Reviews and Ratings for Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade - SH209

Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Bladerated 4.667 stars out of 5 (45 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
34
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5 inch Fixed Blade

 

Price: $7.95

View Product Details
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom H
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

I LOVE THE SMELL OF LEATHER IN THE MORNING

I ordered two of these sheaths for 5 inch blade knives to replace the worn out original sheaths, one being over 50 years old... They are made in Mexico but are of good quality leather, thick, with heavy thread and rivets and should give many years of service. They were well worth the price and just exactly what I needed. They arrived quickly, no problem. Also, the belt loop will fit wide belts such as on a wide belt holster rig and are made more for fixed, straight blades, rather than curved blades. The blades on my knives are 1 1/16 inch wide and 4 1/2 and 4 3/4 inch length blades and they fit perfectly. The product was great, no complaints but the shipping charges were high which, unfortunately, I found out after placing my order and saw another site that had the same price for the sheaths but with less shipping charges. It pays to look around first before placing an order.... Happy trails.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike Bissett
Bridgewater, MA
Jul 19, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great Value

My son's puppy ate the original sheath for my Case Leather Hunter. I saw this on the KC website and decided to give it a try. The quality is much more than I expected for the price. I oiled it up with mink oil and it looks as nice as any other sheath I own. Can't wait to scuff it up.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Ozarks
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

Perfect

Perfect replacement for my Winchester skinning knife. Have gutted, skinned and processed so many deer with this knife that I wore out the sheath. Ordered this one, and it fit like a glove.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Aliquippa,Pa
Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great product

Just as pictured, good quality, fast delivery
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trent Gordon
Lawrenceville IL
Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Superior craftsmanship!

I got this sheath and it was exactly as it shows in the picture. it was very light and extremely dry like all natural leather products are. I applied my leather conditioner to the product and it is now brown instead of pinkish and the basketweave pattern stands out extremely well. the leather is soft and feels fantastic. At first i didnt like the snap on it but after conditioning, the snap is just the right size for my knife and holds it firmly in place without struggling to snap it.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Firedog
Middleburg, KY
May 11, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Just as advertised. Simple, low cost, well constructed.

I have a Warther's kitchen knife I wanted to carry for general fish / game cleaning. This sheath worked fine for my purpose.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curt
24211
May 18, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

My new Sheath

Very good sheath not stiff at all it came fast! I stained my sheath to my liking!
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tonka3man
watertown, NY
Jan 25, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

beautiful sheath

Could not ask for better quality or workmanship. Fits my five inch blade perfectly. The price is outstanding and almost unbelievable for this type of top quality leather. I've priced similar sheaths at a price of $75 or more. I have bought three sheaths from the knifecenter and have been happy with all. Have many knives that need sheaths and the knife center will get all my bussiness.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick K.
Oregon
May 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

entirely pleased

I bought this for a knife with a rather stout blade (5" x 1.5") and it fits perfectly. Slightly snug, but the edge doesn't hit anything. The strap is just right for a small- to medium-sized handle, with a very strong snap that does need to be broken in a little but that's preferable to the alternative. The natural color leather comes with the detail as pictured and is quite thick. All in all I am extremely pleased, and would buy it again.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doctor Knife
Macungie, PA
Mar 11, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent value

The pictures do not do the quality justice. I am rarely pleasantly surprised by quality anymore, but this much better than expected. As a professional knifemaker, these cases fill a much needed void; quality case for a custom handmade blade without eating into the profit margin. I have routinely paid 3x as much for less quality from other knife suppliers. I initially bought 2 to see the quality, and have since ordered 25. Also the basketweave is exquisite. Again the pictures do not do the item justice. Having said this there are a few minor issues. The 5" case will only fit a 1" wide blade easily and the 6" case will only handle a 1 3/8" wide blade. Also the securing strap is a little tight on a handle of a 3/16" blade with 3/8" scales; it can be stretched to fit better though if wetted. Finally there is no welt in the seam, so you have to be careful not to cut the seam. But overall, $5 for a sheath I am not ashamed to put a $300 handmade knife in and send out of my shop? That's a no brainer.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. Brian J
Stuart Florida
Feb 03, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

Fantastic

Had sheath from Grandfather to Father to me that finally fell apart so looked up this site and found sheath to look after my knife. Well didn't expect it to be this good , but wow !! Wear it when fishing . The quality is just great in fact more than expected. Thanks tons you will get more business from me , and infact have a new order with you already that is on back order made yesterday. Thanks again
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
Tennessee
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Well made

This sheath is well made and well worth the price I would purchase another one if needed.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob G
Honolulu, HI
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great Quality Sheath

I purchased this to replace a worn out sheath for a knife that belonged to my Father. It is a quality sheath, a great fit and the price is extremely competitive.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Glenn M
Centralia MO.
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great product!!! Works great!!

Fit my Shrade Uncle Henry just fine!!!
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken Pet
Dinwiddie, Va.
Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Knife Sheath

Great price and good quality is hard to beat. Mine was a little slow getting delivered but was very happy with product. Leather is untreated but a little leather oil and it was ready to use. This sheath fit a 40 year old 5" blade Puma.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brad S
Crum Lynne, Pa
Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great

Had to replace 2 sheaths. One for a 30 year old Kabar that I have. And the other was for a Coleman camp knife. Coleman does not sell replacements. Bought 1 to make sure it was a good fit for both and it was good. Bought the 2nd one the next week. Snug fit for both. Great deal for the money.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Cro
illinois
Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
perfect
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Confederate
Madisonville. Kentucky
Sep 15, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

sheath for 5 in. blade

I was surprised at the quality for the price. first class sheath.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph
Mass.
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

5" Leather knife sheath

I needed a new sheath for my fathers military knife. Great deal, great fit, good leather and a fair price.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce W.
Colorado
May 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

good value

Simple case, perfect for my use, a great value.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim P.
Bossier City , La...
Sep 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Top quality

Just great product. Excellent quality leather and fits my knife perfectly. Exactly as avertised and more.. Great price also.. Thanks..
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Helen M
Pa.
Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Nice

Works and looks great
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Taz
Erie, PA.
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Well worth the money

Very good quality, an exceptional buy !
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph M
Saratoga NY
Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great Quality

Well made rugged finished one with mink oil, the other with JPW nice leather grain!
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lee T.
Hattiesburg, MS
Oct 24, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

5" Basketweave Sheath

Very good quality for the low price, fit my WWII Mark I perfectly. I'm glad to have found such a great product that will allow me to take this old knife in the deer woods.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seadancer
San Francisco
Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

Very good sheath

Well made leather sheath. I fits my old knife well and I'm delighted with it.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rex D
Wisconsin
Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

good buy

Perfect fit for an old "Old Timer" in very good shape I picked up for a quarter.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom S
Connecticut
Apr 03, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

nice product

I wet the leather and formed it a little around the handle for a tighter fit and I masked of the basket weave and applied black shoe polish to give it a two tune appearance.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Texas
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Go ahead an buy them.

I had two old favorite knives that I did not carry camping/hunting for lack sheaths. I hesitated buying these because the price was so low that I was sure of disappointment. Not so. These were a great buy! The leather was thicker than expected, the rivets and Stitching was good. The color was very pale so I used a little leather treatment/preservative to darken it. Dimensions were right on. Would be good to know what diameter handle that the retention strap would fit. Mine worked fine, I couldn't tell until they arrived.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonah Jones
celina ohio
Jun 10, 2011
Pros: Durability
Cons: None

product was just as described

product was just as described
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlieoverhill
klamath falls, oregon
Feb 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
lost the sheath to a Norwegian knife a neighbor gave me decades ago and this sheath fits it well. excellent value.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr Fisherman
CAPE COD,MA
Sep 08, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

I WISH THIS SHEATH CAME WITH MY KNIFE

I LIKE THIS SHEATH BETTER THAN THE ONE THAT CAME WITH MY KNIFE. THE SHEATH THAT CAME WITH THE KNIFE COMES OFF YOUR BELT.WHEN YOU HOLDER A FISHING ROD IN ONE HAND & TRYING TO GET YOUR KNIFE IN THE OTHER IT DOESN'T HELP WHEN IT COMES OFF YOUR BELT.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Laurinburg, N.C.
Apr 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

5" blade sheath

Knife fits great in sheath.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

As described

Product is well made and leather is thick so, it should last. Hold knife well and having the snap at the blade finger guard is a plus. Fits well on the belt. Overall, happy with product and pricing.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Duelin Dillion
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 11, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None

5" leather sheath

Now I can wear my knife on my gun belt in cowboy action matches. The original knife came with a sheath that wouldn't fit a 2 1/2" belt. Only wish the leather was darker.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve G
Walden NY
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None

A wee bit too large

I purchased this sheath for a knife I have owned for almost 50 years whose sheath finally disintegrated. The blade is 4.5 inches long and it has a bone handle. The sheath itself is ok for the price but the knife swims in it. The handles circumference is on the small side and this is the reason that the fit is not good. Had the product description included more dimensional information I would have purchased another sheath.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
M.E. Vineyard
Northern Indiana
Jul 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Can't Be Beat for the $$$$

Good Quality for the money, Leather works nicely.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sheri
AZ
Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Carry Position

5 inch sheath

Nice quality, belt loop is a bit large. Had a stitch put in to stop flapping around and now sits secure against leg.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tomovich
Big Sky Country
May 29, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None

Great for the money!

Used this to sheath a custom knife I made. Dyed it and wet moulded it and it worked just fine!
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin
Houston, Tx
Dec 19, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None

Good for the price.

I fit several knives into this sheath. Leather is rather thin, but should do the job for regular use. Handle strap is replaceable, in case it is accidentally cut. Leather is untreated, which is why I purchased it. I plan to weatherproof with oil and Sno-Seal.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan U
Colorado
Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Quality

This is a well made sheath that fits lots of different knives. It is better than most aftermarket sheaths with medium weight leather. It works perfectly for an old know that lost its sheath years ago. Actually, this is probably better than its original sheath.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jay R.
Rockville, VA
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Leather sheath

Great quality for the very reasonable price. Fits my fixed blade knife well; however, I think it is best for a straight style blade. A curved skinner style may not fit.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Cj
California
Apr 08, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality

Factory seconds?

Ordered the sheath due to rave reviews. Maybe I received a factory second: One of the rivets does not go thru the sheath, though the seam is still tight. Can't say if the rivet will pop loose or the seam will separate in the long term. The basket weave pattern is extremely weak and faint. It looks nothing like the nice pattern pictured. It actually detracts from the appearance of the sheath and in this example it would have been better aesthetically if it was just plain with no pattern embossed. I'll use it anyway as the price is right and not worth returning it. If the rivet was installed correctly as the other 4 rivets are, and basketweave pattern were as pictured, I'd give this sheath 5 stars rating.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bill
Arvada, CO
Oct 12, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

Barely Fits

OK product. However the safety strap for the handle is a bit small and the sheath only fits the blade it is advertised for fairly well.
Basketweave Leather Sheath (Natural) Fits up to 5" Fixed Blade
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jim I
St. Louis, MO
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Carry Position, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Not so great

The sheath button got stuck the first time I used it. I had to bring it to a leather shop and have a new button put on it before I could use it. The sheath leather was a little thin too. How ever I call customer service and they responded promply but I never called back. I just had it fixed and moved on.