Reviews and Ratings for Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin - JJ1

Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tinrated 4.727 stars out of 5 (11.0 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin

 

Price: $9.95

View Product Details
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike K
Arizona
Aug 24, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

Kid loves it

My 3 year old great grandson, according to his father, just loves the knife. He says it was easy to put together and the boy plays with it everyday.
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelsey
Idaho
Dec 26, 2016
Pros:
Cons:

Awesome

Great product, my 5 year old got it for christmas and he is OBSESSED
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven Pauly
Lancaster, CA
Jul 12, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Great inexpensive & unique gift!

Very clear instructions. Very unique knife, and by choosing different stains, you have a great deal of input into the final look. I purchased stain (samples) for $.49, from Home Depot and one sample did the entire knife. Also given as a gift, and I included 4 different color stains, for the individual to choose from. Painted the blade silver, after sharpening. The different type wood insert in the handle also makes it look very unique.
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
L.H.
Mar 27, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
No further comments
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lyam
Madison WI
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Fun kit for nephews

It was great to give these to my young nephews (4 & 5 yrs old). They are to young for a real pocket knife, so they were both very excited to have their own "pocket knife". Also, this was a chance to make something together. Very easy to assemble, good design. a bit trickier if you want it perfectly sanded stained etc.
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ottoofmidgard
everett, wa
Jan 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

excellent fun young boy learning knife ...

My stepson was a little confused with the kit to start with, but when I put it together and he has seen he has ' his very own knife! ' I think its a winner! And I had a great time putting it together... think I may order the other version for myself, just for the fun of building it and staining my own real nice...great product!
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Liam B
Kununurra Australia
Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I bought this for my 3 year old because I have heaps of knives and he wanted one. He loves it and the fact the blade comes blunt and you sand it to you liking is awesome, he uses it to open boxes and noodle packets and the like and carries it everywhere with him. Great first knife
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinbeaks
Stonington, MI
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great for kids

The cheapest gift under the tree and the boys loved it. In their pockets right now, perfect.
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crystal
utah
Jan 07, 2015
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

great knife

We got this for our 4 year old because he wanted a knife like his big brothers. I was worried he would see right through and be upset it wasn't "real", but he LOVES it. He takes it everywhere. He uses it to open things like the plastic around dvd's and such. Wood is beautiful, very well crafted. It all pops together without any need for tools, but does suggest the option of using wood glue to seal it. We didn't have any on hand, and it was still very solid.
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ron W.
Idaho
Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

A Good Knife Trainer

Bought two of these for my girls, who are now old enough to ask for knives of their own. The idea is they can assemble these themselves and so learn a little bit about knife construction and maintenance, and then carry them for a while to demonstrate responsibility and safety, but without actually hurting themselves or anybody/anything else. Two-toned wood is much nicer (and the same price) as the plastic versions, which is good. The wood blanks are quite rough and will need some finishing work, which is not so good. The blades are blunt, which is ideal for what I want, and the actual opening and closing isn't great, but again, for what I want, they shouldn't be opened and closed very often.
Jameson Woodworks JJ's Original Wooden Pocket Knife Kit Gift Box/Tin
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bass_Singer
Oroville, WA
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Seems well made. Proof will be in Christmas morning assemblage.