Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2 - 204D

Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2rated 4.65 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2

 

Price: $57.40

Save $24.60 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ted A S
Tampa, FL
May 17, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sharpmaker Diamond Rod Review

I carry high quality dagger(s) for self-defense. Because of the configuration of the blades, an angle stone sharpener can not work.The clamp will not secure the blade adequately. I wanted to change the blade angle of my Falkenkniven Garm Fighter to 20 degrees.It would take much time and effort to change the angle using the standard medium rod that is supplied with the Sharpmarker 204. I received the diamond rods yesterday and was able to change the angle on the Garm Fighter with absolute ease. I practiced first on steak knives to get the feel of them. I used very little pressure as the directions stated. With these stones alone, it sliced through typing paper like butter. I then used the medium and fine stones and the knife is now wickedly sharp. Half the weight of the knife itself slices right through the paper. My left forearm is devoid in parts of hair. I strongly suggest buying this product to save time and much elbow grease..
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
California
Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Worth every penny

Use to get to the edge of new knives that were growned > 40 Deg. at the factory.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lacy
White hall Ar
Jul 09, 2010
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
I am a knife maker and this works well to start the corrrect beveled edge. I have used spyderco triangle rods for years.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Hilton, NY
May 01, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Super Addition

Worth the extra money. I had a real old, but good kitchen knife that had a tough time cutting butter. This rod put an edge on real quick and then all you had to do was use the medium & fine rods. Super Sharp now!
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Valantis B
greece
May 03, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

good good good

good good good
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mrichey24
Indianapolis, IN
May 30, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Worth the Money

It can sharpen the cheapest of blades with a little time and effort. The rods are easy to clean. p.s.I'm a novice knife sharpener.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mom
Long Valley
Jan 04, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Pleased with purchase

I gave this item as a gift. Recipient has bought these exact same rods before and they have given him many bicep-building sharpening strokes over the years. He said that the new rods are excellent. He owns a large array of Spyderco knives and is very diligent in giving them the utmost care.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cr
Wallingford, Pa
Mar 30, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Fine tuning!

I purchased these along with the "coarse" diamond sharpeners. With ZDP steel I couldn't get the edge I wanted. Now you can shave with my knives. The Fine sticks do not really do a whole on the ZDP but are fantastic on VG-10 and all other steel. One thing I learned is top always stand while using the sharpmaker. It makes a big difference and is critical to holding the knife straight.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Los Angeles
Mar 21, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

Mandatory for knife users

First of all, these stones dramatically reduce the work required of significantly worn edges. It's important that you use little force, because the embedded diamonds will definitely pop out of the nickel plating with too much pressure.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ex. John Doe
Ex. College Park, MD
Jan 08, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

So Nice

Only had them for a day, but the time I've saved is the best. I've been using the Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker for 13+ years, and finally starting using the diamond rods. Saves a lot of time. Great for reshaping an edge,(especially when you're fixing someone else mistakes). Well worth the money.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
USA
Mar 05, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

For kitchen knives

I have the spyderco sharpmaker and bought these rods for the really dull straight blade knives. It worked and cut a great amount of time on using the gray sharpening stones. I only use these diamond stones when needed. After my dullest kitchen blades have been through these stones about 15 time on each side, its probably the last time I use them. I would put a dull kabar knife through these stones. I'm certain its made for the straight pocket or kitchen knife.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zman
San Diego
May 29, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Optional if you have the sharpmaker

Very rearly do you have to put a new bevel on a decient blade. The basic sharpmaker set should be enough. When it is not, you will need these.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan F
Olympic Peninsula Wa.
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Works great

Great product. If you have never used a diamond sharpener remember to let the diamonds do the work, it dose not take excessive pressure to sharpen.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stevelyn
Alaska Peninsula
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
When it come to sharpening knives or nearly any cutting tool I'm about as challenged as they come. The most difficult part for me has always been maintaining a consistent angle. The Spyderco Sharpmaker takes the challenge out of sharpening knives and makes the process pretty much idiot proof. I find that the diamond rods are the most useful for cutting the back-bevel from the blades so you can put an effective edge on them. This is especially important with the harder steels as it shortens task time.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Lake Charles, LA
Jul 23, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Up to the task!

I don't use rods often, just to restore a very dull blade. It gets the dull blade back to sharpness quickly, and I don't like spending a lot of time in sharpening a knife. I'm glad I got these.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dull1
Maryland
Apr 24, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

if you're buying the sharpmaker, go ahead and buy these

...it will save you shipping when you realize that you need them later to really complete your sharpening system. The Sharpmaker is the best sharpener on the market, but it really needs the ultrafine rods and the diamond sleeves to cover all your sharpening needs.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sumit
California
Apr 09, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great accessory for Spyderco sharpener

I use the rods with my Spyderco sharpener for first-stage sharpening of very blunt knives made of hard materials. I really like both the ease of use and the speed with which it worked to define a new edge on the knives.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 4 stars out of 5
Me, Mario
Netherlands
Jun 21, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

diamonds are a dull knife best friends

Use it sparingly, it works quite fast
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carver
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

Diamond Rods

A must for the spyderco sharpmaker. Works great for reprofiling but i have noticed that the diamonds have less bite after each use.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Diamond Rods Set of 2
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tmenzies
Hong Kong
Sep 14, 2009
Pros: Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

Seems To Wear Too Easily

Great! Diamond rods for my Sharpmaker! Now I can really chew through those blade reprofiling jobs and bring dead blades back to life! Errm, well maybe not... The first thing you notice on opening your new diamond rods is the bright red warning label warning you not to rub them too hard. Hmmm, not quite what I had expected. Anyway, so off I go - softly rubbing my AUS8 2" Xikar blade against the rods on a 30 degree back bevel. After an hour the correct back bevel had been achieved - but the side of the rod I used now had noticeably less 'bite' than the other two sides. Maybe these rods are disposable?! Call me old fashioned, but I believe that diamond should always win against steel (even given the Spyderco cautions about how the diamonds are mounted and thus how much material can be taken off on each swipe and so the need to only apply gentle pressure) so this surprised me a little (a lot!). Frankly I would have expected more from a Spyderco product.