Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles - C10PGRE

Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handlesrated 4.909 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4 inch ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles

 

Price: $129.50

Save $55.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexandru A.
Zevio, Other
Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material

ok

un coltello molto bello
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leadman
Kansas
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Endura ZDP-189 Yeah!

Love the endura design matched up with this new steel. Want to see how the edge holds up compared to other steels. Not so concerned about sharpening it as i've yet to find anything I couldnt handle with diamond hones. Read comments about being hesitant about prying or torqueing with it. And too brittle for lateral prying. Why would anyone want to do these things with a knife? Especially a folder. You can get a cheap screwdriver for less than a buck.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joev
Houston, TX
Oct 16, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

SWEET BLADE

This knife is top notch, as is most everything from Spyderco. Razor sharp out of the box, and it seems to hold it's edge well (at least after using it to go through some paracord, cardboard boxes, envelopes, plastic packaging, etc). I haven't had the need to sharpen it yet after several weeks of heavy use, so hopefully if/when the time comes, it won't be too hard to sharpen. The blade seems a bit thin as compared to my other saber ground Endura, but it makes it a better slicer through everything. I would be hesitant with any prying or torqueing of the blade considering how thin it is and the hardness of the blade. It has a great grip and an excellent thumb ramp and jimping for better control. Another winner! Thanks Spyderco and KC!
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis
San Jose, CA
Oct 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Outstanding knife

This is an outstanding knife. The blade is very sharp. It opens and closes smoothly and locks nicely and firmly. The weight and balance feel perfect in my hand.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack Ri
West Bath, Maine
Apr 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

The best Endura:

If your an Endura fan this is a must. Workmanship excellent, blade steal excellent and the feel in hand better. If you wear shorts, sweats and etc. excellent in pocket. Light to carry in this fashion. Please don't use it as a pry bar! Get a cheap screw driver for that.. Keeps a good edge if you treat it right.. I would recommend this knife if you like the Endura line.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Whitephoenix117
NY
Feb 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

ZDP-189 Comments

I bought this knife solely because of the claims I have heard about ZDP-189 steel. I have had the knife for a few weeks now and its still has a great edge; not as sharp as factory new but I haven't felt the need to take a hone to it yet. As far as durability its hasn't chipped or rusted although I haven't abused it either. All in all a great knife would happily buy it again
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincent
Paris
Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

sharp and light

nica knive used for scouting and cooking sharp and light
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jd
Knoxville, TN
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

An Insanely Sharp Knife

Note: I have had this Endura ZDP189 knife only 2 weeks. The knife is a new product with an important new blade steel--ZDP189. If this new blade steel and sharpness holds up to normal weathering and stress conditions, at $100, it is a tremendous bargain. At 64 to 66 on the Rockwell C scale the ZDP189 blade is made to take an incredibly sharp edge and comes that way to. For me the real value of the knife will only be known through the real life experience of using it for some time. How long, will it hold the incredible edge? Will the stainless steel hold up under normal care? Will it be easy to sharpen? I'm hoping--we'll see. The blade is beefy. It shows some streaking. I don't know enough to say whether this is characteristic of this type of steel or it is some minor or significant problem characteristic of the knife's finish. It opens easily and cleanly using both hand. Grips well and the lock-back unlocking mechanism on the back of the knife works well. I can not open this knife with one hand although people with different hand sizes than mine are able to.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas
Boulder
Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material

A great lightweight knife

I've been using a ZDP-189 Endura for several months and can say that this knife is one of my favorites. Light, long reach, flat ground blade, and the steel performs at a very high level, better than most as far as hardness and the ability to take a super-fine edge. Sharpening isn't really that difficult, however, I recommended a DMT Extra Fine sharpening stone for maintaining the Spyderco factory edge because natural stones may take an inordinate amount of time. The 64 Rockwell hardness steel is insanely hard and it takes a very sharp edge. With a skilled sharpener, you could literally shave your face, not just arm hair with the blade. It stands up very well to abrasive cutting like cardboard. Also makes a great paring or small kitchen knife, and is a good companion on hikes or when camping or climbing, due to its light weight. The lockback feels solid, no worries here. The one area for improvement, the four-way clip does lose some black paint on the edges very soon after being carried, I wish Spyderco would go to bare steel wire clips on all their knives or at least make them an option. Really one of the best knives that Spyderco makes and for the money, an incredible value.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
SoCal
Apr 24, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Spyderco C10GRE Endura4 Backlock

As is typical for all Spyderco knives imported from Seki-City, this Endura is the definition of perfection! There is not a single flaw in its appearances or in its operation. The 3.75-inch long blade swings open with a snap that makes it clear this blade is ready for business. This knife can do the job. Receiving the Endura was like completing a lengthy excursion that had me viewing hundreds of examples of cutlery (many of them just serving as pacifiers for nervous grownups), and led me full-cycle right back to appreciating what first became available over a half-century ago, but are now significantly improved in their construction, materials, and design. There is little to compare between the early lockbacks and those of today except that they are all still remarkably popular. The ergonomics designed into today's lockbacks are undeniably improved as is shown by this knife's single-handed ease of operation, but that's not the essence behind having a lockback. Picking up this Endura for me was like coming home after a lengthy stay in far away mysterious places. And it's nice to be back among familiar surroundings again.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mikael H
Sweden
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great steel in good package

My second Spyderco with a ZDP-189 blade, first was a Calypso jr, and like it it's scary sharp, so far the best blade steel I have used. Like other Spydercos it's easy to open, and the lock is secure. Handle ir pretty thin but still feels good in my hand. Only negative I can think of is that it's a bit bigger then I need, I would really love something between the Endura and Delica in size, while still equally good value as they are. So far (have had it for a bit more then a week) I'm very happy with it!
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathan T
Singapore, Other
Mar 05, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

Spyderco Endura 4 ZDP-189

This blade arrived really sharp and I love it as an EDC. For people with smaller hands though,the delica may be a better choice.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rs
SOCAL
May 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Nice knife for EDC. Excellent steel for cutting, a bit brittle for lateral prying. My only gripe is the the pocket clip is unnecessarily tight for a fairly lightweight knife.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexandru A.
Zevio, Other
Oct 10, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John From San Antonio, Tx
San Antonio, TX
Feb 12, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

"Perfect knife for everyday carry!"

The handle material and grip are the best. It's lighweight overall, excellent blade length and the fact that it is razor sharp ZDP-189, reassures me that it will be there when I 'need' it.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leo Ronin
Toronto, On
Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Perfect EDC

4th edition is really perfect. Everything - materials, quality, weight - seems to be perfectly balanced. Somebody might say that it is not sturdy enough, but if you want something for hard abuse just consider a fixed blade or heavy foldrs like ZT. Before buying I took a look at Spyderco Endura with VG-10 at the local army surplus shop to have an idea about all the merits and dimerits, after that I bought 2 of these at the KnifeCenter. In my mind this knife is a perfect EDC.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Acidburn
NorCal
May 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

a must have

Great blade steel, great value, a must have, especially if you grow fruit, orchard testing, samples, simply a great knife and price at KCI. We need a micarta version, that would be a top shelf knife have no doubt.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pj
WA , AUSTRALIA
Apr 06, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Spyderco Endura 4, ZDP 189 in British racing green

I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box to find not a saber grind ZDP189 blade but a FFG ZDP 189 blade ! A silent upgrade from Spyderco, nice ! The batch manufacture date was Feb. 2010 on the box.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morten S
Norway
Sep 15, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Special steel ZDP - 189

The blade of Endura4 has to little "belly" to fully take advantage of this steels cutting advantages. But make no mistake, this is a devilsharp model of choice for the Police, Security officer- sportfisher who want a impressive sharp pocketknife. Personally I dig the Spyderco model Police but its overpriced compared to this rare model.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scotty The Fish-Dude
FLA- USA
Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Wow! Now THAT is a SHARP knife!

I am a Spyderco knife-knut who, in days past spent 20+ Years as a professional "Fish Cutter" for a large wholesaler in Commercial Fisheries. I was also a Butcher on a Tuna boat, as well as a Meat Cutter for Grocery chain.....Used to fillet 1000# of Grouper- before lunch. I have spent un-told hours gripping/using a knife....so, I LIKE to think I know a thing or two about knives & sharpening, etc. I have a couple dozen different Spydercos, (several being Enduras)...One thing I have always LOVED about them, besides the overall quality, is that I have NEVER received a dull knife from Spyderco....ever! I have to say....I have NEVER had a knife- out of the box- as sharp as this ZDP flat-groud Endura! I only received the knife today, but overall quality is typical, top-notch Spyderco....& Knife Ctr. pulled off THEIR typical fast, inexpensive service. Stop thinking about it, & just ORDER the damn thing! There IS no better knife for $100.....PERIOD!! You wont be sorry you bought one. The only thing I would like to see that would make me give 6 out of 5 stars? I wish they'd offer one with the 'Ball Bearing' lock, I LOVE that lock system!
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sumantri K.
Tangerang Selatan, Other
Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material

Could be better

A fine example of a high tech functional product, but somehow lacking the character found on some other products like the Buck 110, Kershaw Leek, Al Mar Eagle HD, or even the Spyderco Caly in ZDP. The ZDP blade is extremely sharp and well finished. Opening and lockup is smooth and secure. Although dimensionally adequate for emergency tactical use, it is very light weight, which somehow does not inspire much confidence. The handle, though quite grippy, feels plasticky and hollow. Would give it 5 stars if it came with G10 or micarta handles.
Spyderco Endura Flat Ground 3-3/4" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, Green FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wacongne
France
Aug 03, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening
Good delivery