Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine - 302UF

Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Finerated 4.8 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine

 

Price: $63.00

Save $27.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bogey
Kansas
Jun 15, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best ceramic stone I have ever owned.

If you are a knife enthusiast and have not tried this stone yet you are missing out. Puts a great hone and shine to your bevel. I follow my DMT Duosharpes up with this stone and then migrate to an Arkansas Surgical Black followed by a good strop. I have more stone then one man should have and this is in my top two. Thanks Knife Center.
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Socalflash
san diego
Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

good to have. well worth the money.

I use this stone after using the fine mastersharp rods. If definitely makes the blade a little smoother and sharper...and shinier. Well worth buying. I also strop after this untrafine stone. Can shave the side of my face but chicken out on the rest. I also have a moon stone that does not feel as smooth as this ultrafine stone, but the sharpest knife I ever had I sharpened on a moon stone. I was afraid of this knife after I sharpened it... gerber silver knight with abalone handles, 440c steel, and I changed the bevel to as low as possible. Scratched the blade up a little. Still have the knife and moon stone but I went back to a 15 degree angle.
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Madison, WI
Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None

That's one Fine Stone!

I have used a number of different stones to sharpen my knives and chisels over the years. I have always been able to get a very good and sharp edge, however, after incorporating the Spyderco Ultra Fine stone into my sharpening routine I must admit that I have taken my knife sharpening to a whole new level of refinement. I am very impressed. As far as I can tell I will need to do very little maintenance to keep this stone working optimally. This is one of the major reasons at to why I chose to try the Spyderco Ultra Fine stone. The case is nice too.
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom K.
Oregon
May 15, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Spyderco ceramic stones

I've been working as a chef for the past 3 decades and nothing I've tried sharpens knives as effectively as Spyderco ceramic bench stones. An excellent product and I highly recommend these bench stones.
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
South Carolina
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Prefect final stage stone

Give my blades a mirror shine edge. The stone sets at a prefect high to allow free hand sharpening with ease. Of coarse, makes my knives razor sharp. A super purchase if want to take your knife to the next level.
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fc
New Mexico
Jan 08, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent razor hone (:

This stone makes a very good razor hone. When my straight razor gets dull I strop it 20 times or so on this stone and then strop it on my leather strop, then the canvas strop then the leather strop and it's sharp as a razor can be. Excellent straight razor hone and at a reasonable cost..... Can't afford to pay for trow away razors anymore... I'm throwing away the big corporations who steal our money......
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Washington
Aug 18, 2008
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

straight razor user

I bought the Spyderco Ultrafine as a finishing stone after the use of my Norton combo 4000/8000. I could not be happier with the result. It really puts that sharp fine edge on my straight razor and it makes it shine like a sharp edge is supposed to.
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrei
Bucharest Romania
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

EXCELLENT!!!

This is incredible! It does a great job and it`s a real pleasure to use it! Love the feeling, love the look, love the sound, and of course the job it does. Makes me want to open a honing business, too bad there are not many people using Straight Razors here in Romania :)
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rv
Western Pa.
Nov 03, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Quality Ceramic Stone

I was hoping this stone would match the finish produced by a Case "Moon Stone". It does not, it is slightly coarser. The problem with the "Moon Stone " is that it's only 3 3/4" long; hard to use when sharpening a long blade. Plus, it's not available any longer... I tried the Spyderco Fine (it will hone an edge that will shave hair), then the ultra fine ( it will shave hair even better...). I'll be ordering the Med. as well. The ulra fine I purchased was a little too thin to use in the holder/case (not a big deal). The Fine was ok on thickness. Both are flat and cleaned up easily using a bar of lava soap and water. Also, both cut well. If Spyderco starts making a extra ultra fine I'd get that as well.
Spyderco Ceramic Bench Stone, Ultra Fine
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tom-In-Idaho
idaho
May 17, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability
Cons: None

good but,.....

Stone was not flat along the longer (8") dimension. Needed about 1-2 hours on a diamond stone to get it flat. Across the shorter (2") dimension it was flat. Given how most would use the stone might not be an issue. Same non-flat was found on the medium bench stone but not to the degree of the ultrafine. Given the effort to flatten the stone I doubt it will require re-flattening even after years of use. In use it is only for the final honing, surface loads quickly requiring cleaning. It is not for edge grinding will take too long. Puts a mirror microbevel on a properly sharpened edge.