Reviews and Ratings for SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath - F03TN-CP

SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 4.071 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5 inch Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $48.95

Save $11.00 (18%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tracker
Illinois
Aug 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
gets me through my jungle
When I first got my JP knife, I thought that the blade seemed too thin/light. After using it to maintain a trail through dense undergrowth, I found the knife to be very efficient on stuff up to about thumb size. Very sharp right out of the box. The combination of light weight, sharpness, and well-designed grip area make this my tool of choice for trail maintenance. For heavier chopping jobs, I have heavyweight blades and hatchets/axes. The saw is decent too.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sogs The Best
cloquet,minnesota
May 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
jungle fusion
i used this to cut down trees 1'' to 4'' and it went right threw the handle has traction and fits my hand really nice the serrated edge is extremely sharp and i was inpressed with how they stay sharp there still like out of the box it feels good and its not really heavy for a controlable swing the only thing wrong is it cant carve really good becauase how big it is. probaly my best knife and i have many from all brands
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelsey K
Los angeles, CA
Oct 13, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
love it!
I actually bought it as a gift, however I gave it a thorough once over after I bought it, and was very pleasantly surprised by the light weight. It felt like a smaller knife, yet it is anything but small!
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zuwick
Brazil
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Awesome knife, and fantastic customer service from Knife Center
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy D
Kidderminster , Great Britain .
Sep 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
sog jungle primitive review
As a keen outdoors-man i like to be well equiped , able to do what i've got to do with ease and affectivness . I always take two knives out with me , one main hefty blade for chopping tasks , such as camp building , and trap making and a secondry smaller blade for doing the more finer work which my hefty blade is not really suitable for . Dont get me wrong - it is possible to do all the tasks i encounter with my primary blade , but tasks like skinning rabbits are much easier with a shorter , more well,evenly balanced blade . First impressions of the SOG JP were great finish , brilliant grip and a shave sharp edge , which i later learnt holds very well . The only conserne i had was not being sure that this 4.5 mm blade was going to be heavy enough to perform as well as my usuall 6.35 mm blades which have the weight and heft for chopping - such as ONTARIO MARINE RAIDER , or BECKER TAC TOOL which both chop brilliantly . As it turned out , the only blade i took out with me on this particular day was the SOG JP . Amazed! It chopped with ease , made short work of processing fire wood , and also , to my surprise , was nimble enough in my hand to complete the smallest of tasks , out-doing my usuall 3" folder that i normally would rely on for making fire sticks , carving notches into wood for trap-making and also shaving onto wood to make tinder out of fine shavengs . The saw on the spine of the blade works a treat for taking care of rhe smaller 1" - 2" branches , just to spread some of the work load out between the two cutting edges , and also making it possible to create a flat face on the end of a tree limb which is some times desirable for certain traps , or even weapon making , if needed . For such a light 9.5" blade , it is surprisingly capable of the heavier tasks. I think this is because of the way the knife is weighted - sligjhtly forward heavy , but giving the best of both worlds as it remains controlable and creates little to no muscle srain , aided by the comfortable digi-grip which i am now a fan of ! I was more than happy with the sheath , well made , neatly stiched together with a very usefull velcro fastened pocket on the front , which i preffer to keep a sharpening stone in . For me this blade ticks all the boxes as a bush survival tool , and am amazed at the price , i would of happily paid double for this blade . SOG have out-done them selves with The Jungle Primitive .
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ari D
Evanston, WY
Mar 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
excellent
I enjoy the light weight construction of the Jungle Primitive. It is very functional and a must have for anyone wanting to add a SOG to their collection.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Monty
Ames, IA
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
A great knife to say "Thats not a knife... This is a knife!"
This knife is practically pointless, but fun to own.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Deven S
St-André-Avellin, Qc
Jul 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good Cool Knife!
The Knife Overall Is Pretty Good, but i find that the handle could be heavier and when i got the knife the sheath was broken ( but nothing a little sowing couldnt fix) but it keeps its sharpness and look real mean! If i was stuck in the jungle i would be happy to have this beside me!
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
David O
Dublin , Ireland
Sep 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
SOG Jungle Primitive review
My first big knife an make no mistake this is a big knife, a cross between a Machete and Survival knife. Very sharp right out of the box and gave it a test run in the forest behind where I live. Got a good weight, very good handle and seems to be able to cut thru undergrowth fairly well. My only issue is the Sheath, its made from Nylon and plastic. and I honestly don't think it will last longer then a year but time will tell. Overall very happy with the knife itself.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris P
Dunedin, Other
Feb 25, 2013
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material
There seems to have been some misconceptions!
Initially I want to point out the common misconception of the saw back on this knife, It is called a notching saw, it is designed so you can put multiple sizes of rope at the different depths in the grove, for example if you were creating a hammock, you run the edge past the other side of a tree and put your rope on the groove. I found with heavy use the blade dulls reasonably quickly (-1 star) due to the soft steel which in some survival knifes serves the purpose of making it easier to sharpen in the bush, I found it rather difficult to sharpen personally but that's generally the idea. I drop the knife a few meters onto a wooden board a number of times and the handle loosened and now rattles a bit, but it does seem to be decent quality considering the design flaws. The sheath has one particular issue which isn't much of a problem so much as something that personally annoys me, the button or clip that holds the knife in the sheath scratches up the finish a bit over time (not severely so I won't take away any stars for that). Fun to use and a scary cool looking knife, I wouldn't trust my life to it but I can live happy with the fact that no one will mess with me for as long as I have this tool at my disposal.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
B. Gangi
Kingsvile, MD.
May 25, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
It's been a good knife
I bought this after wanting more for survival out of my current collection of knives. It's really been working great. I broke it in by making 2 roughly 100yd long trails to walk my dogs. I tried to use every part of the knife and even started our fire pit several times with it and a striker. I did have to sharpen it very well after use, this is my only real complaint. I just don't know about how well it would hold up in a real survival situation.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dr.Jkc,
Queens, NY
Sep 23, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material
Very interesting.
I like the pouch on the sheath for carrying pepper spray. Fun for knife practice drills but I would prefer something a bit better made if it came down to it. You know what I mean. Good for the price and would make a nice gift.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Adirondack Wilderness Expeditions
Ticonderoga,NY
May 16, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Not Impressed!
I bought this knife just over a year ago from knifecenter, and I gotta finally let it out, now that I am over it. This was the only knife I ever bought that I was disappointed in. The blade was to thin, and it got bent, and warped with chopping. The saw back is virtually useless as it will only go so far about a half an inch, do to the center thickness of the blade, The straight blade & the saw back blade are the thinnest, making what could be a great knife virtually worthless. The handle was built well. The extended tang is nice. The edge of the handle made the edge of my pinky finger & hand sore, the hard plastic griped ok but was rough on the hands, a rubberized coating would have been better. I like the landyard & the materials of the blade & sheath. I've been contemplating for a while about getting SOG's new Jungle Canopy because it's thicker than the Jungle Primitive. Although I am a bit reluctant after my last encounter with SOG.
SOG Jungle Primitive Fixed 9.5" Black Sawback Blade, Kraton Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Per Jansson
Sweden
May 20, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
Meh...
This knife is sold as a "survival knife" but is actually pretty worthless as such, compared to, for example, Ka-Bar Heavy Bowie. Great things about this blade: its looks. I bought it solely for its spectacular appearance. Even before I bought it I knew it would suck as a real survival knife, but I wanted it anway, because it looks beautiful. I am not complaining, mind you, I knew all these things before I bought it, so I am not disappointed. Not so great things are for example the utterly useless saw on the back of the blade. It cannot saw any deeper than the length of the teeth since they are angled. The blade material is also sub-par for what you would expect in a real survival knife.