Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles - C122GBBKP

Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.771 stars out of 5 (35 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38 inch Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $54.60

Save $23.40 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kg
Durham, NC
Feb 06, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
my new everyday carry knife
I've been searching for the perfect EDC folder for a while now, and the Spyderco Tenacious fits the bill better than anything I've found since my first EDC knife, a Gerber Paraframe II (before quality control at Gerber went down the toilet). My only beef is that the clip is really tight (I wouldn't recommend loosening the screws), so it's hard to carry on a man's belt, or even on the edge of a pocket unless the pants you're wearing are made of really thin fabric. Hopefully I can break the clip in. It's adjustable for left or right hand and tip-up or tip-down carry.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Davey
Austin
Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Liking it
I haven't used it very hard yet but the knife is good looking and very smooth to open and close. Wish it was made in the USA but no points lost for that. Recommended!
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darkstream
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 24, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Razor Sharp
Razor Sharp, Excellent knife,
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Golden Lion
Ontario
Mar 05, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best bang for your buck.
For the price, you will not find a better made folder. Light weight. Great steel. Holds an edge. Spydercos great quality. If you are looking a great knife and don't want to break the bank, look no further then the Spyderco Tenacious.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Apr 04, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck S.
SW Chicago IL
Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
So sweet I may order another
EDC. Cutting open packages, boxes, bales, wiring. It came with a great edge on it. All I've had to do is strop it on a dry leather strop to keep the edge. I can shave hairs with this blade. My Kershaw has taken a back seat to the Spydie Tenacious!
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tou
Oklahoma
Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome blade
Great value for the money. Razor sharp out of the package. FFG makes slicing and cutting easy. My first spyderco and I know I will be seeing many more spydercos in my collection.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris L.
Fitchburg,MA
Feb 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Tenacious ... but black
Its just like the tenacious. well duh. only difference is this one is black. again duh. Lockup is solid blade came sharp and can get an insanely sharp edge if you know what your doing. Coating is holding up pretty well for edc tasks. No wood splitting. just cardboard rope tape etc. I think that the hardware issues on the tenacious where the screws were stripping out is fixed because i had to take it apart to clean and oil the knife. Only con is that out of the box the coating makes a squeaking noise from where the ball detent rubs the tang of the blade. after a couple days of wearing in it went away. Flies open when the detent is overcome and the handle is very ergonomic.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian K.
Germany
Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Very good service ! It was out of stock in all shops in Germany. We ordered at KnifeCenter. Very good service and very fast delivery to Germany. Thanks !!!!!!! 👍👍👍👍
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh
Port orange, Fl.
Mar 04, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
All you could want in an EDC
Very comfortable grip, not an easy thing to say for somebody with as big of hands as I. Great opening action. Easy to clean. Still reading this? why not just put in an order? Even the finish lasted me longer than most.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David V
Woodstock, Ga
Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
GREAT KNIFE, GREAT PRICE!
What else can I say that 32 other people haven't already said. I've had my Persistence for a couple of years now and like it just fine, but the extra size on the Tenacious just feels better to me. No play in any direction, lockup at about 30 percent with no lock drift, shaving sharp out of the box. Ergonomics for me are perfect. Like that it has bronze washer pivot rather than teflon bearing. Will buy the rest of the series when I get around to it, the Ambitious, Efficient, and Resilience ,just to have them all. Go ahead, buy one, you won't be sorry. Thanks to Knife Center for the great service!
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Los Angeles
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Solid, sharp, sexy
Haven't put it through the daily grind yet, but on first impressions: - Solid construction, smooth functionality - Nice size, feels good in the hand, not a super skinny or wide handle - Great blade shape/grind for utilitarian tasks - Extra sharp out of the box. - Friggin' sexy
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael H
Flagstasff, Arizona
Oct 04, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Spydercos are amazing knives !
I order all of my knives from you all, I and I save a lot of money , and most of all I like the service and the fast delivery . Thank you I have been using the Tenacious for 3 weeks . It is my best EDC , it is in my pocket everyday. I use this knife for cutting boxes, chords, plastic containers. I also use this for gardening cutting needs and general wires rope and house hold chores. I like the ergonomics and design of this knife. The edge out of the box is razor sharp. Super fast , smooth deloyment. And the lock is rock solid. The Tenacious , is exceeded my expections and all the research. This is my first Spyderco and I plan on buying another one.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert O.
Waukegan , Il
Oct 04, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
It's a monster !
I was hearing a lot about Spyderco on a bunch of YouTube vids ! They would always bring up the brand and talk good stuff ! Honestly I thought that the blades look to weird for my taste . But I wanted to see you know what the positive reviews were about . I got this one a couple days ago in the mail (knife center quick action)I haven't use it much but the texture of the handle is like nothing I ever had on a knife before , the bird looking alien knife has me mesmerized !truly and amazing edc ,light fast knife.i would recommend this knife !
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald C
Charlotte, NC
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Design & Execution
This is the perfect EDC knife for white collar guys like me. I wear dress pants and tie to work. Size & weight are just right to comfortably conceal in dress pants change pocket, while large enough to be a practical do-everything (including self-defense) knife. Every aspect from design to materials to workmanship are skillfully executed and purpose driven.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Canada
Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Spydercost!
Received it a month ago, fast shipping. This is my new EDC, I had to try Spyderco and this model is simply amazing. Great ergonomy, decent weight, thumbhole works well, sharp out of the box but a few minutes on a stone and it's now lightsaber sharp and the thing is gorgeous. The coating on the blade is not the best but the scratches give it caracter and it might not be the best steel retention wise but for the price you can't go wrong. For those you complain about ''made in china'', take a look at your t-shirt sticker... Thank you!
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph M
Gary ind
Mar 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great knife, very sharp
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew Y.
The Little Red Dot
Nov 03, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
Spyderco Tanacious Black Plain Blade
The Black version looks better to me and attract less attentions. Because there is so many fake Spyderco products selling in the internet, it is prudent to buy from a reputable source. Spyderco should provide a Sheath for carrying this beautiful knife.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Kuehn
Jan 05, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Excellent knife that I would recommend to anyone!
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yusuf I
Kuala Lumpur, Al
Feb 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent knife for everyday purposes
Solid knife for EDC.Easy to sharpen and this could definetly go for a higher price. If you're debating whether or not to buy just go ahead, you won't regret anything.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Me
Feb 27, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome product and transaction!
Great product and awesome design!
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian
Germany
Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Amazing ! Top
Very good service, this knike was out of stock in Germany. Very fast delivery from USA to Germany. It is amazing !!!!!! Thank you
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
San Diego, CA
Apr 20, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Very Impressed
I bought this knife in the plain blade finish for a buddy- having always been a fan of Spyderco- and was very impressed with the construction, heft, sharpness, and quality of materials. I was skeptical of the China made products since Ive been a spyderco EDC carrier for years (currently the SAGE never leaves my pocket) but I have no more doubts. Spyderco doesnt mess around no matter what. Listen, this is not of the same quality as the SAGE but I bought the knife to have in the yard for work, carry camping and backpacking, and travel with- so I dont have to sweat losing or abusing the the sage. This knife is fantastic. Super sharp out of the box. I added a few drops of quick release oil to smooth the opening which was slightly sticky and noisy on first pull (at this price nothing Id really frown about) and now its open in a flash. Solid lock. Good size for large hands and potential defense if needed. Thinking about getting a few more just to stash in car, emergency kits, etc. Get one.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Nicholson, Ga
Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Great EDC
My new favorite folder amazing buy
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifemaker
Minnesota
Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Excellent value for the money!
I love the G10. It is a nice handle texture. The jimping on the spine of the blade is great when reinforcing the grip with your thumb. It opens smoothly and locks open with authority. I am a convert to loving Spyderco knives. I love their quality and sharpness. The only thing I didn't like about this knife was that it came with the pocket clip in tip down position. I had to go out and buy a set of Torx wrenches. It took a T-6 wrench to change it to tip up carry. I look forward to gutting a deer with this knife this year. This is an extremely good value in a pocket knife when you don't want to shell-out 2 to 3 times as much for a Paramilitary 2.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron S
Mount Pleasant, Sc
Nov 03, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Work Knife
When you're buying a knife in the $30-$50 range you generally know what to expect, but of course, with Spyderco we can reasonably expect no less than the best in class. And that's exactly what you get with the Tenacious. The blade is no super steel to be sure, but Spyderco's excellent heat treatment makes up for the cheaper steel big time, so that you're getting a more durable blade that will hold its edge longer than the same steel from another manufacturer. And the shape of the blade is such that it's both a dream to work with and a breeze to sharpen. The jimping on the spine hump is a nice touch that really helps with the harder cutting tasks. A nice little bonus I've found too is that, although the knife isn't technically a flipper, if I hold the knife with four fingers and put my thumb in the top of the Spyderhole and flick straight up, the blade flies out very satisfyingly. The handle is extremely comfortable and easy to hang on to even when wet, and the pocket clip, which can be positioned for right or left, tip up or tip down, does it's job nicely and fits unobtrusively into your hand when cutting. This is my go-to work knife as I have a job that can get very dirty very fast, and I need a knife that will take it all and ask for more but won't mean a loss of $100 - $300 dollars if it goes missing. If that's what you need, BUY IT NOW. This is absolutely a five star knife for its class, and you won't find better.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mitch Y.
Connecticut
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Knife Ever Owned
My edc for defense, solid lock up with no play. g10 feels great in the hand. super sharp out of box. the clip i use with basketball shorts and i can do flips without it even moving. best knife iv ever held and owned.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
scottsdale, az
May 09, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent EDC knife
Great EDC knife. Good combination of blade steel, handle material, and for its size amazing weight. Bronze phosphor bushings make for a smooth quick opening, lockup is also great, a solid knife from Spyderco.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
Florida
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great affordable EDC
This is a great EDC Knife for around $40. Made in China, but Spyderco has done an excellent job with their QA process. Solid knife for the price.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Randy
Arkansas
Aug 04, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
A real Sleeper!
The Tenacious is one of those things where you get everything you want in a product without any unpleasant surprises. You really do get a lot of extras in this knife for its price range. It feels and works like a much more expensive knife!
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nick
Michigan
Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Worth every penny
I use this spyderco for everyday use and Iv found that this knife is the best for just that. It's weight is perfect not to heavy or light, the blade is incredibly sharpe and stays that way for a time even with continuous use.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe C
Pittsburgh PA
Feb 27, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great
Same great value with the cool black blade
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thomas M.
Chino, California
Apr 18, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Great EDC folder
This knife is a great value folder! For the amount of money spent, it simply can not be beat. The hardware is upgraded over the older tenacious. The blackout looks awesome. Sure, the steel isn't the best, and the finish on the blade is painted on, but what can you expect for a knife at this price point? Excellent buy in my opinion.
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aaron
Tx
Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Spyderco quality
Sharp, easy to open, good looks, and I dig the G-10 handle scales. Thank you
Spyderco Tenacious Folding Knife 3.38" Black Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joe
New York
Dec 01, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
High Value, Low price
This knife is one the most high quality folders you can get for the price. Spyderco's chinese plants have extremely good quality control so you can put your trust in this knife. Pull the trigger on this knife and i promise you will not be disappointed. The steel is great for the price. Excellent value for dollar ratio