesome.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Burbank, Il
Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
WOW
I am amazed at the quality of this tool,just the sheath is worth the price I paid & the tool is great.This is for my bugout bag,all my knifes are razor sharp, & this will keep them sharp,till I can stone them,thanks again knifecenter!
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronny
Arkansas
Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Hone Steel
I have had a hone steel for 30 + years, and have used them very regularly. Most every knife in the kitchen has been worked on including all my hunting knives during the season. Once you use them and know how to use them, you can't get by without them. I had misplaced mine and was about to go crazy trying to find it. It was a God send that I found your web site and the item that I was needing. Since then, after searching almost all of my stuff, I found mine. Now I have two, I feel a lot better.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryce Hutchens
Euless, TX
Jan 26, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Exactly what I was looking for!
Generally speaking, if you're using your knife correctly, you will never need to bring a stone in the field with you. I had always brought a sharpening steel with me to realign the edge, but it is rather long and thus hard to carry without bringing a pack. This works BETTER than a steel, and is much easier to carry.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shane
Missouri
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great product
I got this because my father in law has one from 1973 and his works well and has lasted to this day after close to 40 years of use. Well let me tell you, I don't know what everyone is talking about when they say the newer ones are not as good. We did a side by side comparison and they were identical in the job they did. Excellent product. I don't expect to outlive this thing. I think it will last forever.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dallas
Southern Florida
Dec 22, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Old school tool
It is ready to go in my pack There is a great sheath and it works AMAZING.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry
Las Vegas Nv.
Mar 31, 2020
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability
Cons: None
Old time owner
I bought my HS-1 around 1985. I have used it to cut thru deer and antelope pelvis bone and sharpen knives ever since. If this one ever wears out I will buy another one. This is March oh 2020 so thats 35 years of service. Hard to argue.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave Rowe
Lafayette Indiana
Feb 03, 2011
Pros: Durability
Cons: None
Easy too use
Butchered 8 deer this year 11 last year. My son can finally sharpen his own knives using the Shrade old Timer Honesteel so I bought one for him to have so his wife could have sharp knives around the kitchen.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ladybugg
lucedale, ms
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
my husband LOVES this sharpening stone
its works great!! sharpens knives easy and quick. could not believe how great it is.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
A.R. Lavalle
NM
Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Old Timer Knife Sharpener
I love it! The Old Timer quickly turns a nice sharp edge on my Buck knife. It's easily carried and an indispensable accessory when in the woods on a hunt. At home it's always by my knife rack, ready to grab up and use on my straight edge kitchen knifes. I've owned and used the Old Timer knife sharpener for over 34 years. I recently gave miine to one of my sons after he lost his Thanks Schrade, your product is great!!
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James B
flordia
Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None
old timer honestell
have used these steels for years i like them for stainless knives they true a turned blade without taking material off blade
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sneaky Pete
North Carolina
May 19, 2019
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great edge toolI am writing because
I am writing this brief note to make everyone aware that I disagree with the complainers. I have ordered two of these within the past 4 or 5 yrs. They are excellent and keep my knives razor sharp in the field. I have a steel that Buck used to make. It is retractable and lockable. It is my prize steel unfortunately Buck stopped making them. They were simply awesome and I would buy at least two more of those if buck could make them again. These two old timers work just as well and I frequently use them in the field where razor sharp to me means hair splitting sharp. Most knife owners do not know how to sharpen their knives that sharp. These honing steels do a tremendous job primarily because I know how to use them and that these are great steels. I give five stars and more for these steels. An old friend of mine who raises hogs has to do castrations frequently and as least painfully as possible to the critter. I was awed by his blade sharpness and so he showed me how to do it. Complainers need someone to teach them. Issue settled !!!
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Tn
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Product
Great product for the money
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Susie-Q
oneonta al
Jan 24, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Effectiveness
My husband said this would last him the rest of his life. He also said these were hard to find, so thank you.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cesar
São Paulo, Brazil
Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This thing works!
I took time to write this review in order to advise customers against bad reviews of this tool on the web. I received this from KnifeCenter with certain concerns, because I readed it is a poor China knockoff of old Schrade Warden 70s/80s HS1. In fact it is not a junk, but a very handy and effective tool for its purpose. The HS1 Honesteel is not intented for those who need to make an edge on a dull knife, but for those who want to keep a sharp knife sharp. It is a strong carbon steel bar scratched on the sides, where you will strike your Blade to align the edges and get a fine and smooth cut. Nothing more, nothing less. The tool was designed to be a strong Field sharpener, where carry a stone may break it. The sheath is very good and strong, serving as handle for the Honesteel and as strop on the back side. The lanyard is somewhat weak and soft, despite being leather, so I replaced for a good string of paracord. Then, if you plan to buy this to be a helpful sharpening accessory, go ahead. Do not be influenced by negative reviews. My impression is those who wrote a bad review dont know the right use of the tool.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen E
plaquemine, la
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Schrade Old Timer
great product. bought it to peplace my old Gerber steel.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lee N
Aurora Missouri
May 11, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I'm purchasing another one gladly receive one handed down to me
I wanted to make this review to let anyone know that is an outdoorsman at all not hesitate to purchase this steel I have seen this deal in action by my grandfather and my father growing up and hope to one day own it myself and now I do. It makes your life very easy if you know how to use it properly. from cutting up venison with all The various knives to process a deer from start to finish skinning to cutting it into steaks. Naturally it is very good for every day kitchen use as well. Great to have on the counter next to you when you're filleting your limit of white bass and Crappie. I was very pleased to finally sit down and search for a replacement and discover there were some out there for sale. Going to buy a back up in case mine ever goes missing and a few as gifts for nephews and friends
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom H
Illinois
Aug 31, 2018
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None
What the …? Has Old Timer Gone Senile?
Whoa, Nellie! I see what the problem is, and why many say this thing doesn’t sharpen. Problem is, this thing didn’t know what it wanted to be when it grew up, so it became a bum. Let’s start with a few basic concepts. A “honing steel,” “butcher steel,” is not a knife sharpener. It is used to realign the micro edge on your blade (rolling/chipping), thus prolonging the sharpness of your blade between sharpenings. It doesn’t remove steel from the blade. There are knife sharpeners made of steel. They’re called files, and have UNIFORM sharp ridges cut into hardened steel that remove metal from the blade you’re sharpening. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Upon receiving the Old Timer Honesteel I noted that the wide flat surfaces seemed to have been roughed up with a rotary rasp/gouge that had left divots, spikes, gouges, and grooves running length wise of varying depths/sizes (very rough). It didn’t look to me like anything that would sharpen, but, just to see if there were some miracle mechanical principles of physics at play, that I didn’t know about, I took my EDC utility folder that was just starting to dull, and tried sharpening it on the wide flat area of the hone steel. The hone steel completed the dulling process (I imagine further rolling the edge, and taking further small chips from the blade edge). That is what I suspected it would do. Next I tried to use the rounded edge of the hone steel as a proper butcher steel, but found the rotary gouge had not spared the edge of the hone steel, and it was too rough to use as a butcher steel. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> So, I took the hone steel to my EZ LAP medium diamond bench stone (#EZL92M, available @ KnifeCenter.com) and tried to smooth out the wide flat surfaces of the hone steel a bit. After a 1/2 hour I discovered that: 1.) The rotary gouge had dug a dip in both sides of the hone steel, so that I would have to remove 1/16” of metal just to get the hone steel flat again, if it ever started that way. 2.) that this was going to be a time consuming project (would go faster on a belt sander). 3.) Hone steel would fall out of the sheath after I had removed all that metal from it. I have opted to just smooth out the edges of the hone steel to use as a butcher steel (1 ½ hrs. estimated time to smooth out edges on bench stone). >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Your best butcher steels are smooth (see: Boker German Made Sieger Long Life Ruby Sharpener, Item # BO09SR001, available @ KnifeCenter.com). They prolong the life of an edge between sharpening, therefore, prolonging the life of your knife with less sharpening over its lifetime (less steel removed from the blade). Smith & Sons, and Grossman Knives make nice D2 steel pocket hone steels that are around $60. The Grossman Survival Tool (GST) was featured on pg. 32 of the Sept/Oct issue of Knives Illustrated. It is very similar to this Old Timer Honesteel, but they used a 36-grit ceramic belt to UNIFORMLY texture the flats of the hone steel, so as, to use as a sharpener/file (edges are smooth, to use as butcher steel). I went on BTI, LLC website (parent Company of Old Timer), and found the O.T. Honesteel is 6.20 oz. of A3 tool steel (1.25% carbon). Not a bad steel for the purpose; can be (and seems to be) tempered to 57-62 HRC. If you put in $60 worth of your time on Old Timer Honesteel, you’ll have a nice $25 pocket hone steel w/ $20 sheath. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Since there are no instructions included, here is how to use Honesteel once you have smoothed out the edges. HOW TO USE: After several cuts with your sharp knife blade, when you just start to notice the blade dragging, not cutting as well as the first cuts, lightly hone the edge of your blade on the smoothed, rounded edge of the Honesteel with alternating forward/downward strokes. It will realign the micro edge on your blade. The number of cuts you can perform before you need to, “steel,” will vary, depending on the material your cutting, and the type of steel your blade is made of. Cleaning a fish, or cutting cardboard, you may need to steel after just a few cuts. Slicing meat, or cutting rope you may get many more cuts before needing to steel the edge. Keeping a proper angle is essential. Practice at home with the knife you will be honing in the field on a bench stone using the magic marker method, until you can consistently duplicate the proper angle on the steel. Don’t use too much pressure. You’re not trying to remove metal. Once blade is dull you’ll need to re-sharpen, and the hone steel is pretty much useless. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> The Old Timer Honesteel has a nice 30° double bevel chisel on the end that should work great for splitting kindling/wood for cooking fire, or notching/grooving wood. This will also save steel on your good camp knives. The leather sheath is very nice, too. Although, this hone steel has some drawbacks, once you put some time into it, you will have a nice pocket steel that will save metal on your field knives, and prolong their longevity. And, when you’re field dressing that deer on a frosty November morn, you can take pride in the fact that your knife is staying sharp because of the time and effort you put into this hone steel.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Granhefe
TEJAS
Oct 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Overall Quality
good steel
SEEMS TO BE GOOD OF QUALITY
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Travelightribe
Brussels
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Effectiveness
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7" Sharpening Stone, Leather Lanyard and S
Great sharpening tool for on the road with a nice sheath.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe
Kodiak
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel
Does a good job finishing off a sharp knife. I was hoping the edges were grooved like the old Gerber steel for rough sharpening.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Richard H.
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, None
Cons: Ease of Use
Meh
Awkward to use. Too short and too wide to get a good grip. It does what it's supposed to, but I'm uncomfortable with it. Weight is also a problem. My next purchase will be a simple sharpening steel that I can throw in the pack.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bear
aurora ill
Mar 30, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Durability
decent product
its a good steel but the old ones were better
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mntn Man
virginia
Nov 24, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
don't buy
you can use this steel if all you want is a dull blade
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Scott
Lexington KY
Feb 24, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
nearly useless
Was looking for a replacement for my old buck steel. this isn't it. nice shealth, looks nice, doesn't work to dress up blades at all.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Tom H
Illinois
Sep 27, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Review Retraction
After spending 4 hours trying to smooth out all the gouges on the sides of Old Timer Honesteel, I tried my EDC folder in AUS8 (57-59 HRC) on the Honesteel edge, like a butcher steel. When the blade hit a slight imperfection it went chattering along the Honesteel, taking metal off the Honesteel, leaving a washboard road effect on the Honesteel's edge. It appears the Honesteel wasn't hardened properly, if AUS8 can cut into it. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I sent the Honesteel to Batenfeld Technologies customer service, parent company of Old Timer, with a letter stating the problem, included e-mail, phone number, and address. That was three weeks ago, and I haven't heard a word back from them, as yet. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> In the meantime, I ordered the Gossman Survival Tool, from Scott Gossman, of Gossman Knives (D2 steel). It is everything Old Timer Honesteel is supposed to be. See original review below.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Louis W
Utah
Apr 24, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
I previously owned a schrade Honesteel Sharpening Stone. I lost it about 15 years ago. When I found out they were available online I purchased two of them for me and my sone. I have utilized them thinking they would be as effective as the old one. I was wrong. The steel is not of quality material, it does not sharpenen the blade as the old steel and I am sorry I was naive enough to buy these pieces of junk.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Old Sailor
SILVERDALE WASHINGTON STATE
Nov 03, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
SCHRADE OLDTIMER HS1 HONE STEEL
I purchased this hone steel from BATTENFELD PRODUCTS and it was delivered very quickly. When I inspected the item it was very clear that there was a problem with the surface of the product. The grooves were not very deep at all. When I ran my knife blade across it I could not feel ANY drag. Almost like running across a smooth piece of steel. I found it to be very unsatisfactory and when the company sent me an e-mail asking me to fill out a survey, I did so stating the above. The customer service rep. was very sorry to hear this an promptly sent me another hone steel at no cost to me. This is something that they did not have to do and it was very much appreciated! When the replacement hone steel arrived I found it to be just as unsatisfactory as the first one. I used it in the normal way by running my knife blade across it still feeling no DRAG. I held the blade stationary and ran the hone steel across it like I was using a file. I still could not feel any DRAG. I have an old Schrade hone steel that I bought 20 some odd years ago. It was an OUTSTANDING product, made in the U.S.A. but is about worn out. I can still feel a DRAG when I run my blade across it. These new hone steels are made of a different grade of metal and made in China. It is my belief that there is no U.S.A. rep / inspector in China to insure that there is QUALITY CONTROL! I absolutely would not recommend buying this product
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ron
Clinton, MS
Mar 12, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7" Sharpening Steel
In a side by side comparison the old 1970's ones (carbon steel) did better job at touching up an edge on a variety of knifes than the new ones (A3 Stainless from China). The new ones actually dulled the blades. Noticed as I stroked the blade against the new steel it was rough at first with what appeared to be burs. The burs were removed with a few strokes and the steel appears to have multiply flat spots. Disappointed to say the least.
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Terry P.
San Antonio, TX
Nov 28, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness
China did not do it justice
I still have one of the USA HS1 honestreel my father gave me in 1972. It has kept all my knifes razor sharp to date. I would work the knife on the wet stone, and finish it on the honesteel and it would shave the hair off your arms. I received the new “China made HS1” today. It was intended to be a Xmas present for my son, however I took my already razor sharp pocket knife – made a few passes on the new honesteel – and it made the sharp knife dull. It looks like the same product, but it is not. What can I say – I have no use for it
Schrade Old Timer Honesteel 7.125" Sharpening Steel, Leather Lanyard and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jim
IL
Feb 09, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness
The sheath is interesting. The steel is to soft be of any use for it's intended purpose. ( I guess it works ok as a mini pry bar.) This is no longer the Schrade Knife Co. of the original Old Timer days. If you want a honing steel, look some where else.