Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles - C12GS

Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.917 stars out of 5 (24 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8 inch VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $224.00

Save $96.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Francis D.
France
Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Perfect design

For self defense only, that is to say just in case you have to protect your life and your family. Definitely not an EDC. The blade is sharp and very beautiful. As a collector and as an avid fan of Spyderco, I'm satisfied : this is the best you can expect from Spyderco.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kohana
Texas
Jan 31, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None

OUTDTANDNG

Quality build and superb craftsmanship. Easily deployed with one hand. Fits nicely and securely in backpack. Aggressive looking and highly intimidating...a very purpose-driven design for serious personal protection
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl
Nov 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

self defence specialist

You do not clean fish with this knife.You do not open cans or chop kindling wood or use it with a fire starter.This knife has a specific purpose this is for self defence and it is extremly capeable.Perfectly shaped and scary sharp, if you know how to use it this blade will not let you down.Great knife spyderco--keep it up.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R.L.K.
Golden, Co.
May 21, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Type

I've. owned 5 Civilians

My first was a titanium coated rubber inserted scales version when they were first introduced. I was a very lucky human, truth being I've been a resident of Golden, Co. since 1978. As a toolmaker and machine builder, I was fortunate to be involved in tbe design and build of Sal's first grinder. Have always stayed abreast of the Spyderco line. For the past 25 years I've been doing custom knifesmithing, restorations, and custom modifications. Always inspired by the latest from the " Spyder" guys. I've had a few instances to make my Civilian's presence known. Only once did my assailant try to actually fight, all I'll say is it was over in less than 15 seconds and I walked away. In my opinoin, these knives, regardless of how fancy or not are absolutely the best anti-personnel protection short of something that goes BANG. I did see a demonstration where a Kevlar bullet-proof vest was totally shredded and destroyed in approx. 30 seconds by a military specialist, the Civilian was undamaged. I va e my first one to my brother, I now have 2 with my own custom modifications for a 2 fisted "impression" . R.L.K. Golden, Co.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James B
Durham, Nc
Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Heavy but awsome

Bought this knife to add my collection. Not cheap, but well worth it. Wow what an intimidating knife!! Feels heavy but very substantial. Typical spyderco quality-fine.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt H.
Largo, Fl
Aug 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

Deadly

I bought this knife mainly from a collectors point of view. I know, however, that if I ever had to defend myself in a combat situation, this is the knife to have. It is razor sharp, and combined with the functional design and shape of this blade, a victory would, no doubt, be close at hand. The overall quality that Spyderco delivers in all of it's knives is truly represented with this masterpiece. The collectors sheath that comes with this knife is a nice touch as well.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sterling W
14223
Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Satisfied customer.

I really enjoy this product.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matty
Australia
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Superb last ditch

Glad I bought mine many years ago, long before Australian Customs decided they were not appropriate for import here. Very sharp, with obvious self defence implications, and the usual high quality I expect from Spyderco.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richie
207 Nutts River Road
Feb 04, 2018
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

great knife

Fold it open Sharp n durable The cost in ja dollars
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Red
Reno Nv.
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Great Kfife

How to use the product
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John W
Beverly Hills
Apr 11, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None

No one can grab this knife away from your hand

With a straight blade, anyone who wrapped towel around his hand and arm could defend your knife attack or even grab the knife by the blade and deflected the attack. But with this Civilian (wonder why they called it Civilian of all name!?!), any attempt to grab the blade by the attacker will result in losing a finger or two when you yanked the blade back even as an automatic reflex. Not to mention that the sharp "claw" will cut thru the towel and tear away the skin underneath. Very deadly indeed! Let's just say the designer did a fantastic job covering all bases as a powerful defensive weapon.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis C. W
P.O. Box 85, Pineville, Mo. 64856
Aug 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, None
I've had one of these knives for years. It's a very good knife. Wicked looking. The only problem I had is the Handle and the Pocket Clip are both inlaid with a neuropreme material and it didn't last. I think the material reacted with my sweaty hands and deteriorated, I've had other rubbery material do the same thing.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Time Liar
In my Dreams
May 21, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None

Cut Open a 13 ft Burmese Python

My Uncle Fred use one of these to cut open the coil of a large Burmese Python that attacked it's owner.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark A. L
Plattsburgh, Ny
Aug 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

This "Civilian" should be called "Epitome."

I received this Spyderco "Civilian" just two days ago. I have looked over the entire package. The blade is extraordinarily sharp, "RAZOR" sharp right out of the box. There would be no problem cutting through a seat belt AT ALL. The shape of the blade is absolutely perfect for self defense. I have dummy models that I practice with. The name of this knife should be "Epitome," because it encapsulates every area of either stopping, or terminating your target. It opens flawlessly, and because I am a practicing martial artist, I state unequivocally, it manipulates within my hand as a perfectly balanced knife should. I own custom knives from $1500-3800 each. This knife drops right in my hand. The lock shows no flaw whatsoever. I would feel completely safe in the field with the Civilian. The scales make for a perfect hold, even under sweaty work out conditions; I never lost even an ounce of control. The VG-10 blade was the perfect balance of sharpness, strength, durability, and ability to hold an edge. The sheath holds the knife perfectly in place, and releases with minimal effort. The pocket clip is fine for my "Levis 505s," however, I would have preferred the "paperclip" style. The body has only one liner, which raises a question as to it's stabilization. However, this is a slashing knife, and not meant for stabbing. Honestly in my opinion, for the money, this is the single finest LEGAL self defense on the market. I paid just shy of $174 from Knife Center. Properly maintained, it will be a lifelong friend. This is "The Epitome" of a self defense edged instrument.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred Schmed
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 03, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

This knife screams BACK OFF!!

This is one awesome knife!! It has a very well made feel. One thing I found strange is that although it does have a full stainless back spacer and a stainless liner, the liner is only on one side! The liner is not skeletonized, but all of the screws do attach through metal, and not just the G 10 scales, which feel very secure in your hand. This doesn't seem to be much of a problem to me as the knife still feels very sturdy with a nice heft. There is a slight side/side blade play but that lock feels really secure. There is no jimping on the spine or the choil, but I don't feel this is very necessary. In the literature Spyderco encloses with the knife they say that they designed it not to kill. Well, you could probably kill someone with it, but not by stabbing. It's designed for long sweeping cuts. This baby is scary razor sharp, not to mention exceptionally intimidating!! It opens very smoothly, but one thing I discovered, and this is true for all Spyderco's with a tip up carry, if you put a zip tie (cut off the excess) on the thumbhole it acts like an Emerson opener making deployment almost as fast as a fixed blade! This knife was designed solely for self defense so why not make it faster than a switchblade?! The knife comes tip down carry, but you can reverse to tip up one side only, favoring right handers. There is actually a notice from Spyderco stating that this knife was not designed for utility use, and the warranty will be void if used as such. That said, make sure you check your knife laws, which might be even more ridiculous than mine, before you carry it!! This is one incredible knife but unfortunately, it will probably just be a collector's piece. If I ever found myself in a life/death situation, this would be the knife I'd want! No regrets!
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eduardo
Manila
Oct 13, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None

The Civilian

My 2nd Civilian. One is for EDC. One is for safekeeping!
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wes B
Houston, TX
Nov 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Impressive

The knife comes with a notice that this is not a utility knife. This knife is a defensive carry knife. The curved blade is very intimidating and extremely sharp. It is very easy to carry in the pocket dispite being a relatively large folding knife. Watching the video (purchased separately) gives you a very good idea of how useful and versitile this knife is in a defensive situation. Intrestingly enough it was stated that this knife was not designed to kill because it lacks the ability for deep penetration. However, it is designed to get you out of a threatning situation and would be very capable of accomplishing that task. Overall, this is a very impressive knife, designed for a specific task.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom D
Scranton, PA
Dec 04, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Great Knife

One of the best knives I've ever purchased. Unique in every way.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Davis
Elk Grove, Ca
Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

BEAUTIFUL!!!!

I'm very pleased with this purchase!
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pahoo
Hagerman, ID
May 01, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent garden/farm knife

Updated of several years use of my old model (ATS-55, old lock release) purchased from Knifecenter. It is with me in the orchard, garden, veggie fields. It is one of the oldest blade patterns...a sickle. I use it for light clean up prunning of branch suckers, testing peaches, apples, pears. Clean tops of beets, chard etc. It harvests fiberous stems veggie with ease. The fine curved tip reaches squashes and melons and quick makes clean cut with a pull. So, just not a defense weapon.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Apr 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Doesn't get much better for Self Defense

Doesn't deflect arterial spray as well as my Dark Ops knife ;)
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
K. Horvath
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

THE most specialized cqb folder PERIOD

Spyderco makes no apologies or excuses for this knife. It's only purpose in life is to cut flesh. It is NOT an EDC blade in the context of opening mail, cutting tomatoes or cleaning your fingernails. It IS a pure, unadulterated close quarters combat weapon (also good for cutting fresh flowers from the garden like a little sickle, though... 'Honey, where did you put my Civilian...?'). I have carried one for strictly defensive use for years ( I've owned an original Tuffram/Kraton version from new; now a collector's item.). My newer G10 version has been deployed on two occasions. On BOTH occasions, the aggressors stopped IMMEDIATELY upon my deploying the Civilian. It would seem that the criminal element also understands that anyone arming themselves with such an instrument has clear understanding of it's use and is prepared to indulge it's attributes. While certainly NOT an EDC blade in the normal context, for those of us that have a need for such an implement, the Civilian stands alone. I carry one daily for use ONLY as it was intended. My wife carries one daily for the same purpose. Are they used often? Absolutely NOT. Would I want something else when needed for what they were intended? Absolutely NOT. Buy it (and carry it) for what it IS; the single most purposely built folding close quarters extraction knife ever made. Thank you Sal Glesser and Spyderco, Inc, for saving my a__ not once, but twice, with no blood shed.
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris S
Thornhurst, Pa
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

AMAZING

I would love this knife soo much more if it was left handed but oh well i guess i gotta learn right
Spyderco Civilian Folding Knife 4-1/8" VG10 Serrated Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kneedragger79
Lower 48
Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None

Spyderco C12GS Civilian

This is the second Civilian I have purchased. This knife is an EDC knife for self-defense purposes. My first knife was lost while on vacation. This knife should NOT be used in daily cutting tasks. I realize people are going to do whatever they feel like they want to and they have that right. However read the literature that comes with the knife. Spyderco did NOT develop the knife for daily cutting tasks. The knife is meant to be used in self-defense situations. I carry the knife along with a gun, both for the same purpose, to defend myself and innocent people around me. When I fire a gun, I am responsible for each bullet that leaves the barrel. If I am in a crowded establishment, even with .007 skills I don’t want to endanger my life and by extension, my freedom by firing a handgun. However with any knife, I can control that edge and if I cut someone once, they will be limited in how they can respond, especially if I am trained in where and how to cut a threat. This knife will cut through a heavy leather coat, let alone layers of cloth. This fall/winter I will see how it stands up to the hide of an elk. If someone wants to really make this knife “scalpel sharp,” buy the Spyderco sharpener. The two blades that come with the kit will bring a knife to a slightly finer edge than original. If you buy the ultra-fine stones, the blade will have an edge I have never felt before from a knife I sharpened. I use silicone spray to lubricate the folder because most any other will attract dirt. I have use of only my left arm and hand. I leave the pocket clip for the knife as it comes from the factory. I then use my ring finger to spin the blade out. With just a little practice I am much faster with a knife than my gun. If I need more time to get the knife out, a knee or kick gives me the space and time. When I lived in Arizona a few years ago, I had to bring this knife out twice when I felt my life was threatened. Both times that was the end of the altercation. Both times the cops were called and I was never given a ticket or even a warning. The officers asked me what happened, I told my side of the story and then waited for the other side to say their piece. Telling the story would add more words but both of the episodes ended after the Civilian came out. As a slight aside, if you bring the knife out in any kind of fight; decide ahead of time if you are prepared to use it. Second guessing while you are in a fight is not the place to have that kind of mental debate.