Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits - 303MF

Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Gritsrated 4.533 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits

 

Price: $35.00

Save $15.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack S
Midlothian, Va
Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

forgot how great ceramic stones are.

best pocket stone I have. I own a double sided, fallkniven stone also, and this beats it hands down. the grey side will put the edge back on a knife in a few strokes. and the white will keep it maintained. You can use the white side like a steel. and the edges of the stone are exposed enough for regrinds and serrations. Though not as effect on serrations as a stone meant for them. The thing this stone won't do is, re-profile your edge if it has been extremely chipped or rolled over. that is where the fallkniven stone excels
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel P
Canada
Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Nothing to say!

Product of excelent quality, wearable, really good, without any surprise... Really well described on the website of Knifecenter. Shipping really quick and really eficient because i'm in Canada. Shipping fees were reasonable and the website with the products available in my country very clear. Thanks!
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
N. Sato
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Sep 20, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very durable too

I have one about ten years now, without any sign of worn. Only the leather case shows some discoloration, because it got wet sometimes...
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert B
Fountain Hills, AZ
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great touch up stoen

I use this pocket stone to touch up my knives if they dull out a bit and boy does it do the job. Simple and quick to take a knife back to easy paper cutting sharp in a few strokes. Great inexpensive gift for someone.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenso
Hong Kong
May 08, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

pyderco (Double Stuff) Sharpening Pocket Stone

Excellent design with two grits, and handy for carry around.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale B.
Grand Junction , Mi
Aug 27, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

nice little stone

This stone is a great size to slip in a pack or pocket. The meduim side takes off metal a bit better than I thought and the fine side really gets a good edge. Laying the stone on the leather pouch holds it in place pretty good. I used a regular pink pencil eraser to clean the stone up quickly and easily. This stone won't be the first choice to sharpen a big camp/survival knife or anything but works really good for pocket knives. I am impressed with the materials used in the stone and I am going to get the bigger bench stones for my larger knives.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shreekar R R
Mumbai, India
Jun 04, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Convenient Sharpening Stone

I travel a lot and this double surface stone is my must-have in my kit. Very compact and convenient. Cant find a fault.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cepheid
McKinleyville, CA
Jan 07, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Love it

This is perfect for everyday use. If you like having a sharp edge on your blade for maximum effectiveness, then having a pocket stone helps you be able to touch up flat spots on the go.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Librarian K
Maryland
Dec 19, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Form and Function

Among all stones or sharpening systems I own, Spydero saphire powder ceramic are #1, the best I've used. "Doublestuff" is intentional. They made it look like the cookie, the glue is "the stuff" and is visible. It's not pretty, but it works--well. All long edges are rounded and exposed enough to sharpen scalloped/serated blade edges.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cory
Nevada
Oct 02, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Combination

I love the idea of the Double Stuff, and it's a very high quality stone, but I prefer two separate stones so I have two sharpening surfaces per stone. The first Double Stuff I purchased, the glue gave up and the stones separated. I cleaned the glue off, and Gorilla glued them back together. Shortly after, I regretted doing so. Eventually I bought a 303F and a 303M separately and carry them together in the same pouch with a small strip of leather to keep them from grinding and clinking against each other when I'm on the move. It's a wonderful deal, two $20 stones for $32! I just prefer them separately. If you want the two glued together, this is an amazing deal, just be prepared to glue them back together in case the glue fails.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
hawaii
Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Spyderco double stuff

This is great for keeping a sharp edge in the field or for touch ups, but mine had bumps on the white side. Still a great product.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris L.
MA
May 11, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

great pocket stone

I have used this product to sharpen many edges and get them shaving sharp. the great thing about it is that it can take a fairly dull edge and bring it to sharpness. my only negative thought about it is that there a a few dots where the stone is uneven on the fine side but it doesn't affect the edge that you are able to put on a blade but you can feel them but at this price i can deal with it. great first freehand stone for any of those looking to learn.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
Chandler, Az
Aug 16, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good, but smooth.

I use this to maintain an edge when I'm out or to polish edges at home. Even the medium side is too smooth to use on a dull blade, but a few swipes on the medium and them the fine side for polishing does the trick nicely if the edge is not too far gone. Placing the leather sheath under it eliminates sliding and provides a little more elevation. An ordinary white vinyl pencil eraser cleans it.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Greg
Plymouth, In
Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

5" x 1" should be listed in the overveiw

Havent used long enough yet to give it a 5 star. Like it so far. Nice size for pocket carry.
Spyderco Double Stuff Sharpening Pocket Stone, Fine and Medium Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anders
Sweden
Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Great stone

So far i have used it to sharpen my axe, and the axe has never been sharper. The size and feel of the stone just gives you feeling of quality, well done spyderco and last i wish the pouch that it came in would have been better before i bought it, not a deal breaker it just that i hade to make a new one. Over all a good stone to keep in you pocket