Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods - 204MF

Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rodsrated 4.76 stars out of 5 (150 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
129
4 star
14
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
3
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods

 

Price: $73.50

Save $31.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marty K
Tamarac, Florida
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Spyderco Sharpmaker is FANTASTIC

Not only is the Spyderco Sharpmaker a great product, but the instructional DVD that comes with it, will make even a beginer, a knife sharpening pro.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cgart
Madison, WI
Dec 05, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

What you want for sharpening

This really is the way to go. If someone has rated it "poor" it only means they did not watch the cd that comes with it and are using it incorrectly.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex Peck
Dec 18, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

easy reliabe sharpening

Gift to grandson a new boy scout. Keep your new knife sharp.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodland Warrior
California
Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Makes for a nasty sharp knife

This thing works wonders! I sharpened my old super dull swiss army knife to a hair popping edge in no time! Highly recommended!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Mountain View, CA
Apr 02, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Nice Edge Refinement

Usage: ~1 month User: Novice sharpening I've had the Sharpmaker for a few weeks now. I've used it on a few pocket knives and cooking knives. It definitely put a better, refined, sharper edge on my blades. I'm not sure you would want to use this for substantial bevel work, but I have not tried it. After using it, I could see with my naked eyes a highly polished edge near the tip of knife. My cooking knives sliced through things with greater ease. Overall, a great way to provide quick, effective maintenance on knife edges, even for a novice, like myself.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fjs.575
The Hague, The Netherlands
Jun 24, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Simple to use

For the sharpening of my pocket knives its a great product. Especially is you take the price and ease of use in account.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron S
Kearny, Az
Jul 02, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Simple to use.

It was easy to get a good edge the first time I tried it.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralph
Charleston, SC
Dec 25, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

Best sharpener of all, but base breaks with heavy use.

I am using my sixth Sharpmaker because it works better than any other sharpener I have used, and I've used them all. Unfortunately, I am also using my sixth Sharpmaker because the base on the first five all developed stress fractures and broke with use. Spyderco needs to remedy this with a stronger base. At least they could sell a replacement base so I wouldn't have to buy a whole new system every time the base breaks!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando S
Miami,fl
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Have been using Spyderco sharp maker for many years this is a replacement excellent product highly recommend it Have been buying from knife centers three times already excellent service excellent products will continue to buy From them
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hal
Park City
Jan 19, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Sharpmaker

Very clever and well designed product. The DVD was particularly helpful- I don't know if I would have used it properly without having viewed it first. I enjoyed sharpening a number of knives with it
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ted S
Ruskin, Florida
May 11, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sharpmaker is the Best

I have and use the GATCO Angle Sharpener but I sharpen knives that can not be clamped using this system. Here's an example: Daggers and CS's double edged neck knives. The rod system has to be used on these blades. Over-all, the Sharpmaker is the best esp if what you want is just sharpening without reshaping or making a new angle. It comes with the medium and fine rods and they work perfectly if the blade angle is already established. I buy high quality steel bladed knives and I usually reduce the angle for wicked sharpness. I just ordered the diamond coated rods so I could quickly create a new angle.For ease of sharpening, this Sharpmaker is the best.I even like its case--small and compact and well engineered. It can be easily placed in a backpack and won't cause a lot of weight gain. Every soldier should have one of these sharpeners.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Elvis
Sarawak (Borneo)
Sep 01, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None

Best SharpMaker I Ever Had

Making blade sharp is an art, as it required skills to do it. With SharpMaker, a beginner also able to sharp a blade until razor sharp. To make it a perfect 'tool", combination of 'sharpening skill' will produce a great result.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ D.
Axton Va.
Sep 16, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome

This thing will sharpen anything!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
John N
Boston MA
Jan 18, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Fantastic sharpener

Very versatile and easy to use. Great sharpener for the price point.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chevi
Southern MN
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Fool-Proof Sharpening

Well, it may not be fool-proof, but its about as close as you can get. Works great and the DVD that comes with it was very informative and makes using the sharpener much easier to do.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Valantis B
greece
May 03, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

very very good.

very very good.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Li
GD CHINA
Oct 03, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Perfect

极易上手,磨刀效率很高,消耗少,安全可靠,磨出的刀具品质好、锋利。Translated by Google Translate: Easy to use, high grinding efficiency,safe, and reliable.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim O
Jackson, Tn.
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This sharpener is great..Very easy to use and grts my knife razor sharp.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug M
NY
Dec 30, 2008
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Happy me.

Had this system for years. Pros: 1) Works every time to establish and maintain a sharp edge on any size knife, including serrated edges, with minimal skill on the part of the user. 2) Comes with instructional DVD for the inexperienced or reading impaired. You almost have to try to do it wrong. 3) Works dry, requiring no messy lubricating agents. 4)Comes in a compact protective carry case that is very easy to store and transport, so you can keep it in a kitchen drawer, or throw it in with your hunting or camping gear. 5) Easy to maintain. When the rods start to get clogged with steel, simply wash them with kitchen cleanser (Comet, Ajax, etc.), rinse them with water, and dry with a paper towel. Afterwards, they will work like new. 6) Replacement rods are readily available in the event that you are a clumsy oaf, and find a way to break or misplace one. 7) Ultra Fine (for scary sharp edges) and very coarse diamond rods (for VERY dull, damaged, and abused edges where a new bevel must be established) are avilable. 8) Price is very reasonable taking into account all of the above. Cons; Only one, and it's pretty picky. The storage case does not have a place to keep the ultra fine and diamond rods, should you elect to purchase them. You usually will only need the medium and fine rods, but it would have been nicer to have them all in one case. Just a side note; I read that someone didn't like this system because it dulled the points of his knives. If you use the angled edge of the rod, rather than the flat, the point of the knife will drag off the edge and scrape across the flat at an incorrect angle, causing it to be blunted. The same will happen if you drag the point off the edge of a bench stone and scape it down the side. Why would anyone do this? Common sense should tell you that the point should be sharpened on the flat edge of the rod, and not dragged off the edge, same as with a bench stone. The purpose of the angled rod system is to help you to maintain the proper sharpening angle, not to replace your brain. That all being said, this is a fine product with very little room for improvement.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dipper
Arizona
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Simple and Effective

Very inclusive manual with product. Works just as advertised.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jpbosco
MA
Feb 16, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

works great

Maybe the greatest sharpener of all time.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul T
Oklahoma
Jun 11, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
This sharpener works so well that i almost cant beleive it. Its so easy and fast and combined with the extra fine stones and a good strop (and paste) it produces an excellent edge worthy to take on any task that a knife would be used for, including shaving! I got 7 knives hair shaving sharp in about an hour, so i would very highly reccomend this system to anybody. Now sharpening is fast, foolproof and fun again because it works so well.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Virginia
Mar 28, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best kit out there

I own several kits and this is the best. Easy to maintain, easy to clean, easy to sharpen knives, scissors, chisels, punches, awls, arrows, darts, side/diagonal cutters, etc. The base is as sturdy as it needs to be. You only need 3lbs of pressure or less to sharpen anything. This kit should last a lifetime as long as you don't drop the sharpening sticks. Comes with a great dvd to show you how to use it, and how to sharpen all kinds of stuff too. Even straight razors. I highly recommend it.-Matt
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Postal420
NYC
Apr 20, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

best thing i ever bought! !! all my knives r razor sharp!!!!

I can't believe how sharp I could get the blade on any knife!!!!!!!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
New Jersey
Oct 13, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

a good and versatile system

This system takes the guesswork out of what angle you are grinding, making it easier to cater the job to the edge required. It is well equipped to handle almost any edge required.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
North Carolina
Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

excellent 10 stars

LET ME START BY SAYING I NEVER LEAVE REVIEWS FOR ANYTHING EITHER GOOD OR BAD I'M BLOWN AWAY WITH THIS KNIFE SHARPNER I AM 58 YEARS OLD & HAVE BEEN COLLECTING KNIFES SINCE I WAS A KID I HAVE TRIED EVERY KIND OF KNIFE SHARPNER CHEAP & EXPENSIVE RECEIVED THIS IN MAIL YESTERDAY I SHARPNED 4 OF MY FAVORITE KNIFES WITHIN MINUTES TO RAZOR SHARP I AM SOLD ON SPYDERCO I WAS SO IMPRESSED I ORDERED A SPYDERCO PARAMILITARY 2 ON LINE HAVE NEVER OWNED A SPYDERCO KNIFE BEFORE BUT I'M GOING TO START COLLECTING SPYDERCO KNIFES BEST PART THEY ARE MADE IN USA KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Maverick51
Sterling, VA
Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

It just works!

I have tried them all from whetstones to various manufacturer's sharpeners to electric sharpeners with 3 stations. None work as fast or get knives as sharp as this device. We have Wusthauf kitchen knives which, while high quality, are VERY hard steel. I was ready to send them back to the manufacturer to have them sharpen the knives. This tool solved that problem and had them shaving sharp. I reviewed the uTube videos before purchasing and was sold. It's not complicated - it just works!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy C.
San Tan Valley, AZ
Aug 01, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

This Sharpened my M9 Bayonet

I read the reviews and those coupled with the fact that it came with a DVD made the sale. I've always wondered how these angled bar type sharpeners were used having been a wet stone man most of my life. I have an M9 bayonet and everyone online is wondering how to get an edge on it. I've read comments like "it's a bayonet, it isn't supposed to have an edge, it's for sticking." That "may" be true but I sharpened mine in about 15 minutes with the Spyderco and it slices paper like a razor now. I've gone on to put an edge on everything in the house. I guess you can tell I love it.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Texas
Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Overall best sharpening kit for average person.

I've owned this for over a decade. It works great on my kitchen knives, folders and hunting knives. You should buy the diamond stones and make a strop. For the average person with little time this is the overall sharpener for the kitchen. If you can freehand then go for the quality flat stones. There are more high end sharpeners I read were amazing but I couldn't decide on the hundreds of dollars they are worth. With all the use I put on this spyderco sharpener I may have opted for the 900 dollar kits.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mortgageace
Red Bank, NJ
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great sharpener

Great product and what an easy way to sharpen so many items.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tianlei Zhang
San Jose CA
Oct 16, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: Effectiveness, None

A good sharpener

I use Spyderco for my 912 Nitrous Tanto Stryker. It is very easy to use, and the instructions are very detailed. It is also compact, and well designed. Wish it was cheaper.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leprechaun
Winter Park, FL
May 25, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

The name says it all!

This was purchased as a gift for a friend. However since I make it a practice never to give something that I wouldn't use myself, I also own two of these. In my opinion, this may be one of the best sharpeners on the market. It is compact, well packaged, easy to use and very effective. It can restore, dress up and put an extremely good edge on a blade. The excellent instruction booklet and DVD on using this sharpener are the best I have seen. All in all, an exceptional sharpener which I highly reccomend!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jebid
ontario oregon
Mar 11, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

spyderco sharpmaker

works great to sharpen my knifes.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Austnig B
Nonya, Arkansas
Aug 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: Effectiveness, None

Great For Most Knife Steals

I use my sharpmaker to sharpen my EDC knives all the way to my parents kitchen knives. I start off on the 40 degree bevel and then just simply remove one of the fine stone and sharpen at a 18 degree angle free hand this gets most of my knives VERY sharp, even if you are wanting to learn free hand sharpening it will help you see the angles in a diffrent way,and the stones are good to use free hand also as i stated above. The only downside is that they are ceramic rods witch are not good for harder steals such as D2 or S30V, but if that is a problem you can pick up a set of diamond rods from spyderco that fit the sharpmaker. (wich i plan on doing) Over all I highly recomend this to anyone with a knife collection or someone that struggles with tradition sharpening methods.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hare L
New Zealamd
Apr 18, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best In NZ

My nephew has one and He showed me how great it was to sharpen my asorted knives. I just had to have one after that could not fault it in any way
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jo
Md
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Simply works

Great for sharpening EVERYTHING! The instructions are helpful. The video is a bit out-dated and has some odd presenters, but it is very informative. The tool itself is great. Takes a few times to get the hang of it, but then easily produces razor sharp edges.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zman
San Diego
May 29, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Make it Scary Sharp

I love this set. I've never sharpened a knife before and with this tool, I got results quickly. I was so pleased I started sharping every knife I could get my hands on, because I loved seeing the results of my work. Must get. Also, you may want to add the ultra fine ceramics so that you can get the scary sharp results.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Royce J
Tyler, Texas
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Knife Sharpening by a novice

I have never used a knife sharpener, except the cheap kitchen units that are marginal, at best. I took a chance on the Spyderco. It looked intimidating. But, the instructional DVD was very well made, easy to understand and I was sharpening knives while watching. This is so easy and it works. We now have knives that never knew that they could or would be sharp. Absolutely wonderful and very easy!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocky
tulsa, ok USA
Oct 10, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

best sharpener ever

i do heating and air so i use knives a lot for work even with the best steel i can find i have to sharpen every day this shapener makes quick work of it i do recamend the diamond stones if any reshaping is needed. i liked it so much i gave my first one to my grandfather he is very hapy with it as well says there is not a dull knife in the house. i have at least 12 differant sharping kits and none of them even compare to ease of use or how sharp u can get it. no down side except i think they should offer a kit with the dimond stone in it
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wasili
Vienna, Austria
Nov 13, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

As easy as 1,2,3

My first sharpmaker set. Easy use, even for a greenhorn like myself!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Crest Hill, Il
Nov 09, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

razor sharp

Very easy to use. Sharpened 2 old knives, now razor sharp.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rolandr
Montana
Nov 28, 2008
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Works great!

The main thing I like about the system is that you only have to hold the knives vertically to sharpen. Cleaning is a snap with Comet or other such products.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swedish Knife Connoisseur
Sweden
Dec 13, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Excellent sharpening system

The first time I used this sharpener I got three blades shaving sharp in 30 minutes. I was very impressed. The second time, I failed to sharpen at all, or at least I thought so, until I realized that the factory bevel was messed up on the knife and that it needed to be re-bevelled. To do that you need to buy the diamond rods or it will take forever. To be really good at the system you need to practise and pay attention when sharpening. It is not a bomb proof system, some people fail because they think so and do not stay focused all the time while sharpening. If you have studied the instruction video and book and have trained and know how to use the Sharpmaker and still are not able to get a blade sharp, the angle is either wider than 40 degrees or the bevel is messed up / uneven. Use the ink test in that case to see where the rods are sharpening on the edge and back bevel or re-bevel. It is also very important to clean to rods often, I routinely clean them after I have sharpened 2-3 or knives. I highly recommend this sharpening system.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben
austin, tx
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

a great sharpening system

This system is fairly foolproof, and will acieve and maintain razor sharp edges on pretty much anything that needs to be sharpened. All of my knives are even sharper than they were when new, thanks to the Sharpmaker. As most reviews will point out, this is not the most effective tool for reprofiling or repairing severely dull or damaged edges. I use diamond benchstones for these tasks, but Spyderco does sell diamond rods for the sharpmaker as well.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Corey R
redding ca
Mar 01, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

great value and service

Awesome price for this superior sharpening system. Kitchen knives are now almost too sharp. Thanks for the speedy delivery
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lakegator
Sebring,FL.700419
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Spyderco Sharpmaker

This is my second Sharpmaker. My first one is on its way to Afganistan.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Hilton, NY
May 01, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

It Really Works

I HAD an assortment on really DULL knives. After spending a little time learning from the DVD I dove right in to the sharpening process. VOILA!!! Just as advertised my knives came out razor sharp. If I can do it.......anybody can. Great product!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jw
Santa Fe Tn.
Jan 14, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Sharpmaker

Excellent for all of my sharpening needs.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay W
Vegreville, Ab
Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Easy and effective

Incredibly effective and easy to use sharpener. If you follow the instructions and watch the DVD it is really easy and super effective. Very well designed and thought out, good for both experienced blade sharpeners and beginners alike. As always Knife Center showed outstanding customer service and expedient shipping.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Virginia
Jul 10, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Anyone can sharpen blades like a pro with this kit. It comes in a hard plastic case so you don't have to worry about breaking the ceramic rods. It also comes with a DVD that shows you how to use it. This is a kit that you can through in your pack and head out into the field and know it will get the job done.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
L. Harrell
Florida
Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great product, easy to use

This is just want I was looking for, a functional, easy to use knife sharpening system to produce a razor sharp edge on my kitchen and EDC knives. Works quickly and consistently every time. Purchased the ultra fine stones as well, but not necessary to produce a hair shaving edge. Like to use those to really fine tune the edge.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cptcrunch
nh
Jan 24, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

awesome!

i use it for everything!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tcrawford
Socal
Apr 28, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Excellent and easy to use knife sharpener

Very easy to use with instructional dvd in addition to written instructions. Now I can keep a razor sharp edge on all my knives!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Noel H.
WI
Jun 18, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Effective

Quick and easy to place a sharp edge on your knife. Basic sharpening skills required. Limits are the set angles of either 15 or 20 degree edge. Still use either waterstone or DMT stone for the Scandi ground knives. The SP204MF is the general use sharpener for all other knives.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Virginia Beach
Dec 02, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great product just need other rods

This thing is awesome. Works well with the provided stones to keep an edge. Just need to buy the diamond or reprofile rods and the ultra fine rods and this would be all you need.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sb
Philadelphia PA
Jun 08, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent

Makes a razor sharp edge after a little bit of practice!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bo
Fl
May 15, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great

Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
E L Kerlin
Raleigh, NC
Jul 03, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Quality and Versatile

I immediately used it it to sharpen my knife, my father's knife, and my brother-in-law's knife. I bought it as a gift for my father, I like it so much I am planning on buying myself one. My brother-in-law is the next potential purchaser. The unit is simple to use, versatile in that it will sharpen many different blades, and works just as described.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe Real
Atlanta, GA
Mar 04, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great tool, grat value

Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gabor
Malta
Dec 27, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None

Wow!

Works just perfect! You have to have it! I'm Lovin' it! Changed my life in the kitchen! :)
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
J Marquez
Las Cruces, NM
Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great product

This sharpener did as advertised, sharpened all my knives razor sharp. Great product!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tiger50
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 04, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Spyderco ceramic sharpening system

I've owned this system for years and have never been disappointed in the results from it. It takes only a couple minutes and when I'm done, my knives are razor sharp. Easy to use, no messy oil, sure fire angle provided. Well worth the cost.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris M.
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Aug 31, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Perfect Sharpener!

How you use the product: WOW...This is one of the best sharpeners I have used. With the four step process to sharpen your blades (Six with extra stones). This product is so easy to use and comes with a booklet to tell you how to sharpen everything from a plane edge folder to a pair of scissors and so much more... (Buy the bonus stones for extra fine or the diamond stone for hard reshaping of your blade edge) Things that are great about it: Everything and more (Ease of use, Durability, Effectiveness of Sharpening, Quality of the Kit and Stones) Things that aren't so great about it: Nothing!!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adriaan B.
Cape Town, South Africa
Sep 16, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality

Spyderco Sharp Maker

Excellent
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando
Lancaster, ca
Jul 28, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This is a great product because the blade will actually get very sharp
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Chattanooga, Tn
Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Sharpmaker

I bought the Sharpmaker to help maintain the edge on my knives. I also got the ultra fine rods. So far it has done what it is supposed to do. It’s easy to use. Watch the video, you can sharpen pretty much anything with it. I do intend to go back and buy the more coarse rods.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woods
Wisconsin
Feb 27, 2018
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

As advertised

Great sharpener, when used properly. I think the negative reviews are from people that either don’t have any sharpening skills and didn’t watch the dvd provided with the product, or are just plain ignorant. Mine was great, been using it for a few years on everything from kitchen knives to Hinderer products, loved its convenience and versatility so much I bought one for my dad, and he loves his also.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Samuel
NY
Oct 09, 2019
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Easy to use!

Very easy to use and effective! Worth the money
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hk In Dc
DC
Sep 29, 2008
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best system out there

A great system for all my knives. Spyderco has worked for many years to perfect this thing and it is awesome. It takes some work, but they supply a DVD to help! You can sharpen all your knives including serrated edges - I think this was really developed for their spyder- edges- including kitchen knives. There are 2 angles and 2 grits included. This is a great system!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gavin N
Cape Town
Jan 19, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Could not be better

I have had my system for a year now - I ordered the extra fine rods with the system but should have ordered the diamond rods at the same time - About 4 Months ago I ordered the Diamond rods and would not be without them today - For quick, easy and efficient sharpening of a dull blade the Diamond rods work a treat and reduce the sharpening time !!! I have the unit permantly mounted on my desk and I use it ALL the time - It was a pleasure when we were hunting last year and the PH cut himself on my knife !! He did not realise that knives were meant to be that sharp !! Best sharpening system I have ever found !!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chalupa
Jun 16, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

only sharpener you will ever need

This is good for pros and beginners it is idiot proof. This is the best sharpener on the market in my opinion and very easy to maintain. The best thing is the quality, come on it even comes with a dvd. If you dont have one get it now!!!!!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob B.
jefferson Md.
Apr 05, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Bought it before i knew about the knife center, its nothing short of fantastic. I sharpen knives, sissors, just about anything with an edge.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark W
Pittsburg Texas
Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

AWSOME JOB

This sharpener work great, I've only used it on two knives. One was a cheap working knife with a dull rounded edge within ten minutes it was a cutting blade again very sharp, I even used it to shave with. I wish I had bought one of these years ago. Thank you for a great product.. I will tell others about this sharpener
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando S
Miami,Fl
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
great sharpening system
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wire
Abilene,TX
Jul 01, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great system, great price, and the customer service at Knifecenter can't be beat.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
B.T.
Tucson, AZ
May 03, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

another Spyderco Sharpmaker fan

Not really much to add to all the previous positive reviews. This thing works! Used on Emersons, CRKTs, Cold Steels, kitchen knives, etc.. I've tried many other sharpeners in the past with mixed results. Rest assured that this one does the job much better than any others I've tried. Really puts on an edge you can shave with.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ready4anythingdude
CHIburbs
Dec 13, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

BEST Sharpener EVER!

This sharpening system is the best on the market today. It works with almost any type of blade you can throw at it. I have sharpened the following blades with it: Cold Steel:4"Recon 1 Tanto plain,6"Rajah II,3.25"Safe MakerII,Ka-Bar:5.25"Short Tanto Combo,8"Tanto Fighting combo,11.5"Kukri Machete,Columbia River Knife and Tool:3.2" Sting spear point double sided boot knife,SOG Fusion:2.75" Tactical Tomahawk, all my plain and serrated kitchen knifes plus all my scissors and wire cutters. All these blades ranged from brand new factory sharp, to wouldn't even slice a tomato, now all are almost razor sharp! I don't mean to sound rude but if can cut a tomato you should be able to sharpen at least your kitchen knives. It was made to be "FOOL PROOF" it even comes with a DVD! You can SAVE HUNDREDS of dollars with this superb system! Knife Center has one of the best prices on the "InterWeb" and super fast shipping. So BUY IT and watch the boring yet helpful DVD, its EASY trust me!!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grant Lanier
Greenacres, Fl
May 14, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great tool

Bought my first Spyderco in 1980. Got the Tri Angle shortly afterward for the serrations. I have sharpened everything from my Spyderco knives to large combat knives, scissors, and everything in between. The second generation Tri Angle with the additional angle assisted with slimmer, smaller knives. With the addition of the diamond sheaths and sticks, there is very little I can't get razor sharp. If I can't get it sharp with this system, then the steel is no good! Have my first set and three additional sets
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rezmanp.
Tbilisi. Rep. of Georgia
Jul 30, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

excellent sharpmaker

I think it is perfect and easy in use sharpmaker for any metal.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
G.B
Collegeville PA
Jun 05, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

real sharp blade 1st tme

There were some things I didn't like about the product like some wiggle in the rod placement and "plasticy" feeling but I got a dull knife very sharp on my 1st try after watching the video. It also has to be understood that this sharpener is not for convex edges or very thick blades or blades with very different edge bevels. It is very effective for most knives and worth the money.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade
Columbus, OH
Jul 31, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

The State of the Art

I've been interested in getting this sharpener for a long time and was very pleased to find it at such a good price here. There is really nothing to complain about with this system, it is nearly completely idiot-proof and seriously time-tested and continually re-developed. If you want to be able to put a reliable, serious edge on your blades you cannot beat this system. There is really no question that you do need the optional sticks. I do a lot of hard work with my blades and they take a lot of abuse and need to be repaired and reshaped after nearly every use which really can't be done with this system without the optional diamond sticks. Nonetheless, I have no complaints about this system whatsoever. A great basic approach to professional sharpening. The State of the Art.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eddie G.
Las Vegas,NV
Jul 03, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best in the West

I use the Sharpmaker for all the knives my customers like to have sharpened. Been at it for over 5 years and owned the system long before that. I won't use the store's own system of wheels on a bench grinder due to safety concerns. The Sharpmaker is both safe to use and works great. The only caveat is that on really hard steels it needs a little help. I use a Smith Abrasives 4 in One Sharpener using the crossed steels and then tungsten carbide "V" to set the edge. It's already a functional edge now but I still go to the Sharpmaker afterwards to give it that finished touch. Sharpens like the dickens using both medium and then fine stones per Spyderco's instructions. For serrations it's hard to beat,just use the corner of the stone then give the backside a few strokes to take the burr off. Take your time, it takes awhile to master the system but once you do,go out and make a few bucks on the side with it. I do. Never have had a displeased customer yet. I'm definitely going to order the ultra fine stones to add to my repetoire. I love getting edges that scare the pants off folks. Oh, and I prefer the 30 degree angle for 15 degrees on each side, what's good for those Samurais is good for me.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dbcad
newnan, ga
Dec 20, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Well worth it!

When I first started getting Spyderco knives I was worried about being able to maintain a good sharp edge on them. I bought the sharpmaker and was able to bring my nice little Fox folder up to a Spyderco out of the box edge. I was never able to do this with the ultrafine whetstone that I have. Make the investment and buy the optional ultrafine sticks. I am very impressed with my results. I am no longer worried about maintaining Spyderco out of the box sharpness.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
James R
Sydney, Australia
Aug 30, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Wow how easy

This thing Is so easy to use just watch the DVD and follow the step and you will have any knife razor sharp in minutes. I bought a benchmade bone collector with d2 blade and after watching the DVD I could shave with the d2 blade in minutes.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Indiana
Aug 11, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Quick and easy to razor sharp.

I keep one on the kitchen counter, and one one my shop counter. Once things are sharpened, I give a few strokes with the fine stones after each use. My wife doesn't mind it on a counter since all her kitchen knives are very sharp. The only drawback is that the stones are somewhat fragile and may break if dropped. Replacements are available, but expensive.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Otto D
Afghanistan
Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Exellent Sharpmaker

I use it for all my knifes, it was a very good deal for me. The system is cheap and easy to use. After a small training periode I use this often so that all my knifes are now very, very sharp.Thanks for this good deal.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adrian Suresch
Shrewsbury , Pa.
Dec 12, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

microscopic fine edge / surgical sharp results

I am a carver and I,ve owned a Spyderco Sharpmaker for almost 26 years,it will produce a surgical edge on most any blade. The one I just purchased is for my son-inlaw. there is no doubt in my mind that he will use the Sharpmaker for many years with excellent results also. And guess what, IT'S MADE IN AMERICA!!!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Nov 13, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Still my favorite

I've had this for 9 years and its been used at least twice a week for most of that time. I've got fancier, more expensive sharpeners but nothing is as easy and quick to set up and use. Not the best for reprofiling a blade, but for general sharpening and touch ups the Sharpmaker is very hard to beat.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerryc
Winter Springs, FL
Nov 15, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Anyone can have sharp knives with this kit

I'll admit I have a pair of stones, but I only use them if a knife has a very thick edge and is extremely dull. And I only use them in that case because the first time you sharpen a really dull, blunt knife on a Sharpmaker it can literally take thousands of strokes per side. However, once you get a shaving sharp edge on that dull old knife, you can keep it shaving sharp by investing a minute or so when it starts to lose it's fine edge. I've been using one for almost 10 years now, it never seems to wear out or lose it's effectiveness. You can clean the stones with comet and a scotchbrite pad or with a brillo pad - either way cleans them up in no time. No honing oil needed - and no messy sludge from waterstones. It's maintaining your edge the easy way!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tommy
SIN
Dec 08, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Easy to use

I watch the DVD, read the instruction booklet and I got my knives shaving sharp.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dethhxcman
Corvallis, OR
Dec 30, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Wicked Sweet!

This sharpener is awesome! As long as your grinds fit the angles provided your set. Its easy, fast, and very clean. It works real well on cleaning up an edge or evening out a grind that's off. Good product. If you have a lot of knives it would be in you benefit to get one of these bad boys!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Teegu
providence, ri
Jan 19, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

greatest system ever

I own lots of different types of knives. antiques, zdp 189, h1, some crazy Italian steel, and this sharpener will do it all with ease, safety and precision. if your like me and love tools of all kinds its worth buying just for the educational video on how to use it. overall a great products.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jefro
SoCal
Aug 30, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Love it!

I really like the dual angles and ease of use.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chance
Kansas
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Honestly It works extremely well with the given rods for any knife that needs just retouching. If you have a harder knife blade that needs totally reprofiled I'd suggest the diamond rods if you need to fully reprofile a blade. It works well and will take most any knife from being dull to haircutting sharp and it's easy to do as long as you follow the instructions with the included cd.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Myrmecia
Canberra, Australia
Feb 03, 2011
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great product, but over-hyped

This is a top-quality product and great for serrated and scalloped knives like those made by Spyderco. The accompanying DVD is also very good, but the suggestion that the Sharpmaker rods would be a good choice for sharpening tin-snips or axes is going too far.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregory T
Riverside, CA
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Easy to master

Very nice, finally a "no brainer" way to get a consistent edge. Nice work Spyderco.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Howard O
California
Jan 07, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

KCREVIEW

It sharpened my kitchen knives and pocket knives easily as advertised.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ag
NC
Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great product!

Easy to use, very effective, easy to store, sharpening system. I use it to maintain all of my folders, as well as kitchen knives. Takes some practice to use as it relies on your ability to maintain perfectly vertical strokes, but once you get it down it is very easy to use. Cleaning the rods is simple with just water and a little powdered soap and/or scrub brush. The ceramic rods are also supposed to be dishwasher safe, but I haven't tried that yet. It is nice that includes video instruction as well as a booklet. While I purchased a set of both the diamond and ultra fine rods to make a more "complete" system, the the included medium and fine rods are enough for maintenance on most knives. I would recommend least the diamond rods as an additional purchase if you have well worn knives or ones that need re-profiling.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
South America
Mar 05, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Used it for 2 years

Its an excellent product for straight blades. I still use sandpaper and a leather strop with green compound for my convex fixed every day carry and chopper knives. Sharpmaker is great for those kitchen and pocket knives.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johno
Midwest
Jun 10, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Everything has already been said!

If I could give it 10 stars, I would. I've tried different sharpeners over the years. This one has surpassed them all. Took some getting used to. Once you get the feel for it, it's pretty simple. Dug my Buck 119 out of retirement and went to work on it. Now that it cuts the air, I'm putting it back to work.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom B
PNW
Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Works as avertised, like how compact the sharping unit is and it is easy it is to use.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Doe
Alameda CA
Apr 02, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best Sharpener I've Used

Stores small, complete, no accessories to buy, works better than any other sharpener I've found. My pocket knives are razor sharp. Works well on a Spyderco with VG-10 blade as well as a Benchmade with S30V blade, both notoriously difficult to hone. If it breaks, I'll buy another.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tmenzies
Hong Kong
Sep 14, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Sharpening System

This really has to be the easiest way to get a great (or even scary) edge on your blades. The system is so simple in its concept - a fixed angle is applied to the blade edge by angling the stones and using your natural ability to keep the blade upright. The two grades of stone, and the two surfaces on each (flat side or corner) allow you to bring the edge of your blade to a mirror finish. I guarantee you will be surprised with how constant the angles are, and the polish that you can get. Of course the proof is in the results, and the Sharpmaker definitely provides these. It is all too easy to put 'scary' sharp edges on blades. You will find yourself with many bald patches after the obligatory 'shave test'!! The Sharpmarker will also deal with serrated blades - though the doing is necessarily much slower than with straight edges. Over time I think that the method will lead to the sharpening out of the serations - eventually (over a looooooong time) taking you back to a straight edge. Let's face it though, there really is no way to sharpen those sorts of blades, except at the factory...
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason A
Indianapolis
Sep 03, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great purchase

Bought a smaller less expensive version couple years ago. You get what you pay for, spend the extra now and get the good one. Plus shipping to me was increadibly fast. Buying family member a new blade soon as gift. Will be buying from these folks, good stuff and quick at a decent price point.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shawna U.
Worcester, MA
Jan 09, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None
This product is great my boyfriend can't stop using it...He looks for things to sharpen all the time
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jericho429
Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great Sharpening System

Most straightforward and intuitive hand sharpening system i have ever seen or used!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Niklas
sweden
Apr 19, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

easy to use good result

easy too use good result
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard C. Hodges
Austell, Ga.
Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

My order

I like this much better than the flat stone that I've been using.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
B
New York, N.Y
May 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

Very easy to use.

I will start by saying I'm not the best at putting an edge on a blade. That said within 10 minutes of opening the package I had a scary sharp edge on my ZT302. I would have liked a place to put extra hones, but that's not a big deal.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian Ho
Shrewsbury, MA
Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very nice sharpener

The sharpener works just as advertised.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Butterfingers
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 07, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Makes Butter Knives Into Razors!

I am one of those people who can pick up any kind of stone and turn a somewhat sharp knife into a scratched up dull butter knife! I have never been able to sharpen a blade to save my life until now! Forget any other sharpener. I've tried almost every kind of sharpener too! If you don't mind cutting with semi sharp blades, or you're a wunderkind who can use a traditional stone that's fine. However, if you're like me and want to cut with hair popping razors, then (other than having a professional sharpen them) this is the only way! I read a million reviews on this before I bought, especially the ones by people who couldn't get it to work. I thought, will I be one of those people? Personally, I don't think they used enough strokes. This isn't necessarily the fastest sharpener. It takes time and a little effort, especially with really dull knives (this is where the diamond stones are crucial). I took an old blade that was duller than the dullest butter knife and made it shaving sharp, without one scratch on the blade! It took about 4 hours and around 10,000 passes. Once your knives are sharp it only takes about 5 minutes every couple days (moderate use) to keep them razor sharp though. This set is amazing! Even though it will double the price, you really need to get the diamond and ultra-fine stones. The latter come individually, so make sure you order 2! Although it's a bit pricey, this is by far the best and easiest to use sharpener on the market! It's worth every penny, and after you get it, you'll have bald patches all over your arms from testing your handiwork!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yvon Urvoyyvon Urvoyyvon
Saint-Brieuc, OtherSaint-Brieuc, Otherfrance
Jun 07, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

the best sharpening tool

is so easy to sharpen a knive whith the spyderco tri-angle sharpmaker My knives had a razor sharp thank to knife center.com
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ D
Aton Va
Sep 16, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome

Will sharpen anything you want!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis S.
Canada
Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great

Exactly what I wanted
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sb
Philadelphia PA
Jun 08, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Effectiveness

Excellent

Makes a razor sharp edge after a little bit of practice!!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Francisco
Spain
Jan 02, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A must tool in your outdoor bag also useful at home.

Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wombat
Australia
Feb 15, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Sharp knives

I have wanted one of these for years. I use it to sharpen everything from kitchen knives to scissors to fish hooks. It is a compact, self contained kit with everything you need. The only improvement I can think of would be a timber case but that would also raise the price.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
NC
Feb 04, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Spyderco Sharpmaker

Makes knife sharpening a pleasure to do!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carver
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Feb 21, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Spyderco Sharpmaker

This is the easiest sharpening system i have used with great results. Once you use it you will want to sharpen anything you can find. DVD explains a lot when it comes to sharpening things you wouldn't normally know how to sharpen. Its easy cleanup with comet and a scrub pad. Just dont drop the ceramic stones they will shatter!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Francisco L
Puerto Rico
Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great sharpener for a beginner.

It is easy to install and work with. It sharpens really good, I make the test with paper and it makes a great difference.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Td
Michigan
Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Makes for a nice consistent grind

I'm pretty decent with a bench hone, but the results tend to look a little bit rugged. Then Chris Reeve told me to buy this. You don't just ignore Chris Reeve. You don't say "Thanks for the input Chris, but I got it covered." Tried it out and it not only gets you a very sharp edge el-quicko, but it's also a very consistent, factory-looking edge. Will definitely use it for the nicer stuff.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Hanford, CA
Jul 15, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Forget Lansky

Doesn't mar, edge comes out great. The video it comes with is spot on. Once you run about four knives through you get the technique down. I'm gonna pick up the ultra fine stones.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian Lacaze
Nieuil L'espoir,
Jul 26, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Easy to use, ever my girlfriend enjoy using it for the kitchen knives!!! Heavy enought for stability in use. Can sharp about everything needed!!! (everything but macheetes...)
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chad C
Dallas TX
Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome product. Sharpening made easy.

I use this product on everything from my kitchen knives and scissors to my every day carry pocket knives. Its quick, easy and puts a great edge on with no muss and no fuss.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jbh
Birch Bay, WA
Dec 04, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Best sharpener on the market

I have used the Spyderco sharpmaker for about ten years and can comfortably say it is the best on the market. I was in the knife business for over 15 years and have had the opportunity to use a great many sharpeners - I have always come back to this one. It offers the ability to sharpen just about anything quickly and effectively.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vociferans
Central Texas
Sep 05, 2019
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Brilliant!

I'm a veterinarian and a cook and I obsess about anything with a cutting edge. The versatile Sharpmaker allows you to restore a good edge to almost any instrument/utensil/tool. Be sure to watch the DVD or online videos to get the most out of this set.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Wisconsin
Oct 30, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Product

I have used this on my pocket, kitchen and hunting knives. I was never that talented at sharpening blades prior to this. How this sharpener fits in its own case is awesome, it makes it easy to bring place to place.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stumo
Missouri
Jul 08, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome sharpener

This is the best sharpener I've ever used not to mention one of the easiest. Watch the supplied DVD for all the techniques to sharpen anything and everything you own. You can easily shave (but not recommended) with a knife after sharpening it with this system. Very satisfied!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Chicago
Apr 05, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Ease of Use

Great and easy sharpening system!

I have had this system for over 25 years and use it all the time to sharoen all of my knivesthe best part is TGE easy way to hold TGE knife when you are sharpening a knife, you don't have to keep it at a certain angle, the fine stone real puts a super sharp blade!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert D
Prince George, B.C. Canada
May 25, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I bought the Spyderco Sharpmaker when I perchased a spyderco street beat knife and thought spyderco must know best how to sharpen thier own knives. It works well on all my knives, kitchen, out door, shop, scissors, I had to try it on all my stuff when I got it and it has worked just fine. It could not be easier to work and the results have been great. I try to order from the original manufacturers site if I can when ordering online because of so much fraudulent merchandise out there. But this can be expensive. I have great confidence in Knife Centers integrity as an online dealer. So thanks again, knife center. Rob D.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bolo
Weatherford, TX
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great product with a couple of quirks.

The first Sharpmaker I bought came with a VHS instructional tape, so I can definitely speak from experience about the product. It works exactly as advertised, and will keep your knives sharper than you probably need. However, the stones that come with the basic set are NOT what you'd want to use to thin out a secondary bevel. You could do it, but prepare for a lot of time and effort. If you anticipate having to remove a lot of steel, the (unfortunately expensive) diamond accessory rods are a must. The basic kit's roughest grit would be what I'd call a medium, and just cannot cut large amounts of steel, particularly the CPM super-steels, etc. Also, one thing to be careful of as you work using the edges of the stones: When you've pulled the knife down and back to the base of the stone, be very careful not to let the tip of your blade slip off the edge of the stone and go skating across the face. You can round a point off in a big hurry like that, and it's very easy to do. That being said, I don't believe you're going to find a more versatile, better made manual sharpener out there. I'm on my third, having lost one and given away another, and after all this time, I still haven't seen anything to beat it.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
California1
LA, CA
Apr 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

Spyderco Sharpmaker

I keep this item in my car to sharpen knives while camping; it's a small item that acts as a complete set of sharpening stones.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jay
Earth
Jul 20, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice Stand and handy for a quick blade..

Ill admit I am one of the thick headed who usually likes my japanese stones that come out of the wood shop, but for a quick blade on my folder, this works very well..
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Wilmington, NC
Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Spyderco shoemaker set

Awesome system, me a alk my Butcher knives razor sharp!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Man
Where no one knows im there
Jan 08, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None

Spyderco sharpmaker

This product is good and easy to use .....lansky crock sticks also work very good and are available on this website
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
George S
NH
Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

Good stuff

I like this knife sharpening set. It does get knives very sharp. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the left triangular rod doesn't fit in the base as well as the right side. It has a bit more play. Nice set though and worth the $$$.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marky M
Ohio
Dec 15, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

works every time

This one was purchased for my niece but I have two in my home. The Sharpmaker allows anyone to achieve a sharp edge on any knife. It is the best system on the market at this price range. I would like to see a more durable base, but other than that it is perfect! It is the only sharpener I will use on my Chris Reeve Sebenzas other than a leather strop because it does not remove a lot of metal and you don't scratch up the blade. Highly recommended!
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Louisiana
Mar 12, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

awesome system

This is the best sharpening kit I've ever used I've used it on several knives, scissors and a few other things so far, and everything comes out perfect. the only way it could be better is if it came with some rougher rods. on my main knife I had a pretty bad nick in it and the rougher of the two grits took quite a while to get it out. and I really don't want to spend $40 on the diamond rods that won't even fit in the case.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eddie L
virginia beach
Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Effectiveness
Worked good after getting use to it. Do not agree with a 40 degree angle as the best overall angle for most knives as is stated in the video. Also felt like the ceramic rods needed cleaning very frequently.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin R
Camp Verde, Az
Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Use
Makes sharp knives really sharp. Not the sharpener you want for resetting edge bevels. Difficult to get the tips sharp on some knives. Works really well on kitchen knives.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ly
SG
Feb 06, 2014
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Easy to use

One of the slots for the rods seems to be at the wrong angle There's a bit of give and the rod can shift around inside the slot However, it is still usable as long as i turn the knife a little It is simple to use and seems to be pretty well-made other than the flaw I found It looks sturdy and I imagine it would last quite a long time
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aravinthan Rp
TN,India.
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good but not Great

The overall performance is good. But not great. I purchased a smith's 6 inch ceramic stone for 3 dollars which is equally good. BTW the stone was also from Knifecenter.com. I don't think it is worth the 65 dollars.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 4 stars out of 5
Smith
Minneapolis MN
Oct 08, 2008
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

Good for good knives

This knife sharpener works good on all my nicer knives Spyderco Para for example, but for some cheaper knives Leatherman wave it does not work very well. one thing that I do not like is that the plastic base does not feel strong and I do not think that it will last more than a couple of years of hard use.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dave
Colorado
May 22, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality

Not impressed

I expected more from this sharpener. One stone was shorter than the other three. When I put stones in the standard slots one of them is quite loose and droops down at least a few degrees more than the other one. I thought the base was supposed to hold them at the proper angle but it doesn't. I brought it to spyderco to exchange it but they insisted that I leave it to be "repaired". I can't imagine what kind of repair can be done to the molded plastic base. this was two weeks ago and I have yet to hear from them. I'm kind of sorry I bought this. I expected a quality product and quality service but got neither.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 3 stars out of 5
T.Anderson
Ca.
Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Ease of Use, Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

Spyderco 204mf sharpmaker

Received product took 14 days.I have used it on 4 knives and 1 pair of scissors.The process takes some practice to get a proper edge.After the 4th knife it was more easy. When drawing the blade down to the tip you need to stop.otherwise it erodes the point. The fine stone has already got a chip in the edge NOT GOOD. I thought these stones would be more durable. Overall I consider it a fair sharpening tool.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 2 stars out of 5
Kin Yu C
Pok Fu Lam, Hong Kong
Feb 05, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Great tool. Disappointing quality control.

The sharpener is great, works well on various knifes and make them razor sharp. The mid stones are not good for rebevelling so if you decide to do so, don't kiss the diamond rods. However, the overall quality is a bit disappointing. There is a nick on one of the fine stone rods. As a sharpening stone, I would expect complete flatness and this is obviously a quality flaw. That nick messed up a SAK and the beginning before I realise and it makes sharpening on that side impossible. At this price point, and from a company like Spyderco, and a product claiming to be usa made, I don't expect this quality. I am far far away in Hong Kong on the other side of the planet, and that rod itself worth merely 10 dollars which means it doesn't make any sense at all to return or refund it. It leaves me no choice but living with it.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 2 stars out of 5
Yaron
Tel-Aviv
Jun 28, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Durability

Waist of Money.

not recommended! works well only with spyderco knifes does not work well with other knifes or other grind eagles. one more down side it will scratch your blade badly if you take the blade to high, the top of triangle sharpeners is sharp and got one of my knifes blade scratched badly contacting with it. one more con is it does not come with a regrind stone so if you have any cheeps or nicks on your cutting edge it's useless and cannot fix such problems. don't get this.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 1 stars out of 5
Erwin Jarvis
Ga.
Sep 27, 2008
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
The flat sides are not flat. Cleaning the rods takes forever and I have never been able to get them completly clean. To me the performence of the product is very bad. Wish I had never bought it. I have another brand that was alot cheaper and works three times better.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dandaman
Bowie, MD
Dec 04, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness

Odds are you'll like it - I don't

Works for 90%+ of the time for those who buy it. I'm in the other group. Watched the video 3+ times. Practiced 10-12 hours. Checked out knife forums for tips. Never could put a decent edge on a blade. Many times the knife was duller. Wrote the company - was ignored. I cannot co-exist with this product. It does not work for me. Wish I'd never heard of it - total frustration.
Spyderco Sharpmaker Standard Complete Set Medium and Fine Grit Rods
rated 1 stars out of 5
Astronomer1
Chesterfield, VA
Jun 04, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality

Very disappointing

I saw all the 5-star reviews but I don't see the value... It costs about 75 bucks to get a basic system decidedly lacking in features. The medium stones are far too fine to re-profile an edge--you grind away for days. Instead, you'll need the diamond stones, and they are another sixty dollars. And you will most probably NEED to re-profile--because the Sharpmaker's fixed settings of either 30 or 40 degrees will not match your existing edge bevel. Next, the fine grit rods do not create a very sharp edge, so you'll need the Ultra Fine rods for another 35 bucks. So your total investment is about $170.00. And even then, the rods wobble in their slots in the cheap plastic base, creating an uneven apex. The result is marginal edge compared to another far better-engineered METAL-based system (@$250.00) with fully-adjustable angles and all-diamond hones. The ONLY advantage I have found with the Sharpmaker is that it works for small blades and blades that are difficult to clamp in a honing vise (e.g., dagger blades with double-bevels).